Restart-up to 4 units.

Status
Not open for further replies.

StephG

Very Active Member
New thread:
Ok so I tested at 2 hours after eating and it's 465! 304 point spike! Should I wait another half hour or just give him the shot now? And should I give 4.25 or just try the 4 units?
 
Yes, I'd think you could shoot now. His higher levels are most likely because it has been 14 hours since his last shot, and may be a bounce from a lower level than he was used to. I would go with 4 units and plan to get a before bed test and maybe a mid cycle test. Sound reasonable?
 
Yes, I'd think you could shoot now. His higher levels are most likely because it has been 14 hours since his last shot, and may be a bounce from a lower level than he was used to. I would go with 4 units and plan to get a before bed test and maybe a mid cycle test. Sound reasonable?
Definitely! Thank you for the guidance!
 
Ok so he is at 257 now +12 from shot. I'm not sure how much insulin I should give... I'm thinking 3 units? Schedule has changed and I am home all day so I can monitor.
 
it is very hard to decide how much to go down. Since you can monitor, 3 seems good. It might be a higher flatter cycle bounce from yesterday.

Wonderful to see you might have reached his spot and some reductions rather than increases might be in order.
 
it is very hard to decide how much to go down. Since you can monitor, 3 seems good. It might be a higher flatter cycle bounce from yesterday.

Wonderful to see you might have reached his spot and some reductions rather than increases might be in order.
He's 157 at +3... I'm going to test again in 15 minutes to see how far he's going and if he's going down too quick I'll give some food.
 
That seems to be dropping fairly fast. Some food might be a good idea - not too much. Hope he will surf along for awhile. I will be in and out today, but you know what to do if he drops into the 50s - high carb gravy (a little bit at a time) retest in 20 minutes, rinse and repeat until you have three rising tests. If you get nervous and no one is on here, post on Health and someone will support you.
 
Holy cow. 8am: 302 9:50am: 157 10:05am: 131 10:10am: 108 10:26am: 102 10:30am 91 10:35am: 100 11:05am: 140
That got a bit scary. I wonder how high the higher carb food will take him. He had a little over 1/4 can.
 
Last edited:
Hey Steph what meter are you using? And can you add that to your signature as that will help others help guide you.

If you are using a human meter, maybe next time he has a rapid drop but still in safe numbers, try just LC food to help flatten him out and save the HC for when he goes too low,50 on human meter and 68 on pet meter.
 
Hey Steph what meter are you using? And can you add that to your signature as that will help others help guide you.

If you are using a human meter, maybe next time he has a rapid drop but still in safe numbers, try just LC food to help flatten him out and save the HC for when he goes too low,50 on human meter and 68 on pet meter.
Using accu-chek aviva. He was dropping so quick I got nervous
 
Using accu-chek aviva. He was dropping so quick I got nervous
Oh, I understand that. We have all been there. All the data you get is good data to see how Chuck responds to food when steering. I keep that info right in the cell with the BG number so it helps me to know how much of what LC or MC or HC I gave and then I can see how much it steered for the next reading. Or you can keep track of the food amounts and kind in your comment section.
 
That is a good idea. So if this is a bounce or high from the extra food should I give the 4 units tonight or go lower?
 
Ouch! What is Chuck up to!
I believe if it's a bounce to go lower or keep the same dose but I'd double check that so you are happy to proceed.
 
Ouch! What is Chuck up to!
I believe if it's a bounce to go lower or keep the same dose but I'd double check that so you are happy to proceed.
Ok So maybe 3 again? I'll check his bg again in about half an hour and shoot at 630. He will probably be above 500 but his extra food was around 10ish so it's been plenty long enough to not be a food spike. I would say it's a bounce.
 
If it were my kitty I'd be giving the 3 but it's up to you. :)

If you look at Tempests SS near the start you can see a few times I've ignored the bounce and given the same dose but Ecid as you know. It so hard not to give more when you see it but it did work for me and eventually she cleared it.
 
I will probably give 3 unless his bg is below 400 (doubtful) if it's below 400 I'll give 2.

Sounds good to me! I definitely see a difference there, I know you had one black but slowly improving keeping fingers crossed for a yellow for you :)
 
Sounds good to me! I definitely see a difference there, I know you had one black but slowly improving keeping fingers crossed for a yellow for you :)
This cat... I'll tell ya what. I just checked his sugar and it went down, only 2 points, but down. He's at 468 now. I can wait another 45 minutes to feed him and shoot him to see if it goes down any further... Should I?
LOL I don't think I'll EVER get the hang of this! He definitely fits right in with the bouncing kitties.
 
