Rocket - Update from ultrasound

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

((((((Claudia and Rocket))))))) Just want to send some hugs for you this morning also. Rocket I'm sure is acting like he doesn't want his mom to worry about him. Give him a hug from me today.
 
Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

Haven't slept much...never do anyways
He is acting ok

Amps 403

To be expected with no shot yesterday
Fluids in place

Will call vet once they open

Will update later

Thx for the hugs

We need your prayers
 
Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

((((Claudia)))) You and Rocket are in my prayers. I hope you can get some good news today. Please take care of yourself, too.
 
Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

Vines and prayers for Claudia and Rocket today. Hoping for some positive news today with the ultrasound.
 
Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

Claudia: still sending hugs and prayers.

For the anemia: before you go down the aranasp or other path on that (due to antibodies), have you tried giving him methylB12 and a multiB vitamin? We've been doing that for our two CRF kitties and have maintained their HCT/HGB pretty nicely. In fact, Teddi's is as good as Tobey and Gracie's and her creat/BUN are the same as Gus's. Gus's HCT/HGB are on the med low side of normal but he's been stable. It could help him.....
 
Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

Claudia, you must be somewhat relieved to be able to get Rocket's us done today instead of waiting until Monday. Sending lots of prayers that the ultrasound will go well. Hugs!
 
Re: Rocket -ultrasound today

thank you everyone...

not gonna lie....i've been trying to keep busy and positive while at work...but i feel my heart in my throat....my head tells me not to panic but my heart is telling me otherwise....

giving a smile at work feels sooo fake....and each time i think of Rocket i wanna cry....i'm in sort of panic mode....

sorry if i can't visit condos....i think of you all my FDMB Family and keep you all in my prayers....

better stop here cause i'm about to cry....
 
Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

Claudia would like to know what she should do if Rocket is sedated at his ultrasound. If she is home in time for shot time does she shoot? Or 1/2 dose?
 
Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

Karrie and Maverick said:
He needs to be sedated to a point made groggy like to do u/s like last time
i can only suggest what i would do with alex. ECID! there's no one right or wrong answer because every cat reacts differently to sedation.

i don't think i would be worried about shooting a full dose tonight if alex were lightly sedated for a few minutes, but her preshot number could influence my decision if it was low.

on this forum, we've mostly seen BG numbers take a nose-dive when kitties have been put under for procedures like dentals. what claudia is describing doesn't sound anything comparable to the time and level of sedation required for a dental.

just my thoughts...
 
Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

Got home and he didn't eat all day...seems slow to walk too sort of stiffed...don't want to give food now cause of the u/s...it's hot here today but same yesterday and he ate well yesterday...

Have tentatively booked apt w reg vet on Sat if need be depending on today's findings

He gets two kinds of injections to make him groggy for them to do u/s

Yesterday the vet tech said he didn't give them the usual workout...so that in itself is upsetting to me...could he be giving up?

The other thing is that w his seizure history after he gets sedated it takes him some time to process the drug and so he may not get insulin tonight...or maybe a token dose...

So many variables to consider w Rocket being a multiple illness kitty :(
 
Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

Rocket & his Mom said:
The other thing is that w his seizure history after he gets sedated it takes him some time to process the drug and so he may not get insulin tonight...or maybe a token dose...
yes, you'll have to weigh your options when you get home. this is a good example of what i meant when i said every cat responds to sedation differently.
(((claudia)))
 
Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

Claudia, I got goosebumps when I read your last post. Praying for Rocket's speedy recovery!
 
Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

Darn - thought I had an answer for you. You are doing great hanging in there and being strong Claudia. (((((Claudia and Rocket))))) Wishing him good luck at the u/s today.
 
Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

Praying for good results at the vets.
 
Re: Rocket - Ultrasound

Praying for Rocket's Full recovery with all my heart-Healing vines & snowflakes to bring Rocket back to good health--WE ARE HERE FOR YOU ALWAYS!! Hugs from all of us!!
 
