KSAkitties
Member
Hello list members,
It's been over three years since my sweet boy Major had his last insulin shot. Unfortunately, his diabetes came back after moving to a stressful new environment (moved to Saudi Arabia at the end of Feb 2011) and being attacked by one of our rescued cats in April. Within two days of the attack, I noticed that he was lethargic and not quite himself so I tested his BG immediately. It was over 17 mmol/L(300 mg/dL). Prior to this incident, his BGs had been 3.6-4.6 mmol/L (65 - 83 mg/dL) consistently while he was in remission (without insulin).
Needless to say, I am very sad and angary with myself for not being more carefully watching over Major.
I have a spare bottle of PZI but it has expired on 11 June 2011 and have no way of getting PZI locally or from our previous vet in the UK (PZI has been discontinued). I just found out that I can purchase Levemir and Lantus without a prescription at one of my local pharmacies. I have two questions regarding switching Major to either Lantus or Levemir:
Question 1 – Lantus vs. Levemir:
I have read most of the info on Lantus and Levemir on this site but still can't decide whether I should switch Major to Lantus or Levemir. I noticed that some of you have experiences with both types of insulin and wonder if you could share with me on why you switched from Lantus to Levemir or vice versa.
Question 2 – Initial dose with Lantus or Levemir:
Major’s current’s AM and PM pre-shot values are around 7 to 9 mmol/L (130 – 160 mg/dL) on most days. I know these are quite low BG values but I have gathered a lot of readings on Major’s BG since he was first dx in 2008. I feel quite comfortable to give Major PZI at these values and always make sure that I am home to monitor him after each shot. Sometimes, I do have to delay his shot by an hour or two. He gets 05 to 0.75 IU twice a day. Nadir is around 3 to 4 mmol/L (54 – 72 mg/dL) about 3 to 5 hours after the shot. He weighs 6.7 kg (15 lb).
HOWEVER, I do not feel comfortable giving Major either Lantus or Levemir at these pre-shot values 7 to 9 mmol/L (130 – 160 mg/dL). If I use 0.25 IU /kg per The University of Queensland’s protocol, Major’s initial dose should be around 1.7 IU.
Should I reduce it to 1 unit as a starting dose if Major’s pre-shot BG is usually around 7 to 9 mmol/L (130 – 160 mg/dL)?
Any thoughts or suggestion is much appreciated.
Thanks,
It's been over three years since my sweet boy Major had his last insulin shot. Unfortunately, his diabetes came back after moving to a stressful new environment (moved to Saudi Arabia at the end of Feb 2011) and being attacked by one of our rescued cats in April. Within two days of the attack, I noticed that he was lethargic and not quite himself so I tested his BG immediately. It was over 17 mmol/L(300 mg/dL). Prior to this incident, his BGs had been 3.6-4.6 mmol/L (65 - 83 mg/dL) consistently while he was in remission (without insulin).
Needless to say, I am very sad and angary with myself for not being more carefully watching over Major.
I have a spare bottle of PZI but it has expired on 11 June 2011 and have no way of getting PZI locally or from our previous vet in the UK (PZI has been discontinued). I just found out that I can purchase Levemir and Lantus without a prescription at one of my local pharmacies. I have two questions regarding switching Major to either Lantus or Levemir:
Question 1 – Lantus vs. Levemir:
I have read most of the info on Lantus and Levemir on this site but still can't decide whether I should switch Major to Lantus or Levemir. I noticed that some of you have experiences with both types of insulin and wonder if you could share with me on why you switched from Lantus to Levemir or vice versa.
Question 2 – Initial dose with Lantus or Levemir:
Major’s current’s AM and PM pre-shot values are around 7 to 9 mmol/L (130 – 160 mg/dL) on most days. I know these are quite low BG values but I have gathered a lot of readings on Major’s BG since he was first dx in 2008. I feel quite comfortable to give Major PZI at these values and always make sure that I am home to monitor him after each shot. Sometimes, I do have to delay his shot by an hour or two. He gets 05 to 0.75 IU twice a day. Nadir is around 3 to 4 mmol/L (54 – 72 mg/dL) about 3 to 5 hours after the shot. He weighs 6.7 kg (15 lb).
HOWEVER, I do not feel comfortable giving Major either Lantus or Levemir at these pre-shot values 7 to 9 mmol/L (130 – 160 mg/dL). If I use 0.25 IU /kg per The University of Queensland’s protocol, Major’s initial dose should be around 1.7 IU.
Should I reduce it to 1 unit as a starting dose if Major’s pre-shot BG is usually around 7 to 9 mmol/L (130 – 160 mg/dL)?
Any thoughts or suggestion is much appreciated.
Thanks,