Rob's Nico is very sick, switching vet clinics

Status
Not open for further replies.

tuckers mom

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=53592

Rob's Nico is very sick. BGs are not coming down and we have learned that he has been inappetant since the steroid/convenia shot over a month ago. Down to just 10 pounds from the healthy Maine Coon weight of at least 17-20 pounds he once was.

The vet has had Nico for days and has increased the ProZinc dose from 1 Unit to 6 Units in just a week since the diagnosis. Vet gave another convenia shot last night.

I've talked to Rob and he is taking Nico a different vet, he's already on the way. DCIN is going to help pay this new vet bill, but between this bill and the old vet bill, can you help? We've started a chipin event on his blog page.
http://fdmb-cin.blogspot.com/2011/10/nico-in-ct-needs-help-hospitalized-and.html
 
Prayers coming for Nico and I'm so glad you are close by, Jennifer. Maybe someone could clue his former vet in on Convenia and also raising the dose like he has been? Sent some money and please keep us updated on Nico.
 
I just went to visit Nico, he's darn lucky he was in a cage because I would have easily put that one in my bag and ran for the hills. What an amazing cat. He is so handsome too. His color is different from what Tucker's was, but everything else reminds me so much of Tucker.

He's got IV fluids going and has started to eat, very happy to see that. They started him on Lantus insulin tonight and stopped the ProZinc.

It may take some time for his coat to not look so dry and dull, but wow, he's going to be a stunner. Knowing this cat is so close I may have to steal him :) I did leave a supply for hometesting that Rob can take home with him in case he can pick up Nico before I can get to see him. I'm sure all of you can teach him to hometest, as you always do so. I love this Board. The folks here never cease to amaze me, how quickly they are willing to help anyone, whether with advice, healing vibes or donations in times like these.
 
dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat Yay, he's starting to eat.....fantastic news. thanks for the update, Jennifer.
 
You are an angel Jennifer, I have been praying for /Nico and Rob
Thank you so much for helping them!
 
Jennifer you are such an angle, you can visit Nico anytime, he would definetly enjoy getting love from his Aunt Jennifer.

God bless you,
Rob
 
dmartini4 said:
You are an angel Jennifer, I have been praying for /Nico and Rob
Thank you so much for helping them!


Thank you for you prayers, they are working, Jennifer was the answer for all the prayers being said and Nico and I will be forever greatful.
 
Rob, I was just in the right place at the right time, if you hadn't taken the initiative and done all the research yourself you wouldn't be here. I'm just lucky to live close by. You're the one who did all the hard work and helped your little man. I'm hopeful you will be taking him home today.
 
tuckers mom said:
Rob, I was just in the right place at the right time, if you hadn't taken the initiative and done all the research yourself you wouldn't be here. I'm just lucky to live close by. You're the one who did all the hard work and helped your little man. I'm hopeful you will be taking him home today.
Jennifer,
I just spoke to Dr. L and she said he is eating, his BG was at 260 and the are going to test again at 11. She also gave him an apatite stimulant, some pain meds and a med for diareha. But all in all he seem to be doing much better. This is the first time sence all this began that his BG is below the 360 range. I am reposting this on the main board.

Again, thank you so much
Nico and Rob
 
Crying huge HAPPY HAPPY tears here! I can't wait for you to get Nico back home and in your arms. Good work PapaBean!

Hugs to all of you,
 
That's wonderful news. Dr. L is an amazing vet and a wonderful person. I hope you can take him home today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top