Robbie 44 at +3...+3.5 33... PM PS 317

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP

It's been about 10 minutes or so, have you tested again? We just want to make sure he is still not dropping because yes +3 is early in the cycle.
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP

Carollyn--you have been here a long long time...You did the right thing giving him hc--Why would you be worried about killing him??
I use mc because it does the job, without a huge drop...sometimes Moonie wont eat & I have to give her temptations which also brings her up..
I see you have Robbie on a new dose...Looks like it's working--Hope you left out lots of lc food, & I'm sure he will be OK!!
I feel your anxiety & understand it so much--Please update later, if even just for me-- OK?
Hope the day will be good..
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

DO you have some gravy to go with the HC? Karo will bring it up but it won't stay up. And remember don't feed alot. A few teaspoons incase you have to keep this up.
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

You're doing all of the right things. Feed HC or even HC with a little syrup if you are worried. Re-test in 15 - 20 min. Post your numbers.

Lather, rinse, repeat. We're here watching you're numbers.

And remember to breathe.
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

About how much Karo have you given Robbie? If he has eaten HC along with it you might be safe. Please test again in another 15-20 to be sure he is still rising.

Does Robbie eat on his own when he goes low? I know you have to go to work.....
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

It may be a quick bump from the Karo. Give Robbie a teaspoon or two more of MC or HC. The protein plus carb will do better to keep the numbers up and surfing over a longer period.

Has your heart rate slowed down yet?
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

He's had 3/4 can HC and about 2tsp karo... he's never been this low so don't know if he'd self feed... however, he IS a heck of an eater on a regular basis. Eyes still big and YELLING.

My oldest daughter should be home by 1 (less than 2 hours) so I'm going to try to stay here until noon before leaving (if he stays up), then have her test him as soon as she gets here (so, an hour or less on his own). Luckily, I didn't have to be to work at 7:30 like usual and she has a half day at school.

Thanks for the calm support everyone.... my heart is not slowing yet! Maybe this will help my BP so I don't see stars or faint today... :roll:
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

You'll be fine......Maybe now is nt the right time, but would would it make you smile if I said....Congratulations on the dosecrease! ohmygod_smile

Looks like you might have a few hours of feed and test to go, but you know how it works. You are a good mamma!
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

Yes I would agree on that dosecrease :lol:

Carolynn that sounds like a great plan. Test him again and post please after 15 minutes.
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

Correct me if I'm wrong here, I know Fletcher is acro is Robbie as well?

Feeding HC is the way to go with lows in an acrocat, because they do have a working pancreas. Thier diabetes is caused by an excess of growth hormones which compete for insulin receptors. The levels of hormone do fluctuate and can suddenly drop so that the insulin receptors are free and all availble insulin (his own + Levemir) are able to be used. In other words you have not only that 3U of injected insulin at work but whatever he has prduced on his own that you need to occupy with glucose. I know from previous acro moms that they almost always use HC in these situations. Carolynn is probably aware of this but for others who might be wondering :-D
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

whoa carolynn! that would wake me up that's for sure! and to think i was really doubting myself with the 50's all night long

i know you've been at this a long time and know what to do but i know despite that it is still unnerving when these things happen, just know we're all here with you so remember to breathe and you'll get thru this just fine :)
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

+4.25... 81

What type of dosecrease are we looking at? 0.25u or 0.5u? I know he may be high tonight/tomorrow because of all the excitement.

Monique, I don't know if Robbie is an acrocat. In some ways his responses (and crazy a$$ed weight gain) definitely remind me of Fletch, but I haven't tested him. It's always in the back of my mind, though... and would in some ways be easier to deal with! I have a DI (diabetes insipidus) kitty and an acrocat, so why not have another "special" one!

Feeding him regular food and will retest at +4.75 to see if it's safe to go to work...
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

I'm no Lantus expert, but he looked more comfortable on the 2.5U, when you switched to 2.75 he had the big decrease from 446 to 89 on April 5th. The 2.5 dose didn't seem to give as much movement, maybe he needs some time at that dose for his body to get used to it, as long as ketones are present.
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

Ah I think I read that on High dose that you hadn't had him tested....Acro or not he is still a "special" kitty :-D

I think we had a DI dog when I was a kid (treated with DDAVP) which BTW also was used on my brother to prevent bedwetting (I hope he doesn't read this or I'm dead :oops: )
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

great catch and great job managing Robbie's curve today.

I would reduce to 2.75, lots of times increasing the dose for a few days is enough to kick things back into gear, and make the dose that previously didn't work perform a lot better. However, I would do extra spot checks the next few days, because the 2.75 could still be too much. You didn't have a lot of spot checks on that dose before you increased, and there was at least one green on that dose, so it's likely that he'll get green on it again this time.

If he bounces to the moon by PMPS, you might want to shoot the 3 units one more time to help with the bounce.
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

Wow Carolyn, nice catch!! Agree with what Jennifer said about the dose (haven't looked at SS, at tbp and takes forever to pull up). But congrats on the dosecrease :lol:
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

Well, the readings of 463 on 4/4 and the AM PS and +6 on 4/5 were with a True Track--- Fletch's readings were completely off those readings, too, so I'm pretty much disregarding them as crap. I liked the 2.5u responses too-- until the pinks started to show up. You may be right, though, Jenn and he needs to stay at 2.5u for a bit.


+4.75... 88. Hopefully he'll just have a nice mellow afternoon coasting. Meg will test him at +6 and email me with his number.

Yes, Monique, DDAVP is used for bedwetting! Interstingly, in dogs it works pretty well as eye/nose drops... in a kitty injecting it subQ is much better.

Going to head to work now... will post an updated number when Meg lets me know (can't access SS from work but will post here).

(((thank you all)))
 
Re: Robbie 44 at +3---- HELP.... +3.5 33

Carollyn-No matter how long we are on here, those low numbers always throw us a curve ball & we freak!! Guess Robbie freaked too :-D
Bless his dear little heart! You did a great job, just like the old days, just without Jojo.. :cry:
Saw you alone on board so I just jumped in, knew others would follow--If that happens again use the 911 in your heading so everyone can be alerted..It's a whole new board & new LL..
Glad you solved it so well, and got a dose crease!!
Have a good rest of the day--Oh & be prepared for the bounce from Robbie later--
 
Definitely rebounding. Went conservative (aka chicken) and shot 2.5U. Will get a before bed spotcheck-- most likely only a +2 since my head is not happy right now...

Thanks again for the support today. My brain knew what to do... the rest of me freaked.
 
I am better now, but when I see a 40 or 30 number, It shakes me too..I just know I am in control- but I pop right onto the board & talk it out, just like you did-We are here for you!
Great Job!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top