PamJV
Member Since 2017
Ricky's plantigrade gait keeps getting worse. If you all remember I changed from Alpha Trak meter to the Relion meter on 5/13/17 and with that change the numbers were much better. The numbers looked almost as good as they did on 2/1/17 ....the first time the vet had tested Ricky back before the Plantigrade Gait started. So at first I was relieved.
But the gait keeps getting worse. My vet had told me to increase by a whole unit up to 3 units but you all here said to go slower. So I did try 2.5, then I tried 3.0 then I tried 2.75. I had thought he looks better on 2.5. I don't think his numbers were any better on the higher dose. But his numbers are still all in the pink and yellow no matter what his dose is, which is bad, right? My vet had originally told me getting a nadir of 230 is perfectly fine if one doesn't plan on testing at home. I would be fine with that if Ricky looked good, but he doesn't.
I have tried the Young Again Zero Carb. Ricky still won't eat that. So now I have gotten a bag of Dr. Elsey's low carb and he does seem to like that one. So I am in turmoil wondering if the answer is to keep going up and up with the insulin, or should I start consulting with the specialty hospital? Maybe Ricky's HCM is a factor in the Plantigrade Gait, sense the blood pressure med slows his blood flow. Before this, I had vowed never to vet shop again because I did that with my last two ill cats and it resulted in spending a fortune and more agony for the cats and still they weren't saved.
thanks, Pam
But the gait keeps getting worse. My vet had told me to increase by a whole unit up to 3 units but you all here said to go slower. So I did try 2.5, then I tried 3.0 then I tried 2.75. I had thought he looks better on 2.5. I don't think his numbers were any better on the higher dose. But his numbers are still all in the pink and yellow no matter what his dose is, which is bad, right? My vet had originally told me getting a nadir of 230 is perfectly fine if one doesn't plan on testing at home. I would be fine with that if Ricky looked good, but he doesn't.
I have tried the Young Again Zero Carb. Ricky still won't eat that. So now I have gotten a bag of Dr. Elsey's low carb and he does seem to like that one. So I am in turmoil wondering if the answer is to keep going up and up with the insulin, or should I start consulting with the specialty hospital? Maybe Ricky's HCM is a factor in the Plantigrade Gait, sense the blood pressure med slows his blood flow. Before this, I had vowed never to vet shop again because I did that with my last two ill cats and it resulted in spending a fortune and more agony for the cats and still they weren't saved.
thanks, Pam
I was able to switch my non-FD kitty right away. My non-FD kitty has access to wet food all day so you would think Noah would get hungry and try to eat some... but NO... not even when I put Temptations in it. I didn't think Noah would like freeze-dried raw, but he did and that has really help manage his diabetes. Might be worth a try as Primal nuggets are really low carbs...


