Risk of hypoglicemia? Low numbers even with half of insulin dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda Guimarães

Member Since 2020
Hey,

so, even after halving the Prozink dose, from 1.0 to 0.5 (which started three days ago), I am still getting low numbers with my cat.

Yesterday I got a hypoglemic number again 3.8. I served him more wet low carb food, but he did not want to eat it. He looked with disdain and back at me.
But he got ravenous when I offered a bit of his dry food - as a desperation attempt past my sleeping time to get him to eat. I mixed this very small amount with his wet food and he ate it all. Than his sugar increased and kept it up.

This morning he looked at the wet food and looked at me and screamed. Stayed there mewoing at me and looking at the food for half an hour...until I put one grain - I repeat, ONE GRAIN - of the dry food. Than he ate it will.

Am I dealing with a spoiled little kitty, or is he self-remedying hypoglicemia?

The veterinary said it´s important that I keep the dose for one week, because I will do a glucose curve in the end. They said that, otherwise, we will never really see the correct curve.

Besides, the test strips are almost ended and I they sold out at my veterinary clinic (!)
I found this website that has it and I asked if they can deliver express. I am waiting for their customer service to return to me.

Otherwise I might travel to another city and get the Contour XT. It´s the only one that I can get my hands on before the weekend and I read good reviews of it (even if there´s a degree of error of about two numbers for feline blood? according to people talking about it in the Swedish group)
 
Last edited:
Hej @SashaV, du är en hjälte!

I managed to order the teststrips for my Pet-meter and they say that it will come tomorrow. Honestly I don´t think I trust the post.

I see there is one human meter Contour XT in...some pharmacies. I can order it today so it will get here tomorrow in my village. Or I can wait to see if my pet-glucometer strips arrive tomorrow and if not, take a weekend-trip to by a glucose meter...
 
@Pookie :) You maybe know something about this
I was just mentally composing my response. :)

Remember that I am new to this and cannot give proper advice, but here goes:

In the space of 1 month & 2 days Lola went from receiving 1u, to 1.5u, to .75u, to no insulin. In my opinion, the 1u was just perfect for Lola while she was eating her old high carb food (really high carb "diet" food that was supposed to help her lose weight). Once I transitioned her to the low carb food her numbers started dropping into the blues and then she dropped below 90, which earned her a reduction to .75u. (It was at that point I decided I needed a meter for which I could afford an adequate number of strips and which were readily available. And which correlated directly with the numbers provided on the Hypo sticky. I wrote in more detail about that in a different post.)

Anyhow, it was only 1 day after her drop to .75u that she dropped at a rate so rapid that she would have been hypo had we not intervened with food (thanks @Shelley & Jess) and with the help of @Deb & Wink we decided to start Lola on the OTJ trial (no insulin at all).

So it appears that by simply changing her food Lola's body is now able to produce adequate amounts of insulin to meet her needs.

I made the downwards adjustments in Lola's dose without consulting my vet (she was on 6 weeks medical leave at the time, and it just seemed like common sense to me after everything I had read on this board and as I reviewed her SS that she was getting too much insulin). Unless your vet is reviewing Sev's SS on a daily basis, the s/he is making decisions based on 1) old test results, and 2) experience with other cats whose bodies may be very different from Sev's. I chose to trust the experienced folks here. (It scares me to think what would have become of Lola if I had held even her reduced dose for a week.)

As they always say here, it is better to be safe. The dangers of a hypo event can be so deadly that I would hope I always choose the safe course.

I hope I've helped. I know @Deb & Wink generally doesn't log on until later in the day, but I'm pretty sure @JanetNJ logs in earlier and has experience with Prozinc and can provide some advice that is better than my thoughts/opinions.
 
Do you have more tests from the last two days, you just haven't put in your ss?
If not you really need to test more. Like a lot more!
He is trying his best to get off the juice and this might cause a dangerous situation, if not testing.
:-( :-( I did some more tests because I was going to buy more tests at the clinic today (payday + we had a considerable number before all of these >4.0mmol/l episodes...but they are gone :´( :´(
 
If you don't have any strips, you'll need to get some. Human, animal it doesn't matter, but you can't shoot in the blind.
If you own pharmacy doesn't have any, you'll need to get them somewhere else.
Do you have a local Facebook group? Ask if someone has a spare meter and strips.
Its really really important. With ANY insulin, even a tiny dose can cause a hypo.
 
