kse
Member Since 2011
Martha is traveling, so I am not expecting her to post---and I wanted to share this with you.
I hope I am not premature in my excitement!
Risky transitioned to Wellness (wet) on Monday. Martha has tested, tested, tested since Risky came home from the ER. We have changed his dose between 1.5 and 3 and incorporated R to try and find a combination that would get Risky moving in the right direction. For 5 days, most of his test have registered Hi (above 600) or in the 500s. The lowest test captured was a 450. During this trial, Martha also got a blood ketone meter and has kept Risky's ketones monitored (happy to report they have remained negative!!!) ON Wednesday, Martha went to the vet and picked up Risky's lab results (curves and fruct. test) since being dx with FD. My thinking was, he started on 1.5 units and went to 8--and had curves and or fruct. test at the vet on all doses---surely there had to be a dose that had given some movement. Remember, Risky was eating 41 percent carb dry food at the time of these curves.
After reviewing the curves, it was quickly apparant that the vet had increased in too high of increments--each time increasing a unit at the time. In June Risky had gotten a pretty standard Prozinc curve on 4.5 units---450 preshot and a 186 nadir at +6. But, the vet did not like those numbers and increased Risky to 5.5 units and his curve became flat---all pink with a few reds thrown in. So, the vet's answer to that was to increase to 6.5 units---from there the curves remained above 500 and his fruct. test went to 650. Oh well, might as well increase again.....and so on..until Risky was at 8.5 units and in all black numbers.
So, it appeared evident that Risky's dose had been missed and was somewhere in the 4.5 range!
We made the decision to start Risky back at 3 units, thinking the food change had to be in our favor. But, before we could even get our plan into action....something good started happening....Risky tested 356 at +10 yesterday. The lowest test he has had in months. Ummmm....the carbs must be clearing from the food change!!!! So, we shot 3 units at +10 into the 356--and we stopped the R inclusion (yes I was scared it might be too much!!!!). At +2, Risky had gone up to 412 (to be expected with Prozinc) and then at +4 he was at 333!!! This was the first cycle that he has anything that resembled a Prozinc curve or a curve of any type. I knew we were on to something good..and then at +6 he was at 249 (yes we exchanged texts at 2am). And, this morning........Risky amps was 212!!!
The Chicken I am, I encouraged Martha to wait an hour and retest Risky as we really didn't have enough data to shoot a 212 (never seen one and the food change). I know that is not protocal...but, her shot schedule was off and there was No data to determine a safe dose. So at +14, Martha reduced a little to the 2.5 range and shot Risky. Thie decrease might have been too much, but with the food change---I would rather be safe than sorry.
So Martha is testing and aware that Risky could drop quickly with the elimination of the high carb dry! Hopefully this is the start to better days for Risky. Martha says she can tell he feels better this morning.
So.....I hope I am not jinxing Risky....I just wanted to share the encouraging new with you!
This is what it is all about!
I hope I am not premature in my excitement!
Risky transitioned to Wellness (wet) on Monday. Martha has tested, tested, tested since Risky came home from the ER. We have changed his dose between 1.5 and 3 and incorporated R to try and find a combination that would get Risky moving in the right direction. For 5 days, most of his test have registered Hi (above 600) or in the 500s. The lowest test captured was a 450. During this trial, Martha also got a blood ketone meter and has kept Risky's ketones monitored (happy to report they have remained negative!!!) ON Wednesday, Martha went to the vet and picked up Risky's lab results (curves and fruct. test) since being dx with FD. My thinking was, he started on 1.5 units and went to 8--and had curves and or fruct. test at the vet on all doses---surely there had to be a dose that had given some movement. Remember, Risky was eating 41 percent carb dry food at the time of these curves.
After reviewing the curves, it was quickly apparant that the vet had increased in too high of increments--each time increasing a unit at the time. In June Risky had gotten a pretty standard Prozinc curve on 4.5 units---450 preshot and a 186 nadir at +6. But, the vet did not like those numbers and increased Risky to 5.5 units and his curve became flat---all pink with a few reds thrown in. So, the vet's answer to that was to increase to 6.5 units---from there the curves remained above 500 and his fruct. test went to 650. Oh well, might as well increase again.....and so on..until Risky was at 8.5 units and in all black numbers.
So, it appeared evident that Risky's dose had been missed and was somewhere in the 4.5 range!
We made the decision to start Risky back at 3 units, thinking the food change had to be in our favor. But, before we could even get our plan into action....something good started happening....Risky tested 356 at +10 yesterday. The lowest test he has had in months. Ummmm....the carbs must be clearing from the food change!!!! So, we shot 3 units at +10 into the 356--and we stopped the R inclusion (yes I was scared it might be too much!!!!). At +2, Risky had gone up to 412 (to be expected with Prozinc) and then at +4 he was at 333!!! This was the first cycle that he has anything that resembled a Prozinc curve or a curve of any type. I knew we were on to something good..and then at +6 he was at 249 (yes we exchanged texts at 2am). And, this morning........Risky amps was 212!!!
The Chicken I am, I encouraged Martha to wait an hour and retest Risky as we really didn't have enough data to shoot a 212 (never seen one and the food change). I know that is not protocal...but, her shot schedule was off and there was No data to determine a safe dose. So at +14, Martha reduced a little to the 2.5 range and shot Risky. Thie decrease might have been too much, but with the food change---I would rather be safe than sorry.
So Martha is testing and aware that Risky could drop quickly with the elimination of the high carb dry! Hopefully this is the start to better days for Risky. Martha says she can tell he feels better this morning.
So.....I hope I am not jinxing Risky....I just wanted to share the encouraging new with you!
This is what it is all about!