Revson PMPS 330. Weight loss, yummy food ideas?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Revson

Member Since 2011
Hi all. Revson is about 2 months into FD. He's on all canned food - mostly Fancy Feast classics. He likes it, but eats only small amounts at a time and then (typical cat behavior!) decides he's had enough. I've tried offering different choices which sometimes works, other times he's not interested.

He likes boiled ham (lunch meat) but again, sometimes he'll eat a bit other times no.
He LOVES dried chicken - that's his treat for poking.

Any suggestions?

He's a Lantus kitty, 1.5U 1x day (usually).
BG has been higher in the evening, lower in the morning so no insulin then.

I can & WILL send up a more complete SS in 2 weeks, until then I am crazy busy and traveling.
However, checking BG everyday before shooting.

Amy
 
The reason Revson is higher in the evening is because he's not getting insulin in the AM!

Why not crumble the freeze dried chicken on top of his food?
 
I figured that was the reason for the higher night number, but his numbers in the morning are usually below 200. Too low to shoot, right?
The vet's "magic" number is 250.

Should I drop his evening insulin to 1U, assuming he'll also need 1U in the morning?

I've tried that with the dried chicken, but so far he ignores it when it's on top of other things.

Amy
 
Amy --

I really don't feel comfortable making any suggestions about dose without a spreadsheet or several days worth of numbers. It would be irresponsible on my part to do so. The last thing any of us would want to do is make a suggestion that would end up endangering Revson.

Have you tried FortiFlora? It's a probiotic that you can purchase on-line (e.g., Amazon, EntirelyPets, PetFood Direct). It's like kitty crack -- and it works great for diarrhea.
 
Thanks for the suggestion.

I'll get my SS done asap! I appreciate the responsible answer regarding dosing suggestions.

See you in 2 weeks.
Amy
 
hi amy! i've wondered how revson was doing! have his pancreatitis & uti resolved?

have you had a chance to read about how lantus works and to look at the protocol we use? i skimmed through your previous posts and didn't see anyone suggest that to you, but i might have missed it.

Lantus & Levemir New To Group? Please Read
Tight Regulation Protocol

couple of important things - lantus dosing is based upon the nadir, the lowest BG point, that a cat gets to in each cycle. that mid-cycle test tells you how the lantus dose is working in Revson's body and it's very important. the only thing the preshot test tells you is if he's high enough for you to be able to give the shot. we encourage everyone to get at least one mid-cycle test during the day and during the night. With Revson having DKA only a month ago, it's pretty important that his numbers come down.

the way lantus works is that when you inject it, it forms microcrystals under the skin. that's an actual deposit of lantus that then slowly releases over the next hours. The Lantus cycle is shown in that first "new to group" sticky above - it hits its peak about 4-7ish hours after the shot, then wanes. some cats peak at 3 hours after their shot - every cat is different. a cat's metabolism is very fast and the best results have been shown from giving the same insulin dose every 12 hours. we adjust the dose based upon the nadir numbers, following the protocol in that second sticky above.

when you give one shot every 24 hours, the lantus shed is likely completely depleted by the time the next shot comes around. with 2 shots there is an overlap. having only one shot prevents you from seeing one of the huge benefits of lantus, which is a flatter cycle for revson and overall lower numbers. you want to get to the point of giving those 2 shots a day, as close to 12 hours apart as possible. you also really, really need mid-cycle tests to know how low revson's going.

if you can get a spreadsheet going you'll get a lot more advice. the spreadsheets let us see patterns and are incredibly valuable.

most people post daily until they've learned how the lantus works, gotten a basically good dose on lantus, learned how to recognize when they need to change the dose and when to hold the dose, and how to treat low numbers. i'd encourage you to post daily if you can, and to read as much as you can so you can help revson a little more.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top