Robbie results of Fructosimine Test

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Active Member
Finally hooked up with the Vet (we've been playing telephone tag) and Robbie's fructosimine (sp?) test results came back 525 - Vet says this is middle of the line regulation - not bad - not great but OK - He's comfortable with Robbie being at this spot till I can wrap my head around switching insulin or trying to maybe creep up to 5.5 and see how it goes - I'm not real happy with that number - but just looked at some old posts about Robbie and last time around in 2010 he was at 953 at one point! Geez - but when he went OTJ his Fruc. test was 300something (just read it and can't remember but mid 300s) so maybe that's not so bad. He's being pretty good and seems to feel OK - still lots of water intake and wants to eat constantly but his coat is better and he seems to feel OK - so we'll see what happens - summers almost over and hopefully I'll get my life back in a couple of weeks.
 
thanks Sue - no thoughts on the test? I know it's not the gold standard of how to judge things - and I'm also depressed that he's not that much lower than at original diagnosis. The Vet couldn't really talk as I got him right before he went in for surgery - but he was kind of non-committal about it in the short conversation we did have. Basically said "He's doing OK we'll talk more when your life is less crazed" yep that's what everyone is saying LOL
 
Well, we know his numbers are higher than ideal so the fructosamine doesn't surprise. I am just so glad the constipation issues have eased up and he seems to be feeling better overall. That is a big step from a couple months ago.

Maybe when things settle down and you can monitor carefully, go for a raise in dose? We are getting close to those levels when we consider high dose conditions. But we have talked to you about those, right?
 
Yes, we've considered the possible high dose conditions. I'm almost tempted to do some form of a re-boot but am scared what his numbers might go to. The other day at amps +9 he was at something crazy like 170 all I could think was "damn what was he at +7?" But today at amps +9 he was 371. Same doses, same food. WTF?
Yes,he is feeling better with the constipation issue gone. The cisapride makes him drool a lot which he seems to not like (and I agree) and I am guessing it gives him some mild cramps but otherwise no really bad side effects and it's working like a charm.
So as soon as things get a tad normal for me I'll be trying something. Going to see if this weekend I can get a curve done maybe on Monday since I'm off.
Thanks so much Sue nice to have input.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top