Restart-up to 4 units.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think.5 way way too little this morning but I am glad he's getting better numbers.
I agree. I got spooked because he was 190 and went to 248 in 20 minutes. So I thought maybe it was a weird spike and I was basing the dosage more on the 190 number and on the fact that I wasn't home to monitor him.
 
414 @ +4.5... looking at the night before last-- he seems to be dropping about the same rate as he was that night so hopefully we will see some better numbers later around +6/+7. I'm going to buy a relion prime tomorrow. His right ear is quite the bleeder. I didn't think it would be due to the cauliflower effect from his pillow stitches after hematoma surgery but boy does that ear bleed. I rarely have to apply pressure to get a sample. I think I'm going to change his food too. I am going to try 9Lives turkey & giblets.
Guaranteed Analysis:
Crude Protein 9.00% min.
Crude Fat 4.50% min.
Crude Fiber 1.00% max.
Moisture 78.00% max.
Ash 4.00% max.
Taurine 0.05% min.

I think the tuna & egg bits is upsetting his digestive tract and causing the diarrhea. He did fine on the friskies pate but I didn't see any that had low enough carbs. The lower the better for him.
 
411 this morning. I gave him 3.5 units again because I won't be able to monitor as close as I want to. I should be able to check +5 possibly +4. If it's not enough I can increase tonight because I'll be home.
 
He's 142 for pmps! Should I skip insulin? I know he's going to go up after eating and I can check him 2 hours after eating and the schedule will be fine.
 
I'm thrilled!! Just picked up his new meter and a similar in numbers pate that he might tolerate better.
 
Ha-ha I'll be up to check +4/+5 hubby will be up to check the rest of the night. I gave him 4 units. Think that was the wrong decision?
 
Hopefully I picked the right amount. Blows my mind he jumps 300 just from eating. He's begging for more which is typical.
I'm out of aviva strips. I thought I had the right code chip for my others but they sent the wrong chip! There's 38 point difference from the one reading... should I keep subtracting the 40 points from every reading or accept that the new meter is reading right and the old meter was reading low?
 
D*mnit! 274 +3 from shot. Might need to give a little food. I will check in a half hour.
 
I'm guessing He will get down to nice low blues .... And being it's a human meter there's room to go even a bit lower. We want to see blue numbers as much as we can. Let if ride the wave.
 
I'm guessing He will get down to nice low blues .... And being it's a human meter there's room to go even a bit lower. We want to see blue numbers as much as we can. Let if ride the wave.
I get so freaked out. I'm afraid I'll kill him! I will let it ride for now. I will keep close eye on him. He dropped 100 in just one hour and his nadir has been +7/+8 lately. Also this meter read 38 points higher at time of shot than the old one I was using. :(
 
Ok. IDK who I was trying to fool, myself mostly, that I'd be able to sleep and just let hubby take over. Silly me. I worry he will lose track of time and not test him to make sure he's in safe ranges- like he has done before! Well I'm off to bed- we will see how he does tonight. I'll have hubby check every hour til it starts to come back up.
 
Next time instead of corn syrup, just give a few spoonfuls of food to level him a bit. It's OK to try to maintain healing double digit numbers. He wasn't in dangerous numbers yet. The corn syrup over corrected.
 
Next time instead of corn syrup, just give a few spoonfuls of food to level him a bit. It's OK to try to maintain healing double digit numbers. He wasn't in dangerous numbers yet. The corn syrup over corrected.
I agree. +8 was 409! Syrup way overcorrected. Going to check him in a few minutes then out for the day. Unable to test this morning so I'll play it safe.
 
It is so hard, when you have a kitty that has been in reds and blacks, not to panic when you get lower hundreds or double digits. Remember that is what you want. :p As long as he is above 50 (on the human meter), just give him a tiny snack of regular carb and see if he won't rise a little or surf. Even at 50, try a teaspoon of gravy off HC.

No worries, next time. He is in some nice ranges - he'll get there.
 
126 @ +9.5 So 3.25 was a good dose today. IDK what he got down to or if he's hit nadir yet but I'll test 630 for PMPS numbers. Doesn't look like he'll reach a shootable number but once he eats I know he's going to spike!
Do you think 0.5 units would be a good dose to give since he spikes about 300 without insulin every time? Or is it too risky?
 
Let's see what he does for pmps. 0.5 seems too little to me. 3.25 did look good today.
155 at PMPS. I know the food is going to increase his BG level... without the insulin it has gone up 300 points two separate times. But after the insulin he drops pretty good down to normal levels so I don't want to shoot for a 155+300= 455 BG level.
What do you suggest? I don't think he can skip the shot. I can't delay the shot 2 hours tonight because no one will be home at 830am tomorrow to give his shot.
 
I don't know, Steph. As we have talked about, it is so hard to know how much to reduce. It seems like 0.5 would be too little. You gave 4 units on a 161 a couple cycles ago and he rose. But things are changing really fast.

