Definitely! Thank you for the guidance!Yes, I'd think you could shoot now. His higher levels are most likely because it has been 14 hours since his last shot, and may be a bounce from a lower level than he was used to. I would go with 4 units and plan to get a before bed test and maybe a mid cycle test. Sound reasonable?
He's 157 at +3... I'm going to test again in 15 minutes to see how far he's going and if he's going down too quick I'll give some food.it is very hard to decide how much to go down. Since you can monitor, 3 seems good. It might be a higher flatter cycle bounce from yesterday.
Wonderful to see you might have reached his spot and some reductions rather than increases might be in order.
Using accu-chek aviva. He was dropping so quick I got nervousHey Steph what meter are you using? And can you add that to your signature as that will help others help guide you.
If you are using a human meter, maybe next time he has a rapid drop but still in safe numbers, try just LC food to help flatten him out and save the HC for when he goes too low,50 on human meter and 68 on pet meter.
Oh, I understand that. We have all been there. All the data you get is good data to see how Chuck responds to food when steering. I keep that info right in the cell with the BG number so it helps me to know how much of what LC or MC or HC I gave and then I can see how much it steered for the next reading. Or you can keep track of the food amounts and kind in your comment section.Using accu-chek aviva. He was dropping so quick I got nervous
Ok So maybe 3 again? I'll check his bg again in about half an hour and shoot at 630. He will probably be above 500 but his extra food was around 10ish so it's been plenty long enough to not be a food spike. I would say it's a bounce.Ouch! What is Chuck up to!
I believe if it's a bounce to go lower or keep the same dose but I'd double check that so you are happy to proceed.
I will probably give 3 unless his bg is below 400 (doubtful) if it's below 400 I'll give 2.
This cat... I'll tell ya what. I just checked his sugar and it went down, only 2 points, but down. He's at 468 now. I can wait another 45 minutes to feed him and shoot him to see if it goes down any further... Should I?Sounds good to me! I definitely see a difference there, I know you had one black but slowly improving keeping fingers crossed for a yellow for you![]()
The bounces can take up to 3 days or 6 cycles to clear. That is where we need to be patient and it is hard when they bounce into reds and blacks.Does the bounce usually go down on it's own or does it require the insulin? He had a big spike 2 hours after eating last night, 300 points. +1 he's 514.
I will be able to check at +4 or +5. I don't want to risk going too low because I might get tied up and not get back til +6.I think that's fine. Will you be home to monitor today?