I just got this e-mail from my vet (translated with google translate so that you can see and advise):


Firstly, the glucose curve does not have time to change in such a short time. It must take at least 7-10 days before glucose stabilizes at a new level when changing insulin. As long as the cat is well, you should therefore not repeat the sampling before then. If the cat is well, alert and alert, and does not show any clear symptoms of hypoglycaemia, you do not need to test him. The risk is that the cat will be stressed by all the sampling and that they will be difficult for you in the future.

When it comes to glucose values, it is the case that gluco calea and many other glucometers show about 1-2 units lower value than what is in reality on a more advanced machine. This means that when Severino has a value of 3.8, it is probably 4.8-5.8 on our machine, ie a pretty good value.

A cat that gets low blood sugar will want to eat. It is the body's response to hypoglycemia. If Severino feels well, does not want to eat and has a slightly low value, there is probably no danger. It is only if he shows symptoms of hypoglycemia (fatigue, shakiness, etc.) that we need to force food into him.

So take it easy. :-) Do not take any more samples in a few days. Make a new, complete curve 7-10 days after the dose change, not earlier.
 
Again, I am not qualified to giving dosing advice, but ....

Sev's drop to 90 and the to 68 would have earned him a .25 reduction using the guidelines established here. If you don't have enough strips then I would definitely err on the side of caution. I twice chose to skip a shot when Lola's numbers were higher than Sev's. I don't know if that was a smart thing to do, or the right thing to do, but it is what is what made me comfortable.

Here's an excerpt from the Prozinc dosing sticky:

How to handle a lower than normal preshot number when following SLGS:

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
 
Again, I am not qualified to giving dosing advice, but ....

Sev's drop to 90 and the to 68 would have earned him a .25 reduction using the guidelines established here. If you don't have enough strips then I would definitely err on the side of caution. I twice chose to skip a shot when Lola's numbers were higher than Sev's. I don't know if that was a smart thing to do, or the right thing to do, but it is what is what made me comfortable.

Here's an excerpt from the Prozinc dosing sticky:

How to handle a lower than normal preshot number when following SLGS:

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
 
I feel so confused :-( :banghead::blackeye::( and I tried to order the glucose for humans and...they no longer have the possibility to deliver in here. I guess I will have to take a short trip....
No need to be confused. Disregard your vets advice entirely.
You need to be able to test him. Anything else is dangerous and potentially fatal.

No human diabetic would EVER inject themselves with any insulin at all, without knowing their blood glucose is high enough. And your cat is already borderline!
 
You need a new vet.

And I feel like spanking your current one. And that's all I have to say about that. Incompetent ******:banghead::banghead:

He is actually the only vet I found in my region that had some clue of Severino´s health. They have also provided the support and have somewhat decent clues.

(I have spoken with more than 10 veterinaries that refused to take care of my cat)

(One of the veterinaries said that he could take care of my cat if we took diabetic pill....like, sorry but what the hell).

There´s another one - a danish one - that is supposed to be excelent, but she is further away, which would make our trips to the vet even more stressing.

I don´t own a car because of political reasons and because we are saving to buy a house - but right now it´s a bit of a nightmare to not have a car. We have someone that has driven me and Severino to the clinic; but this person won´t drive to the other clinic in Malmö. So that means that I would have to ride the bus with Severino there and take a taxi, so that´s why I am still at this clinic...
 
Hi Amanda,

Your vet is wrong. [...] No need to put your cat in danger by holding a dose when its totally unnecessary.
Sasha is correct. Severino's numbers are your ultimate guide to safety. If he needs less insulin, he needs less insulin. As soon as readings show that the dose is too high then it should be reduced immediately. no matter what a vet says to the contrary.


Mogs
.
 
