? Rico 24/11 PMPS 502, AMPS 303, +6 118, PMPS 414, AMPS 398: SWITCH TO TR?

Carol & Rico

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3124240/

Good morning everyone! After rapid, consecutive reductions (according to the SLGS method), Rico is now using 1.25U but his numbers seems constantly high. Should I wait until he completes the 7-day cycle or increase his dose again and - thus - switch to TR method? Another reason for his high numbers might be that I have paused him from getting antibiotics for his gum infection so as to see whether there is any improvement and if he can cope without. The Convenia effect lasted until 6 days ago. Despite all this, he's happy, playful, hungry and demading :D and has gained a lot of weight.

@Wendy&Neko
@Yanna
@Chris & China (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3124240/

Good morning everyone! After rapid, consecutive reductions (according to the SLGS method), Rico is now using 1.25U but his numbers seems constantly high. Should I wait until he completes the 7-day cycle or increase his dose again and - thus - switch to TR method? Another reason for his high numbers might be that I have paused him from getting antibiotics for his gum infection so as to see whether there is any improvement and if he can cope without. The Convenia effect lasted until 6 days ago. Despite all this, he's happy, playful, hungry and demading :D and has gained a lot of weight.

@Wendy&Neko
@Yanna
@Chris & China (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom

A playful, hungry and especially demanding kitty, is a good sign. No advise here, but I would think no antibiotics could cause an increase in higher numbers. Hopefully, someone will be available soon to help.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Was he just getting Convenia for a mouth infection? Not the best choice - typically clindamycin is given for mouth issues.

I see a 118 today, not a bad nadir. :)

As for the question on TR, what food is Rico eating now? Following the TR protocol requires feeding an all low carb wet or raw food diet. I'm wondering what the RC diabetic in your signature line is.
 
Was he just getting Convenia for a mouth infection? Not the best choice - typically clindamycin is given for mouth issues.

I TOLD THE VET ABOUT IT LAST MONTH AND CHANGED HIS ANTIBIOTICS BUT RICO DIDN'T RESPOND WELL TO THAT SO WE SWITCHED BACK TO CONVENIA. NEW QUESTION: WOULD IT BE SAFE FOR HIM TO HAVE A DENTAL ,WITH HIS CURRENT NUMBERS?

I see a 118 today, not a bad nadir. :)

YEAP, I WAS NICELY SURPRISED TOO!! :)

As for the question on TR, what food is Rico eating now? Following the TR protocol requires feeding an all low carb wet or raw food diet. I'm wondering what the RC diabetic in your signature line is.

RICO IS EATING BOZITA TETRAPACK (WHICH HE DOESN'T ENJOY MUCH LATELY), ANIMONDA CARNY & ANIMONDA PATE & ROYAL CANIN DIABETIC WET FOOD. I ALSO GIVE HIM BOILED (JUST IN WATER - NOT SURE IF I SHOULD ADD OLIVE OIL TOO) CHICKEN OR TURKEY BREAST.
 
I TOLD THE VET ABOUT IT LAST MONTH AND CHANGED HIS ANTIBIOTICS BUT RICO DIDN'T RESPOND WELL TO THAT SO WE SWITCHED BACK TO CONVENIA. NEW QUESTION: WOULD IT BE SAFE FOR HIM TO HAVE A DENTAL ,WITH HIS CURRENT NUMBERS?
It's best not to hide new questions inside of quote, or it might get missed. To answer the new question, Rico's numbers are fine for doing a dental. Neko's numbers were worse when she had her first dental. Some cats don't get regulated without a dental, but some vets don't feel comfortable doing a dental on an unregulated cat. In that case, find another vet who is comfortable doing the dental. It might mean going to a dental specialist vet.

Meat boiled in water is fine to feed. Some people use that as treats.
 
Back
Top