Riley's at 454

Status
Not open for further replies.

dana moore

Member Since 2015
I don't have it on the spreadsheet but when the vet first started me off with p this time it was 1.5 and that did not change his sugar levels they stayed at 400 for a couple days so I'm thinking 2 units might be better instead of 3 units. I need to go in and add that for the 14th, 15th and 16th. I know you said 1 unit but I just remembered the 1.5 didn't make them go down but then the vet raised it to 3 and that may have been too much? Idk.
 
Most of us responded on your thread over in Prozinc but we suggested starting at 1.0U because too much insulin can cause high BG as well as too little. Your first diabetic-go-ground, he actually had some nice numbers on 1.0U before he went into remission. The higher doses might be causing him to bounce in high numbers. I am still going to stick with my suggestion of holding 1.0U, as long as he is over 200, for a few days :). I know it can be difficult to stay with a lower dose when you see higher numbers but if they are bounce numbers, we don't like to respond with higher dose based on those numbers. They are, in a matter of speaking, somewhat transparent :bighug:
 
Okay thank you so much I'll give him one unit tonight if he's under two and go from there. The vet call me back but I didn't get a chance to answer the phone.
 
Okay is pre shot numbers were 138 so I'm going to check again and 20 minutes and if its under 200 no dose and I'm starting with one unit tomorrow regardless of his numbers as long as its over 200.
 
His #amps was 344 gave 1 unit came home pmps is 206. Waiting 20 min. If it's over 200 should I still give one unit?
 
Hi Riley! I posted on your thread over in the prozinc forum also in case other folks are in that forum who can weigh in on this insulin. I would say yes, go ahead and give the 1u as long as you are able to get in a test or two before bed this evening to make sure Riley stays in safe numbers.
 
His #amps was 344 gave 1 unit came home pmps is 206. Waiting 20 min. If it's over 200 should I still give one unit?
The fact that his BG is dropping on a lowered dose indicates that he was on too high a dose before this. It'll be interesting to see the effect of 1 u on a 206 this evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top