He says it like this: "A cat that gets low blood sugar will want to eat. It is the body's response to hypoglycemia. If Severino feels well, does not want to eat and has a slightly low value, there is probably no danger. It is only if he shows symptoms of hypoglycemia (fatigue, shakiness, etc.) that we need to force food into him."

I have A LOT of experience with rescued cats. I haven´t mentioned here yet but my mom, who lives in another country, is an active member of a cat organisation. She ends up having many of unadoptable cats in her house. I have taken care of more than 20 cats with her when I lived there. I have experienced many many times situations where cats refused to eat and really needed to start eating again; and mostly with some effort they would eat and get better.

I don´t agree that the body is always correct.
Also, why is my cat asking for the dry food, that he refused before??? Isn´t that his body´s possible response to hypoglicemia?

Am I not being rational in here? I am questioning my own thoughts in here, I might be wrong
 
Last edited:
If I were you I'd keep your **** vet, use him for prescriptions, and nothing else. Run your own show, use this forum as guidance and advice.

I run my own show, my vet has access to my spreadsheet, I tell her what I'm doing, she's on board as long as it works. And really, it only started to work when I disregarded her advice and only listened to @Deb & Wink and the other folks around here.
And sometimes, I listen mostly to my gut feeling. Usually we give the same dosage AM and PM, that didn't work so I did my own thing and its working. Your vet is telling you the opposite than us, some people around here has treated diabetic cats since 1996. Their advice is based on hands on experience rather than a textbook. Most vets only see a few diabetics in their entire career. I know who's advice I'd listen to :oops:
 
The risk is that the cat will be stressed by all the sampling and that they will be difficult for you in the future.
Horse feathers.

First up, vets are used to testing cats when running curves in a clinical setting. The cat is likely to be stressed and anxious to start with, but in addition some vets are incredibly cack-handed when it comes to testing technique and that can make it a very unpleasant and stress-exacerbating experience for the cat (obvs). Testing in the home setting where the cat feels safe and where the caregiver has a good testing technique is a totally different proposition. Indeed, it can be a strong bonding ritual for both cat and caregiver with lots of positive aspects for the kitty: lots of affection, praise and treats! :)

This is a picture of Saoirse waiting for her sugar check. Does she look stressed to you?


IMG_20160131_153112.jpg




Mogs
.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20160131_153112.jpg
    IMG_20160131_153112.jpg
    74.9 KB · Views: 665
Poor Amanda. I feel your stress. I think most of us have had problems finding a vet with adequate experience with feline diabetes, and that includes many of us in large metropolitan cities with ready access to transportation. I wonder, is there a chance that the other local vets also sell the strips?

As for the food, when we first started down this journey my vet told me to leave food out for Lola at night because it was her experience that cats were pretty good at self-regulating and that she might want/need to eat in the night if she got too low.

If we're conducting a poll, I agree with the others that your vet's advice is dangerous to Sev right now. I think your vet's advice to hold the dose for a week is based on general recommendations (and not based on Sev). In fact, I believe many of the guidelines here for the various insulins recommend holding a dose for a week before considering adjustments, but that is based on regular testing and subject to adjustments when necessary. And I think you have sufficient evidence that holding the dose for a week would be unsafe. (Again, I'm not a qualified advice giver, but I do know how rapidly things changed for Lola.)

This is from the Prozinc dosing sticky:

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
 
A cat that gets low blood sugar will want to eat. It is the body's response to hypoglycemia. If Severino feels well, does not want to eat and has a slightly low value, there is probably no danger. It is only if he shows symptoms of hypoglycemia (fatigue, shakiness, etc.) that we need to force food into him.
This is really dangerous advice.

The claim that cats will automatically seek food when they're hypoglycaemic is false.

A cat may become very lethargic or confused when it is hypoglycaemic (ask a human diabetic). There is NO guarantee a cat in low numbers will automatically seek food to raise its BG levels.

This "probably no danger" approach is extremely poor. Would your vet give such advice to a parent of a diabetic child if they were a human doctor?


Mogs
.
 
Horse feathers.

