The vet said based on the fact his BG went 100 points higher when on 3.0 units, it could be more about the anticipation of the testing that caused this. There was no bounce, so that's not the answer. He's not going low at any time. The vet says to give this dose a week and then test. If the readings are the same with no curve, the vet says he may be insulin resistant, and perhaps a different insulin should be tried. I will give this a try and see where we are next week. I will also try to get Ricky to like Young Again food.
Though it is true that stress can increase BG, and I have certainly experienced that with George when he's gone to the vet's and his BG was 120pts higher than it was just 30min earlier at home, I haven't come across anyone on the board who has experienced that when testing their kitty at home.
If Ricky is a particularly nervous cat, then the way I see it, overtime if you continue to give him treats and lots of love whenever he gets his ear pokes I am certain that he will soon become used to them and may even look forward to them. George has been in remission (OTJ) for a year now, I still test him daily, first thing in the morning, he won't let me get out of bed till he get's his ear poke and treat (Freeze dried chicken, and lots of scritches under his chin), he purrs contentedly all the while, granted he is an easy going cat, and not difficult to test, but I know of many others where it wasn't easy in the beginning but who got there in the end, I remember
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey talking about her Harvey being a bit of a handful (am I rememebering right Tricia?)
I don't think you need to be running curves every day, but with all due respect to your vet, there is not sufficient data to support that he is or isn't bouncing, you have no tests at all in the pm cycle, he could be dropping at night (our experience on the board is that many cats go lower at night) and bouncing up high by the morning. In fact the black amps on 5/7 makes me wonder whether he did drop low the previous evening, by low, please understand I mean lower than Ricky's body is currently used to. Another thing that we have noticed on the board is that some cats react to a dose increase with higher BG, we call this New Dose Wonkiness NDW
From the new to the group sticky
- Also worth noting: "Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations." http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm. Here in the Lantus and Levemir Insulin Support Group (ISG), we've affectionately dubbed this unexplained phenomenon "New Dose Wonkiness" (NDW).
Here's an explanation of bouncing from the new to the group sticky
- Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles). (note that some kitties clear bounces sooner than others)
Going forward this week since Ricky is stressed by the tests, how about always getting amps and pmps and one other test in each cycle(ie morning and night), you can vary that to suit you and Ricky, in fact it might be preferable to. I really think it is a very bad idea to shoot blind, I've not been on the board as long as some, and have been witness to kitties being lost because their vets recommended no testing, I wouldn't want you to have to experience that. Someone once asked me, would I give insulin to an infant without knowing what their BG is?
I know that he had a reabsorptive lesion and had a dental/extraction, is there any chance a bit of tooth got left behind? Did they do xrays to confirm they got it all? I'm wondering if his mouth is still giving him problems, that could affect his BG.
As far as the insulin resistance goes, Ricky is not on that high of a dose, we usually suggest testing for acro/IAA when kitties get to over 5u, if your vet suspect that for other reasons, then you could get the test and at least you would know one way or the other. You may be running into a problem with
glucose toxicity, because you are holding on to a dose that is not getting Ricky into a good BG range for too long (truthfully I can't say if that is the case without the data) The fact that his neuropathy has worsened, may be a sign that BG is not where it should be. Are there any other signs his BG is not controlled? Still drinking loads? Peeing more than normal.
The way to break the insulin resistance, if it does indeed exist, is to take the dose up more aggressively until you hit that break through.
If it were me, I would continue with the testing at home, at least to the level I suggested above (though, I would probably get 2 tests in each cycle rather than 1, so that there are less data holes in the ss, and I could increase with confidence should the numbers warrant it), if you did that you could follow the
Tight Regulation Protocol, and if the numbers warrant it you can take the dose up more quickly, but safely.
I have 3 other cats, and could not manage to get Ricky's urine sample as a separate urine.
LOL yes it can be challenging, ask Tricia, she had 5 cats, two diabetic kitties among them. The way I got a urine sample from George, is by doing the Litter Box Lurk, I found he would always pee in the morning, halfway through his breakfast, so I would wait, follow him to the box and once he squatted and started peeing, I would scoot the ladle under his butt, he would look at me indignant, but he never stopped peeing, result

Ketones are a concern if numbers are persistently high, especially if kitty is off their food, and if you then throw an infection in the mix, the situation can quickly develop into DKA.
I've included hyperlinks (the blue text) to relevant info on the board, I would suggest you read those and the stickies, (if you haven't already).