Re: Rocket - Ultrasound

(((((Claudia and Rocket)))))

Sending lots more prayers and healing vines for Rocket and You... cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Rocket - Ultrasound-we are back

hi all,
where shall i begin........

ok...u/s done....

findings:
mass in pancreas has gotten bigger BUT not to the rate the u/s vet would have thought if indeed was a MALIGNANT mass/tumor..........he still does not disregard the fact that it could be malignant but he said that cancer in the pancreas progresses very quickly and the mass was 12 mm in Feb and is now 19 mm....it has grown but in this length of time he would have expected Rocket not to be here....so that's good news....but it does NOT explain the latest on his skin and it does not mean he would not progress fast...to him Rocket is an ANOMALY....

he said "quite frankly Rocket at his age and with the multiple illnesses he has...he has proven ANIMAL MEDICINE wrong!....at least so far"

WE STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT HE HAS

does not get him out of the woods though....i found a tiny scab on the skin where it's red....i will keep the apt with the vet for Sat and see what she has to say tomorrow....as the full report on the findings will be sent to the vet tonight....

in a nutshell he said that the latest is NOT related to what he may/may not have in the pancreas and the liver was enlarged (as previously noted) but in good shape...and kidneys have not progressed much since Feb....so i will have to wait to hear from his reg vet tomorrow and will update...

gave shot 25 mins late....i'm overly tired and can't think how to go back to his normal time of 5:30 am/pm shot times.....he got this shot at 5:55 pm

he ate lots when we got home....

PMPS 250

will watch him carefully as the sedation he got has some sort of narcotic with valium in it....so he doesn't get his bupe dose until midnight probably if needed and his phenobarbital will be late from 5:30 pm to perhaps 8 pm and the pred from 7 pm to 9 pm....his whole med schedule is messed up....

can someone please guide me as to when to give the shot tomorrow am to get back to normal time? i'm sorry i can't seem to think straight...overloaded with info...and i'm tired...

so the saga continues until we get to the bottom of the latest on Rocket....but i'm somewhat relieved the abdominal ultrasound went ok all things considered...my boy is one strong KITTY....he is still drugged up...had to give him fluids when we got home as per vet ...1) so he can process the drugs faster out of his system 2) it's hot hot hot here today.....

and as always will keep a CLOSE EYE on him....

thank you soooo much for your prayers and well wishes....i cry each time i read them...i'm sorry if i've missed your condos...i think and pray for you guys....
 
Re: Rocket - Ultrasound

Claudia, we are thinking really hard that all will go well with the ultrasound and that your vet can determine what the problem is. Try to be positive for Rocket. He needs to feel your confidence.

many :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: s

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Rocket - Ultrasound

that sounds like a really positive report!

still holding you and Handsome R in our hearts and thoughts...
 
((((Claudia)))) no advice here, but lots of continued good thoughts for Rocket.
be strong and take good care of yourself too.
 
Still keeping you and Rocket in our thoughts and prayers, hope the vet on saturday has some more answers for you. Tons of long distant hugs, headbutts and whisker kisses coming for you both.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
I would be feeling possitive with that report. (((Many hugs Claudia))) I hope you get some good rest tonight.
You can shoot 15 minutes early tomorrow morning (depending upon the numbers of course), and then you will only be 10 minutes behind schedule.
 
Claudia --

If you shot at 5:55 PM, then you can shoot at 5:40 AM tomorrow morning. You evening shot will be at your usual 5:30 PM time and you will then be back on schedule. So:
  • AMPS at 5:40 AM
  • PMPS at 5:30 PM

All things considered, it's a very good report from the vet.
 
thank you all for the info/well wishes/prayers/hugs/healing vines/etc/etc/etc.....much appreciated....

Rocket is still drugged and has slept very little....he is stumbling around still and so i have had to guide him to go drink water (in the tub) and on the coffee table....sort of keeping an eye on him...the last thing we need if for him to hurt himself....

with all the other meds in his system plus all his illnesses it does take him longer to process sedative drugs....

i just managed to give his phenobarbital....shortly will give the pred....he is not interested in food...and to not make matters worse for him i have not tested him but will do before doing to bed....

thank you Karrie for opening up this condo....it is rather difficult to be on the net at work especially when i still don't know the 'politics' in the work place....so.....i appreciate it lots that you calm me down when i panic and i get all nervous being away from Rocket......big hugs to you....

thank you for the pms too...much appreciated...

i can't begin to thank you all for your kind words and thoughts and prayers....this family really gathers together....in good and bad....i'm very humbled....as always...when crisis with Rocket arise...it is good to know i can have a place to vent/cry/be happy/be sad...without judgement....you guys understand the love we have towards our kitties/droolers...had to include Comet in this too....and other people really don't get it and never will....and it is sad they are missing out on the unconditional love and rewards we get from our fur-kids....

ok....off to see/check on Rocket....i'm tired...and tomorrow is an even earlier morning as with the Royal couple in town there are roads closed that lead to my work....sucks...but thank God they leave tomorrow....it was a nightmare coming home from the hospital tonight....

hugs to all beans and kitties!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top