First up, vets are used to testing cats when running curves in a clinical setting. The cat is likely to be stressed and anxious to start with, but in addition some vets are incredibly cack-handed when it comes to testing technique and that can make it a very unpleasant and stress-exacerbating experience for the cat (obvs). Testing in the home setting where the cat feels safe and where the caregiver has a good testing technique is a totally different proposition. Indeed, it can be a strong bonding ritual for both cat and caregiver with lots of positive aspects for the kitty: lots of affection, praise and treats! :)

This is a picture of Saoirse waiting for her sugar check. Does she look stressed to you?


View attachment 58213



Mogs
.
Saoirse looks gorgeous and calm <3
 
Hi Amanda,


Sasha is correct. Severino's numbers are your ultimate guide to safety. If he needs less insulin, he needs less insulin. As soon as readings show that the dose is too high then it should be reduced immediately. no matter what a vet says to the contrary.


Mogs
.

I am curious about this that he said: "When it comes to glucose values, it is the case that gluco calea and many other glucometers show about 1-2 units lower value than what is in reality on a more advanced machine. This means that when Severino has a value of 3.8, it is probably 4.8-5.8 on our machine, ie a pretty good value."

Is this correct?? Why did they say that I should pay attention to numbers under 4.0?
 
We have a tendency to believe in authority, and in some cases we should.
But in other cases it's best not to.

One night a few years ago, I saw a thread on Facebook about a rabbit that had been in surgery previously that day, and the owner didn't feel comfortable since the rabbit was still sleeping. She had kept the rabbit warm with her own body heat but felt something was off.

I threw myself in the car and drove there. The rabbit was a bit more awake, but it hadn't been eating for 8 hours or moving. The rabbit was in horrible pain, since the vet prescribed 9 times too little pain meds. Rabbits are prey animals, when they're in pain they really might as well die. But since the rabbit hadn't been eating and moving, the entire digestive system was stopped. I brought a lot of medication and the rabbit slowly came back to live. I was there for 3 hours, without my help and the owners instinct to keep the bunny warm, it would have died.

The vet was a farm animal vet.... he "forgot" to give the syringe that would have woken the bunny. He thought since it was a rabbit it needed pain meds like a cat. It was trial and error... on other people's animals.

We believe in authority. A vet has a degree and has spent years studying, but they can't know everything about every animal they see. A rabbit need enough pain meds that would kill 5 cats in just one dosage, most vets don't know that.

The best veterinarians are those who listen. Who are curious, and know their own limitations - and is honest about them.
I respect a doctor of any kind, saying "I don't know, but I'll find out"
We and our pets are living creatures, we don't fit into boxes, we're all individuals. What works on one, might not work on the next..

And sometimes it's just pure logic. It takes basic knowledge of insulin to know there's different kinds, that works in different ways. To know a blood glucose is a moving target. It's so logical and frustrating when someone who's been studying for years haven't figured it out. It's not rocket science...
 
I am curious about this that he said: "When it comes to glucose values, it is the case that gluco calea and many other glucometers show about 1-2 units lower value than what is in reality on a more advanced machine. This means that when Severino has a value of 3.8, it is probably 4.8-5.8 on our machine, ie a pretty good value."

Is this correct?? Why did they say that I should pay attention to numbers under 4.0?
Even if you buy another meter, you probably won't see the exact same readings.

Every cat is different. Someone who's been doing this for years can shoot safely on a 5.4 mmol, cause they know their cat. I can't shoot that low. But that same person might choose not to, if they got a 5.4 reading on a new meter.


And then its just plain stupid to give you a number, and then say that you can't rely on that number. Then when do you have an emergency? When its too late? :banghead:
 
I am curious about this that he said: "When it comes to glucose values, it is the case that gluco calea and many other glucometers show about 1-2 units lower value than what is in reality on a more advanced machine. This means that when Severino has a value of 3.8, it is probably 4.8-5.8 on our machine, ie a pretty good value."

Is this correct??
The numbers your vet quotes are more representative of the difference between a reading taken on a human meter versus a meter calibrated for cat blood when a cat is running in the lower part of the normal reference range.

Normal feline BG reference ranges:

Alphatrak veterinary meter: 3.9-8.3mmol/L (Information provided by my vet. Lab analysers work to similar range, e.g. IDEXX UK use 3.9-8.0mmol/L).

