Ricky AMPS (404), +2 (333), + 4 (384), +6(377)

Status
Not open for further replies.

PamJV

Member Since 2017
Ricky has been on the increased dose of 2.5 U for 12 days. Today is the first time I am trying a home glucose curve testing every two hours. Just half way into it, but am so disappointed with these numbers! He actually has begun to look better so I thought his numbers would be better. He weighs 16.5 lbs, and his walk is a bit better. He has no dandruff and his fur looks good. He seems happier than on the lower dose.

I will continue to post the numbers the rest of the day, but wonder if this indicates I need to go up to 2.75 U or 3.0 U ?

The way I was determining 2.5 U was with the stopper resting fully above the 3.0 line.

Pam
 
Ricky has been on the increased dose of 2.5 U for 12 days. Today is the first time I am trying a home glucose curve testing every two hours. Just half way into it, but am so disappointed with these numbers! He actually has begun to look better so I thought his numbers would be better. He weighs 16.5 lbs, and his walk is a bit better. He has no dandruff and his fur looks good. He seems happier than on the lower dose.

I will continue to post the numbers the rest of the day, but wonder if this indicates I need to go up to 2.75 U or 3.0 U ?

The way I was determining 2.5 U was with the stopper resting fully above the 3.0 line.

Pam
Dose increases on 0.25 u are recommended. Maybe try eyeballing 2.75 u? Measuring consistently dose ro dose is key even if it isn't exactly 2.75 u.
 
I know the numbers are disappointing and it does look like an increase is required as Kris has suggested. Just wanted to add that Ricky is more than the numbers. While I love data and have become obsessed with my spreadsheet, you have called out other valid data that he is feeling better and responding. Hope you get to the right dose soon so he continues to improve both in real life and on paper!

:cat:
 
Dose increases on 0.25 u are recommended. Maybe try eyeballing 2.75 u? Measuring consistently dose ro dose is key even if it isn't exactly 2.75 u.
OK. the +8 (388) shows basically he's had no curve. He dropped a bit from the the AMPS but basically stayed the same all day. Is it just a matter of the right dose ?
Pam
 
I know the numbers are disappointing and it does look like an increase is required as Kris has suggested. Just wanted to add that Ricky is more than the numbers. While I love data and have become obsessed with my spreadsheet, you have called out other valid data that he is feeling better and responding. Hope you get to the right dose soon so he continues to improve both in real life and on paper!

:cat:
Carol, A hard fact is that he's gained a little weight and looks relaxed and fur looks better. I can't trust my judgement of his plantigrade. Early this morning BEFORE his insulin I thought his gait looked much improved. But now 8+ hours AFTER the insulin inject I think his gait looks worse. I don't know what to think. I guess that fluctuates.

I wonder if anyone here has had a cat with plantigrade that resolved?

Pam
 
Hi Pam - If you haven't seen the video in the 2nd post in this thread, it would be worth a look to see improvements over time with zobaline. I can confirm improvement in mobility both gait and also stairs within 1 month of starting zobaline for my Rosie. Her case was mild compared to this video. I think it will take some time and some continued lowering of Ricky's blood sugar to see progress. Please hang in there!
 
Hi Pam - If you haven't seen the video in the 2nd post in this thread, it would be worth a look to see improvements over time with zobaline. I can confirm improvement in mobility both gait and also stairs within 1 month of starting zobaline for my Rosie. Her case was mild compared to this video. I think it will take some time and some continued lowering of Ricky's blood sugar to see progress. Please hang in there!
Carol, Yes I've watched that clip of Tootsie a few times. It gives me hope. I think Ricky has been on the Zobaline perhaps a month. It's hard to remember. I did have a hard time pilling him in the beginning but now it's OK. I know Ricky's Blood Sugar needs to be controlled also and the Zobaline alone can't do it all. So I hope increasing the insulin will make an improvement there. Pam
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top