? Rocky has high PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bee

Member Since 2017
I recently lowered Rocky's shots from 1 u to .75 because he was having low AMPS. He seems to do good in the AM and Afternoon but by night his PM always above 300 ? He gets his insulin at 8am and 8 pm . I feed him his AM meal during his AM shot then he get 1/4-1/2 can when i get home from work around 3 pm. I feed him 1 can between 5-6 pm. Give him a bite to eat at 8 pm so i can give him his PM shot.
 
Hi there:cool:

With Lantus, dosing decisions are based on how low s dose takes your kitty, which is the nadir, rather than PS numbers.

Also, because members here are from all over the world we mark time in " plus " hours rather than local time. It makes it easier for those willing to help to quickly and accurately size things up when someone needs help. So, that meal you give is between AM+9 and +AM+10. Does kitty finish by +10? For a clean (non food influenced) PS, best for kitty not to eat after +10.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bee
Hi there:cool:

With Lantus, dosing decisions are based on how low s dose takes your kitty, which is the nadir, rather than PS numbers.

Also, because members here are from all over the world we mark time in " plus " hours rather than local time. It makes it easier for those willing to help to quickly and accurately size things up when someone needs help. So, that meal you give is between AM+9 and +AM+10. Does kitty finish by +10? For a clean (non food influenced) PS, best for kitty not to eat after +10.

So he eats a meal (1 can) at his AMPS then eats 1/4-1/2 can at + 7 and 1 meal at +9.5-+10 . Then at his PMPS (+12) i give him 1/4 can and i test and shoot while he eats. If hes begging for food before i go to bed i give him 1/4 at PM +3. He was under weight at DX a month ago he was 7.5lbs Took him in last week he was up to 9.2lbs. He still hungry all the time not as much . Doc said 10.5 would be a good weight for him .
 
It's better if you can give an equal amount of food in the AM and PM cycle, and limit the amount of food/carbs in the last half of the cycle. After nadir, the insulin effect is waning, and any food in the last part of the cycle will reduce the duration, causing the numbers to shoot up. That meal you give at +9.5/+10 is not ideal and the carbs then are causing the higher PMPS. Any chance you can just give him a low or no carb snack, and feed a meal at PMPS, then a snack before bed? Neko had all of hear meals finished by +3 in the AM and PM cycles, with a small very low or zero carb snack at +9 in the AM cycle - cause that's when she was used to eating before diabetes.
 
It's better if you can give an equal amount of food in the AM and PM cycle, and limit the amount of food/carbs in the last half of the cycle. After nadir, the insulin effect is waning, and any food in the last part of the cycle will reduce the duration, causing the numbers to shoot up. That meal you give at +9.5/+10 is not ideal and the carbs then are causing the higher PMPS. Any chance you can just give him a low or no carb snack, and feed a meal at PMPS, then a snack before bed? Neko had all of hear meals finished by +3 in the AM and PM cycles, with a small very low or zero carb snack at +9 in the AM cycle - cause that's when she was used to eating before diabetes.

So feed him 1 meal AMPS and at his +9.5-10 a snack (dinner time). So just feed him a snack then when i do his PMPS give him 1 meal .? That correct ? What about He's begging for food when i get home around AM +7 ( i normally just give him 1/4 can) is that to much? He is on Friskies poultry Pate the flavor are 4-5% carb
 
I was suggesting feeding his mail meals at AMPS and at PMPS. You could do mini meals earlier in the cycle, so +3 at night is OK. Just save aside a portion of what would be his regular dinner time. You could still do an AM+7 snack. Any chance of getting rid of the +9.5 meal/snack?

As for food amounts, it depends how much food he needs per day. Use a scale to see if he's gaining/losing/staying the same compared to what his idea weight should be. Different foods are different amounts of calories and cats have different activity levels. It's really something you have to figure out what works best for your cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top