Human meter: 2.8-6.7mmol/L

According to this online manual for the Gluco Calea meter:

A stable diabetic cat should have a blood glucose range of about 80-150 mg/dL (4,4-8,3 mmol/L) for most of the day.​

The manufacturers may have set the 4.4mmol/L value as the lower bound of their quoted reference range to provide a little bit of a safety buffer for cats on insulin.

A reading on a pet-calibrated meter would typically read close to the reading on a lab analyser (presumably the 'advanced machine' your vet is referring to).

The reason why human meters read lower than veterinary meters is that there is a difference in the way that glucose is transported in the blood between the species (see the above manual for specifics).

Why did they say that I should pay attention to numbers under 4.0?
Your vet has told you - correctly in this instance - that you need to pay close attention if numbers go below 4.0mmol/L because that's where a cat is dropping below the normal reference range (i.e. hypo territory). However, your vet is, IMO, incorrect to tell you that you should not intervene until you see clinical signs of hypoglycaemia. On the contrary, one should act to raise BG levels if they are at or below the lower bound of keep BG levels within the normal. The idea is not to let levels get so bad that the cat becomes symptomatic. (Caveat: It is possible for a cat to become symptomatic while still within the lower part of the normal reference range, notably if they have experienced a steep, fast drop in BG level.)


Mogs
.
 
Sasha is correct. Severino's numbers are your ultimate guide to safety. If he needs less insulin, he needs less insulin. As soon as readings show that the dose is too high then it should be reduced immediately. no matter what a vet says to the contrary.
I totally agree with @SashaV and @Critter Mom here.
If Severino were my cat I would reduce the dose to 0.25u and get the necessary mid cycle testing in to see how low 0.25u takes him. He "earned" a dose reduction PM 25/11 cycle. He may have gone even lower than 3.8 mmol/L (68 mg/dl) if you had not administered dextrose.

I'm also looking at/why I would be cautious:
24/11 PM cycle - no shot. That PM cycle by +3 his BG number dropped on it's own with no insulin. The following AMPS 25/11 he was still well within a normal BG reading for a pet meter (see @Critter Mom BG reference ranges posted above) after no insulin for 24 hours. Prozinc is an 'in and out' insulin that generally lasts 12 hours in most cats. Some get up to 14 hours.
 
I totally agree with @SashaV and @Critter Mom here.
If Severino were my cat I would reduce the dose to 0.25u and get the necessary mid cycle testing in to see how low 0.25u takes him. He "earned" a dose reduction PM 25/11 cycle. He may have gone even lower than 3.8 mmol/L (68 mg/dl) if you had not administered dextrose.

I'm also looking at/why I would be cautious:
24/11 PM cycle - no shot. That PM cycle by +3 his BG number dropped on it's own with no insulin. The following AMPS 25/11 he was still well within a normal BG reading for a pet meter (see @Critter Mom BG reference ranges posted above) after no insulin for 24 hours. Prozinc is an 'in and out' insulin that generally lasts 12 hours in most cats. Some get up to 14 hours.

Oh so sorry, he actually had a 0.5 shot at the 24/11. The reason his glucose raised to that reading (which was still normal) is that he got some food with carbs together with his food when we tested lower than 4mmol/l in the evening (which according to the previous advice by the veterinary I should interveine)
 
Amanda, for future reference, if Severino drops to 3.8 or lower, in addition to intervening to raise his BG levels, keep testing his BG until he has stayed in safe numbers for 2 hours without any need for food, reason being that even if numbers come up initially after you've acted to raise BG it's possible for them to drop back again. In particular, if you give honey/syrup/glucose those will boost numbers quickly but they also wear off quickly. Higher carb food (with gravy) should keep numbers up for longer but you may need to feed small, frequent amounts to hold numbers up until BG levels stabilise in a safe range - especially if the low run coincides with the peak period of effect of the insulin.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
He says it like this: "A cat that gets low blood sugar will want to eat. It is the body's response to hypoglycemia. If Severino feels well, does not want to eat and has a slightly low value, there is probably no danger. It is only if he shows symptoms of hypoglycemia (fatigue, shakiness, etc.) that we need to force food into him."