0.5 if that makes you the most comfortable. If you can monitor, one unit or 1.5? But, go with your gut.
 
I don't know, Steph. As we have talked about, it is so hard to know how much to reduce. It seems like 0.5 would be too little. You gave 4 units on a 161 a couple cycles ago and he rose. But things are changing really fast.

0.5 if that makes you the most comfortable. If you can monitor, one unit or 1.5? But, go with your gut.
I was thinking 1 or 1.5... if he's going to bottom out I should know by +3 or +4. Hubby can check the rest of the night if he gets low quick. His new food has a bit more carbs in it than the tuna and egg bits. (9% protein vs 14%) which makes it about 7-8% carbs vs 2-3%... IF my math is right! I will check him again because I stalled for 30 minutes or so...
 
Last night he was 142 before dinner then 458 2 hours after dinner. I gave him 4 units on that- tonight he's 155 so 2 units should be safe because he just got into the greens before I panicked. So in theory, 3 would probably be safe too- But I think maybe I'll do 1.5 and check to get enough data to help me figure it out next time. Maybe if it doesn't get that high in the first place after dinner (insulin given right after dinner) he won't need as much as he did last night. We shall see. I do appreciate your help on all this. It makes me feel better about my decisions.
 
147 @1.5... feeling of dread coming on... I just gave him a teaspoon of Pumpkin puree to try to help his potty issues.
 
That's only 8 points. Remember, just some low carb snacks if he continues down, unless he gets to the 50s. I'll be around for 4 hours - will keep an eye out for you guys.
 
That's only 8 points. Remember, just some low carb snacks if he continues down, unless he gets to the 50s. I'll be around for 4 hours - will keep an eye out for you guys.
I'll test him at +2 and go on every hour if it's holding steady. The pumpkin was planned before the reading. He is stinking up my whole downstairs! *plugs nose*
 
117 @9,
110 @9:15,
94 @9:30,
83 @9:45
Trying to slow down with spoonfuls of his normal food. He's had 2 spoonfuls and a fancy feast salmon flake treat. Just gave him a spoonful of Friskies Turkey& Giblets pate.
 
+3 is 98. I'll hold off on anymore food for now. I'll test him in 30 minutes. Hopefully he's not going to go too high. Only had an ounce of his food and maybe 1/4 oz of the friskies. Didn't want to fill his belly up early if he continued to drop...

Speaking of when trying to steer with food do you check every 15 minutes and give more food if they continue to go down or check every 30 minutes? Seems like I have a hard time hitting the pause level instead of the increase level.
 
And I was wrong about the carb level in the 9Lives Chicken & Tuna meaty pate. I just added up the ingredients list and it comes out to be roughly 4% carbs.
 
I say every 20 minutes but have seen the other times also. Glad he flattened out a little.

Very interesting that food didn't spike his levels. This is good news.
 
Haha I thought my theory was spot on... Figured he would be a bit high in the 200s at most and high 100s at least. That's what I get for thinking! He's happy as a clam lounging on his cardboard scratcher thing that he uses for a bed instead of scratching it. Spoiled boy.
Thank you for being here for me! I appreciate it. You're the voice of reason I seem to lose when I get anxious over numbers I'm not use to seeing.
 
ugh. 176 @+3.75... Got looking through threads here and lost track of time! Missed the 10:30 reading but looks like it doesn't matter. I don't get it. 1oz (maybe 1.5 max including the liquid in the bottom of the can) of his food and 1/4oz of friskies, and the salmon snack which is low carb... how does that jack him up so far?! My brain is starting to hurt thinking about it. Just can't wrap my head around it. Next time I'll have to hold off on food every 30 minutes. Maybe he won't spike like this. I'm ok with the blue number but it's probably going to get back into yellow. Tomorrow morning is going to be interesting. I won't be home to test for first 5 hours. Hopefully he will even out and stay blue? Then he can have half a unit in the morning!
 
We didn't want him to hypo. It looks like we will get our wish. His numbers are fine, and he may still drop again (if you stop the snacks). Regardless nice numbers - enjoy this cycle!
 
No snacks since 9:45. He's snoozing on the table with his trusty scratcher board pillow. haha Silly boy.
 
420 AMPS. Gave 2.75 units. Hopefully he'll be OK. DH is going to check around +4.
I think he will be fine but I don't have much faith in my predictions anymore. I should be home around +6.
 
To be fair, he hasn't been very predictable lately..:mad: But you are getting lots of data. Now we know shooting a number like 155 doesn't automatically give you a food spike and higher numbers. Last night's cycle was a little scary, but he stayed in safe levels and then bounced this am. So maybe you can try that again if you can steer the cycle, but a little less if you want more calm.

It would be nice if he would hit a plateau - I am thinking around 2/2.5 where he flattens out, even stays a little higher overall without bouncing and you get a break. Or a bit of a drastic move - you could drop to 2 units for a few cycles and see what he does? Then increase a little as needed. It is just so much easier to increase than decrease.....l
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top