Katsallday
Member Since 2021
What do I shoot?
Tuna is headed towards a hypo right now, 65 at +3
His PMPS was 137 so we only pushed a drop! I just gave him a teaspoon of wet dm, now I have to worry about hypo and pancreatitis too![]()
Will do, he seems fine but hungry. Following my vets advice I lowered his food amount but now he's super hungryResponding in latest thread.
65 is a safe-enough number. Test again in half an hour?
Is the DM regular DM or DM Selects? The former is 6% carbs. The latter is 10%Will do, he seems fine but hungry. Following my vets advice I lowered his food amount but now he's super hungry
I actually shoot at 3am and do PS at 2:30am. My fiance is a server in a restaurant that stays open very late and I have a panic disorder I couldn't shoot the insulin if my life depended on it lol! So it's up to him, he leaves for work at 3pm and gets home at 3am. My hero!Hi, did you get another test?
Btw, I'm curious about why you shoot at 2am! That's the middle of the night!![]()
She wanted me to reduce because of the Pancreatitis and vomit but only for one day and yep he's overweightIs the DM regular DM or DM Selects? The former is 6% carbs. The latter is 10%
Why did the vet ask you to reduce his food amount? Is he overweight?
Charting it right now!Did you manage to get a +3.5?
Its crazy how many reductions I've had recently, even with this pancreatitis! You would think pancreatitis would make it all worse?Wonderful cycle!
Am going to tag @Deb & Wink to help you with dosing. You can probably go down to 0.10U.
Do you think I can push 0.10u with u-40 syringes with no half unit markings? I spent all my money and then some at the vet yesterdayWonderful cycle!
Am going to tag @Deb & Wink to help you with dosing. You can probably go down to 0.10U.
I've never heard of this. Usually with pancreatitis you're struggling to maintain enough calories and at risk for fatty liver disease. I don't have experience with vomiting due to pancreatitis (my girl had the nausea but no vomiting) but I would think smaller, frequent meals would do better than reducing food altogether?She wanted me to reduce because of the Pancreatitis and vomit but only for one day and yep he's overweight
You would think...but Mr kitty's numbers magically improved when he had his last bout. I explicable and I've been pondering it for months nowIts crazy how many reductions I've had recently, even with this pancreatitis! You would think pancreatitis would make it all worse?
I just looked at your spreadsheet wow! Immediately blue! I did a drop dose today and I'm sure without intervention tuna would have went hypo. I kept giving him bites of his wet DM, not only because of the falling number but also because his diet was so reduced. I don't think half a can of food for a day is too smart for an 18 lb catYou would think...but Mr kitty's numbers magically improved when he had his last bout. I explicable and I've been pondering it for months now
Since you say you ( your wonderful S.O. actually) were able to give Tuna a one drop dose, you should be able to keep using the U40 syringes. Just ask your significant other to try and be consistent with that tiny dose.Do you think I can push 0.10u with u-40 syringes with no half unit markings? I spent all my money and then some at the vet yesterday
He has only vomited the one time (3 piles though) 2 days ago at +6 and the diarrhea has stopped and today's whole cycle looks like a normal cats cycle with no insulin! I can't believe it!!!!!Since you say you ( your wonderful S.O. actually) were able to give Tuna a one drop dose, you should be able to keep using the U40 syringes. Just ask your significant other to try and be consistent with that tiny dose.
Are you able to draw the insulin into the syringe, but not inject it yourself? That could help your very tired partner from having to measure that dose after a long day at work.
With those low pre-shot BG numbers, it’s better to stall. But maybe not an option since your SO is the one to give the actual shot. In that case, you may decide to skip the shot instead.
Lack of appetite and/ or the vomiting could be the cause for the low BG numbers.
If you can slowly get Tuna to shed some of that excess weight, that will help with the diabetes too.