I have A LOT of experience with rescued cats. I haven´t mentioned here yet but my mom, who lives in another country, is an active member of a cat organisation. She ends up having many of unadoptable cats in her house. I have taken care of more than 20 cats with her when I lived there. I have experienced many many times situations where cats refused to eat and really needed to start eating again; and mostly with some effort they would eat and get better.

I don´t agree that the body is always correct.
Also, why is my cat asking for the dry food, that he refused before??? Isn´t that his body´s possible response to hypoglicemia?

Am I not being rational in here? I am questioning my own thoughts in here, I might be wrong
Every cat is different. Some show signs and will ask for food, others don’t until they have convulsions. Your vet is a bit clueless, but most vets are. Again a human would not inject insulin without testing. It’s even more important for cats who can’t tell you how they feel and ask for help. We’re trying to help you keep your cat safe. I understand it’s hard to disagree with a vet, but I too went through quite a few who were telling me to do all the wrong things. It’s a miracle Minnie is alive but now I know better!
 
We have a tendency to believe in authority, and in some cases we should.
But in other cases it's best not to.

One night a few years ago, I saw a thread on Facebook about a rabbit that had been in surgery previously that day, and the owner didn't feel comfortable since the rabbit was still sleeping. She had kept the rabbit warm with her own body heat but felt something was off.

I threw myself in the car and drove there. The rabbit was a bit more awake, but it hadn't been eating for 8 hours or moving. The rabbit was in horrible pain, since the vet prescribed 9 times too little pain meds. Rabbits are prey animals, when they're in pain they really might as well die. But since the rabbit hadn't been eating and moving, the entire digestive system was stopped. I brought a lot of medication and the rabbit slowly came back to live. I was there for 3 hours, without my help and the owners instinct to keep the bunny warm, it would have died.

The vet was a farm animal vet.... he "forgot" to give the syringe that would have woken the bunny. He thought since it was a rabbit it needed pain meds like a cat. It was trial and error... on other people's animals.

We believe in authority. A vet has a degree and has spent years studying, but they can't know everything about every animal they see. A rabbit need enough pain meds that would kill 5 cats in just one dosage, most vets don't know that.

The best veterinarians are those who listen. Who are curious, and know their own limitations - and is honest about them.
I respect a doctor of any kind, saying "I don't know, but I'll find out"
We and our pets are living creatures, we don't fit into boxes, we're all individuals. What works on one, might not work on the next..

And sometimes it's just pure logic. It takes basic knowledge of insulin to know there's different kinds, that works in different ways. To know a blood glucose is a moving target. It's so logical and frustrating when someone who's been studying for years haven't figured it out. It's not rocket science...


Sasha, you are an angel!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you for taking care of that rabbit <3 I have rescued rabbits and taken care of them, they are sweet animals and not much understood by veterinarians.
 
Hi Amanda!
Just checking on how Severino did last night with no insulin - looks like he did fantastic - that AMPS this morning of 90mg/dl (5 mmol/L) is just where you want him.
I see you gave him 0.5u insulin this morning. I recommend getting a +2 this morning to see how he handles it.

Keep us posted please!
I believe she's at +6.5 now :nailbiting:

Did you get your meter, Amanda? :bighug:
 
Hi Amanda!
Just checking on how Severino did last night with no insulin - looks like he did fantastic - that AMPS this morning of 90mg/dl (5 mmol/L) is just where you want him.
I see you gave him 0.5u insulin this morning. I recommend getting a +2 this morning to see how he handles it.

Keep us posted please!


Thank you for your care!!!!!!!!!!!! <3 Severino ate all of this night, for the first time in a long time! <3 And, for the first time in a long time, he didn´t sleep with me! But was around playing and climbing!

I wasn´t able to measure this morning because the teststrips ended :-( I got mine delivered in another city; so I stayed at home and observed Severino, fed him extra food, until it was +5. Than I took the bus and got my new meter, just arrived!!! Will learn how it works as soon as I can eat some pasta :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top