Ricos BG.Give Insulin or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ricosmycat

Member Since 2011
Using Humulin N.
Feeding byNature Chicken and Chicken Liver...Off of Dry Food for 4 days, and never again.
Today took 2 readings.
Prebreakfast 6:30 am BG 192.6. Gave no insulin. He ate again at 3 pm , no insulin. Now he just ate at 7:30 pm and Bg is 183 predinner. Give insulin or wait and check later. I dont want to have a hypo cat. The highest we've had in 2 days was 304.2, last night. Gave 1 unit of insulin.
Thank you in advance.
Ron and Denise
Moncton NB
ccRico
 
She said Rico is on N insulin in the first line of her post.

Do you have any other BGs to post? With the limited data you provide (how low has Rico went before) it is hard to give dosing advice. I would probably not give any insulin to be save, especially since you changed to low-carb food.
 
When we first started as rookies and still are, We wrote down his readings and I cant make heads or tails out of it. But what I can tell is, at first he was at 397.8. Had a couple of high readings at 444.6 and 406. This was within the first couple of days, with a reading of 120.6 smack dab in the middle of those first 2 high readings. Then off the dry food and his readings for a couple of tests started coming down to a high of 216 to a low of 68.4. July 14th Morn snack at 5:30 am-PreBreakfast BG 226.8. He ate again at 1:30 pm, no reading, I was here by msyself, takes 2 to tango with Rico.JULY 15TH Prebreakfast 210.6. Last nights pre supper BG 304.2, gave 1 unit. Today, July 16th, He had a snack at 6:30am and ate at 8:30am, post breakfast 208.8, 2 hours after eating snack. Rico had late lunch at 3 pm. Prelunch reading, 192.6. Dinner at 7 pm tonight, predinner BG 183.6 No insulin given on any of the lower readings. He was originally on 2 units a day and then the vet suggested 1.5 when his BG started dropping. Seems the longer he is off the dry food the better the readings. I am converting my readings multiplying by 18.
Thank you,.
Ron and Denise
Moncton NB
ccRico
 
Usually we say with new diabetics, not to shoot under 200. The advice is to wait 20 minutes and test again to see that the number is rising about 200. Or you can shoot a reduced dose like .5 units. It is good to be cautious, especially if you have recently made a diet change.

Is Humulin the only insulin you have available to you? It works in some cats, but is often more harsh than other insulins like Lantus and Levemir, making it harder to regulate the bg levels.

Although we are having trouble with it on some computers, there is a spreadsheet that will convert your numbers and give you a color coded record of the numbers. You need to be signed into Goggle to access it. https://docs.google.com/previewtemplate ... ode=public
 
Hi Sue and Oliver. This morning at 5:30 I gave Rico a prebreakfast snack. He just had breakfast at 8:00 am. Prebreakfast BG 136.8. He has not had any insulin since July 15th at 6:30 pm when his BG was 304.2 preDinner. His last 3 readings were.
July 16-6:30 am prebreakfast 10.7. July 16th 7 pm predinner 10.2. July 17th 8:30 am prebreakfast 7.6. No insulin given at all low readings. Yes, we have access to any type of insulin we choose. We had no idea about the tpes of insulin or needles or Glucose meters, test strips, pricking ear, or whatever till we started doing research on here at FDMB and some other places. We have printed off the available cat foods and the BG conversion chart. Thank you for your help. We just had to send our Beloved Trixie to Kitty heaven,(oral cancer) and dont need to go thru that again. We are trying to be as careful as we can with our Rico. He says "thank you" by the way...
Ron and Denise
Moncton NB
ccRico
Rest in Peace Trixie...We Miss you
 
Sounds like you are doing great.
I can't offer any dosing advice, just wanted to share my personal experience with you.
Although every cat is different, my Callie Mae is in remission right now, diet controlled.
After I made the switch to wet, she was getting micro doses of insulin for about a month and then went completely OTJ (off the juice).
Not saying that is what is happening with Rico, but I just wanted you to know it IS possible.
Just keep checking his bg, and only give him insulin if his numbers warrant it.
I don't know anything about your insulin.
Callie Mae was on PZI.

Good luck and cheek scratches to Rico.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top