MarthaPaige
Member
Just checked Risky and his BG is too high for the meter to read. At 8:30 this morning before he ate or had his Insulin he was 520. Gave him 3 units at 8:30, he ate a little at that time but nothing since. I checked ketones at 8:30 and they were negative.
Just checked him at 12:30 (been 4 hours since Insulin) and he was too high for meter to read.
Past info..... diagnosed 4-5 months ago. Everytime he went to the vet his BG was getting worse so vet kept increasing insulin until he was at 8 units x2 daily and they wanted me to go up to 8.5 units. Last week is when Kim showed me how to test BG.... he was off insulin completely for 1 1/2 days at which time his BG was 298. With my testing every 2-3 hours, I started back giving him 1.5 units, x2 daily. His numbers were ranging in the high 300s to mid 400s. The only time his BG went near 500 was about 1-2 hours after his insulin/eating. Usually around 6 hours after insulin he tested around 400. Then he developed ketones and was in the hospital for 3 days. While at the hospital his BG was in the high 200s and low 300s. I know the first day or so they only gave him R insulin. When Risky was released this past Wednesday they told me to increase his insulin to 2 units. With 2 units his BG was in the mid to upper 400s. I then increased to 2.5 units and his numbers were better (still high) in and around 350-390. So since Friday I have been giving 3 units and his numbers keep increasing ... Friday ranged from 486 to the lowest of 395.... Saturday started out at 513.... the lowest it was all day was when I checked him last night before giving him Insulin and it was 427. This morning he was 520 and 4 hours later he just tested at TOO HIGH for meter to read. HELP!!!! Martha Paige
Just checked him at 12:30 (been 4 hours since Insulin) and he was too high for meter to read.
Past info..... diagnosed 4-5 months ago. Everytime he went to the vet his BG was getting worse so vet kept increasing insulin until he was at 8 units x2 daily and they wanted me to go up to 8.5 units. Last week is when Kim showed me how to test BG.... he was off insulin completely for 1 1/2 days at which time his BG was 298. With my testing every 2-3 hours, I started back giving him 1.5 units, x2 daily. His numbers were ranging in the high 300s to mid 400s. The only time his BG went near 500 was about 1-2 hours after his insulin/eating. Usually around 6 hours after insulin he tested around 400. Then he developed ketones and was in the hospital for 3 days. While at the hospital his BG was in the high 200s and low 300s. I know the first day or so they only gave him R insulin. When Risky was released this past Wednesday they told me to increase his insulin to 2 units. With 2 units his BG was in the mid to upper 400s. I then increased to 2.5 units and his numbers were better (still high) in and around 350-390. So since Friday I have been giving 3 units and his numbers keep increasing ... Friday ranged from 486 to the lowest of 395.... Saturday started out at 513.... the lowest it was all day was when I checked him last night before giving him Insulin and it was 427. This morning he was 520 and 4 hours later he just tested at TOO HIGH for meter to read. HELP!!!! Martha Paige