rise in bg AFTER insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

lucybooz

Member Since 2012
is it unusual for the bg level to RISE after giving the insulin shot. beeber checked at 436 when injecting her this morning. did another 2 hours later and she's reading at 455.

every time i give the shot i worry that i may be injecting and i'm not into the skin, hence worrying about the 19 point rise 2 hrs. after her shot.
 
Meters are only required to be within +/- 20% accurate, so those 2 tests are virtually the same. And since you feed when you shoot there are added carbs in the system. I'm not sure when the onset is for ProZinc, I know w/ Lantus it usually isn't until 2 hours after the shot, so that is a factor too.
 
Prozinc seems to onset between two to three hours after the shot. ECID (every cat is different) of course, and not every cycle follows the "rules". Usually you would see a rise from the meal the kitty just ate, and then you would see the insulin start to lower the BG until 6 hours or so after the shot, then the numbers climb (not too quickly hopefully) until it's time for the next shot.

Carl
 
lucybooz said:
is it unusual for the bg level to RISE after giving the insulin shot. beeber checked at 436 when injecting her this morning. did another 2 hours later and she's reading at 455.

every time i give the shot i worry that i may be injecting and i'm not into the skin, hence worrying about the 19 point rise 2 hrs. after her shot.

How to do a Curve
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 – Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 – Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Above is just general, and it would also depend on the type of insulin you are using.... N is fast acting, PZI is more of an intermediate insulin and you may see more action sooner than if you were using Lantus or Levemir which are both longer lasting and have later nadirs.

Some cats have late nadir like my Oliver - close to +10 or later - and he would rise for hours, maybe till +5 and then start his drop.... his curves looked like a mountain, not a valley.

I would not worry as the dose may not be high enough yet, or you just have not found your cat's nadir.
You can test ever couple hours and then you will see how YOUR cat reacts to the insulin and the dose.
 
i will be checking it again at 2:30 before i go to work. hopefully it's starting to decline by then.

thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top