2 points I'd say don't count as the bg meters vary slightly so that's the same number if you know what I mean? I'd probably not wait but you can if you want to :)
 
The higher numbers in today's cycle were a combo of a bounce from a lower AMPS and the HC food Chuck got today. I think he is likely to be in the high reds to black tonight and if that's the case, I would shoot at least 3.75 IF you are able to monitor tonight and have plenty of strips and HC food or syrup but I doubt if you would need them. Get the PMPS at the time he is due and there is no reason to wait on feeding and shooting at that time as he is in higher numbers.

The 2 points is not significant at all. It's a 20% variance + or - with the meters.
 
Ok to be safe I gave him 3.25 units. I will monitor. I have enough stuff to monitor him but I get so freaked out and don't want to risk it twice in a day. If he stays high then I'll know next time to increase. Looking at his ss, looks like he might get down into the yellows with 3.25.
 
Does the bounce usually go down on it's own or does it require the insulin? He had a big spike 2 hours after eating last night, 300 points. +1 he's 514.
 
Does the bounce usually go down on it's own or does it require the insulin? He had a big spike 2 hours after eating last night, 300 points. +1 he's 514.
The bounces can take up to 3 days or 6 cycles to clear. That is where we need to be patient and it is hard when they bounce into reds and blacks. :eek:
 
Patience has taken on a whole different level with this! Oy. He was doing good too! Live and Learn I guess... he's down to 478 so at least it's under 500! Fingers crossed for at least a pink!
 
I so get what you mean about needing patience when you have a tricky sugar cat! I think I've gotten much better at that since joining FDMB. Before joining I'd agonize over numbers every time I had to do a BG curve for my vet and I did one a week for 4 months. Between BG curve days what was happening was a mystery. Now I view the numbers as a daily guide for how things are going and I'm far less frantic. I see that Teasel's numbers jump around and I know that's how his physiology works. I'm able to respond much sooner to what he's showing me and I like that. Let the Universe unfold ... :)
 
Got down to 211 last night! Up to 400 this morning. I was thinking 3 units? Any suggestions?
 
Guess today was more of the bounce or I didn't give enough insulin. I expected it to at least go DOWN but so far it hasn't.
 
PMPS was 500. I gave him 4.25 units. I hope I don't regret it. He ran high all day on 3 units.
 
3 units looked good for 257. He dropped lower than he has been, but they were safe lows. The 400 this am was 100 points higher, so yes, probably a little more than 3 might have been better. But remember, you don't know this stuff until you try out a dose, and you have to temper increases and decreases with your life and ability to monitor. The 4.25 probably will be fine, but I'd plan to monitor.

The thing I want to hold on to is that you are finally seeing some yellows and blues. That is a big change!
 
Down to 270 a +4... Might see a blue number tonight! Will check again in an hour to make sure he's not dropping too fast!
 
He was 190 @ 5:40am and when checked at 6am he was 248. Strange but wonder if it was a bit of a bounce. DH only gave him 0.5 units because we can't monitor. I will be able to check around +8/+9. I'm so scared of him going too low when we aren't home! If he's high around pmps we can feed and shoot a half hour early.
 
More excitement than those black and red cycles day after day! But a little scarier. I'd say the insulin works, your dose is good but when it's gone, it's gone and he rises. And the bounce thing.

Your plan makes sense, staying on the side of safety, always.
 
That's what I thought. Once his body uses up the insulin, that's it. I don't think his pancreas is producing any at this point.
Do you think his late Nadir is due to the dose being too high or does that really not matter that much as long as his numbers are good?
I've seen the 13/11 or 11/13 schedule work for others. I figured we would be able to tell if that's necessary once we get him to stay blue consistently, haha if that ever happens.
 
The 13/11 could work - if he is consistently lower for one preshot than the other. And if the pre shot is low for a few cycles and unshootable, then yes, maybe reduce a smidge. But I think not until you really see a pattern.
 
Ok friends! He's at 481 tonight. I'm thinking 3.5 or 3.75 units... thoughts? I'll be here to monitor.
update: I gave him 3.5 units. Thinking he'll get to yellows and maybe a couple blues. Going to check him at +3
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top