RISKY -- NEED SOME HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.
kse said:
Carl, my understanding of why the bg continues to drop is the body (liver) dumped big time to the dose this morning for protection and now there is no insulin
Kim, if this is what happened, it had to have taken place really early in the cycle, like as soon as he started any drop from the shot. Does that suggest a dose decrease?
carl
 
Yep, Sue is a Saint. Thank you Sue for helping me set up his SS!!! I'll work on getting all of his numbers posted tomorrow. Just checked BG and it is 419 so BG has remained steady for the last 4 hours. Time for his insulin..... what amount?????
 
I have to say lower the dose, but TEST, TEST, TEST the bg and for ketones. Try to get some midcylce test tonight...we need to see what is happening mid cycle..like +5 and +7. If the ketones show up, you have the R and we can give that to combat them and I have sub q fluids that we can give.

My gut just says, that Risky is getting too much insulin. If 8 units isn't enough, what is?

If your gut says 2 units....try it!
 
Since being diagnosed, his lowest numbers are when he is not taking any insulin so unless something else is going on.... he probably needs to be at .5 to 1.0 BUT at this point I'm scared to death of ketones after last week.... so that's why I'm saying compromise with 2.0 units. Kim, I love the animated confusion kitty. Except Risky doesn't seem to be confused... I'M THE ONE THAT'S CONFUSED!
 
Shoot the 2 units, we can see if the curve continues to be inverse...if so, we can decrease again. But, at least the additional insulin will help until we know for sure that the infection is clear.

Good Luck....I am here if you need me!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top