Robbie's Dental

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Member Since 2010
Hi all
Well... I don't even know where to begin but since I don't have a lot of time... Since June our Vet and I have been concerned about Robbie's mouth. It was clearly time for a dental but since his asthma is so bad in the summer we decided to wait - he was looked at carefully and nothing looked TOO bad - our Vet did caution that it's hard to see EVERYTHING when doing a mouth exam in the office (and not doing the full dental thing under anesthesia) but I was OK with that- around the end of August his breath started getting pretty bad... told the Vet when we had the other cat in for a problem and he said "lets get him in for a dental" . Well our other cat ended up getting a flea (the dog) and going nuts on herself and chewed her stomach hair and skin up so she had 2 visits to the vet and some meds and so I kind of put Robbie's teeth off ($$$) for a bit he was doing OK with his blood glucose numbers - not great but some good days and plus my life has been on full throttle with stuff as some of you know. So in August he started drooling a bit now and then - I put it off to the fact that the cisapride seemed to bother his tummy sometimes and got his juices going maybe... seemed logical. Than about 2 weeks ago he started drooling more and more by Sunday it was disgusting - drool ALL over the place and all of a sudden he seemed sick. Made an appt for Tuesday and took him in - Vet says he has a small beginning of an infection on one tooth and his breath is horrible so he wants to get in there asap. We scheduled the procedure for today and I just got off the phone with the Vet - it was worse than any of us expected. The tooth he could see was just slightly beginning to have a tarter issue and some infection but the TWO teeth behind it were rotted just about totally with the back one basically hanging by a thread. GOD I feel like a horrible person and our Vet was pretty mad at himself too - said he shouldn't have worried so much about the asthma, he knows better when teeth are potentially an issue but his other teeth are all GREAT (and now he's confirmed that said the other teeth are in very good shape). He took a small sample of the tissue from under one of the bad teeth to have it checked JUST in case because he feels this got so bad so fast he wants to make sure there isn't a growth under them (please pray there isnt). I'm sort of in shock... the bill didn't help - almost $800 but the vet said to pay it off over 4 months or whatever we need so that's the plan - Robbie was a champ rested comfortably and than just woke up and started screaming so they called me and David went and picked him up. He's home now and seems fine. The Vet said to watch his numbers carefully cause this might really improve his diabetes situation. Anyway, I've gotta run we have a Nor'easter bearing down on us and I want to get out of work early. Thanks for any input on what to expect after this etc. Thank you all as always you are just a wonderful group of people.
 
Damn, never a dull moment! First off, hunker down for the stupid storm. Y'all are having a bad couple of weeks.

OK. Tooth issue. Glad you got this taken care of. You now have something you can look back on and make more sense of Robbie's numbers. And yes, if this is the reason you've been seeing high numbers and minimal response to the increasing doses of insulin, then removing the problem should have a quick positive effect on the numbers. It'd be awesome if he starts giving you lower numbers and you can cut his dose a lot.

The screaming....had he just come out of the stupor from the anesthesia? Could have just been total disorientation. Woke up, wondered where the hell am I, and started howling for momma. :-D

Will he be able to eat normally short term? Are you going to have to feed him a more liquid diet at first? I think I'd drop the dose back right away just in case this makes the bad numbers go away all of a sudden. Especially if he can't or won't eat well right away.

Carl
 
Thanks Carl they said to feed him small meals mixed with water but let him eat if he's hungry just not a lot all at once - so we did that. This morning after not eating since midnight he was 332 at 7am (amps) and considering he had a day of no food ahead of him but also lots of stress I shot 4 (he's been getting 5.5) and than he was 321 at amps +2 after the surgery they checked him at the vet and he was 245. Tonight at pmps he was 239 and we shot 4 again (he's eating every hour just about) I'm all set to check him (as a matter of fact should do it now) and see how it goes but since he was still under some stress I didn't want to go too low but we'll see he's been tolerating 5 at pretty low numbers anything over 5.5 and he goes nice and low but was bouncing (or so it seems to me) - in the last few days he's had several 450's and higher which really had me concerned. So we'll see.

Yes,he cried as soon as he woke up. If the staff held him he was fine and sweet but did NOT want back in the cage (don't blame him) he has one of the loudest YEOWLS I've ever heard so I under stood their not wanting him around if we could maybe pick him up so we did. He seems very comfortable considering and is sleeping in front of the fire. This storm seems like a balmy spring day compared to Sandy so we're just hunkered down right now.
 
Stay safe and hunkered down during this next storm.

I just wanted to add that anestesia can lower their numbers post dantal. Just something to keep in mind.
 
thanks pmps+4 he's 161 same as he was at +3 (and he's eaten some) seems OK lower than normally it's been but still OK.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top