It's in the 130s right now which has kinda broken my heart a bit. I felt for the first time today some semblance of control and poof all gone with a 130 BGJust saw this. It's probably the food causing the bump. When did he eat it.
Looks like you skipped which is good
What about his super low preshots? If he's running at 120 and I drop dose him he will probably go hypo. The drop dose I did with a PS of 138 put him in hypo territory. Gave him high calorie gravy to keep him in the 70s.do I risk the hypo and do a drop?Health issues like pancreatitis can raise BG, so that's probably partially it. But the other issues is no shots...even though his numbers are good, his pancreas still isn't fully functional (especially with pancreatitis). So while it might fire up for a cycle or two, it wears out and sputters after that.
It's why we recommend holding drop doses for as long as you can before doing OTJ trial, to give the pancreas time to completely heal. Anecdotally, the drop doses help with creating a strong remission.
High carb dry can affect numbers for longer. Give it till tomorrow to get out of his system and see how he's doing.What about his super low preshots? If he's running at 120 and I drop dose him he will probably go hypo. The drop dose I did with a PS of 138 put him in hypo territory. Gave him high calorie gravy to keep him in the 70s.do I risk the hypo and do a drop?
You want to keep him in the greens as long as possible. I know you have anxiety, so perhaps try to gradually lower the point at which you intervene.What about his super low preshots? If he's running at 120 and I drop dose him he will probably go hypo. The drop dose I did with a PS of 138 put him in hypo territory. Gave him high calorie gravy to keep him in the 70s.do I risk the hypo and do a drop?
Yay! What did the trick? How about the other 3?Tuna hasn't had diarrhea in 24 hours woohoo!
I have no idea what fixed him, but most of my other pets seem to have it as well, including my dog?! It's very strange. Tuna has been in isolation for a few days, maybe giardia? I hope not thoughYay! What did the trick? How about the other 3?
Try a drop dose. Better if you have to juggle lower numbers now than early in the morning?Does hills dry glucosupport have a staying power past 14 hours? Idk if I should do a drop dose with an amps of 146 or see if he clears this?
Actually I stalled and it's at 126 now, looks like he's clearing that bounce! Phew! I'm going to go donate that bag of dry food today so there's no more stealingTry a drop dose. Better if you have to juggle lower numbers now than early in the morning?
How are you measuring a drop dose?
"I put the lowest amount possible in the syringe" from my fiance lolActually I stalled and it's at 126 now, looks like he's clearing that bounce! Phew! I'm going to go donate that bag of dry food today so there's no more stealing
To measure a drop dose, push the plunger of the empty syringe in fully, keep it pressed and insert in the pen. Let go of the pressure on the plunger and it will draw a drop. When you insert the needle into Tuna, push the plunger and count to ten if he will let you."I put the lowest amount possible in the syringe" from my fiance lol
He's gone til 2am now but I will let him know! I've been letting him graze on his food these past few days as well. I saw someone mention that it's better for sugar cats. He seems to like it better this way!To measure a drop dose, push the plunger of the empty syringe in fully, keep it pressed and insert in the pen. Let go of the pressure on the plunger and it will draw a drop. When you insert the needle into Tuna, push the plunger and count to ten if he will let you.
You are probably shooting 0.10U rather than a drop!

+3 was 73!!!!!!!!! AhhhUpdate: +2 was 99!!![]()
when do you think an OTJ trial should be conducted for tuna?He's looking good!
I would wait to see what his numbers are tonight. If blue again, you might want to look at giving him a drop dose for a few days to see if you can reduce the blues.when do you think an OTJ trial should be conducted for tuna?
I'm so excited! His numbers so far tonight have been lovely! I am knocking on wood though but I get to call my vet tomorrow and tell them "ha you suck the forum works" because I told the second vet about you guys and they said " most of those sites are just quack jobs" I'm SO HAPPY to prove them wrong! My third vet is more open to the forum so I'll be very pleased to show her the new numbers as well! I'm so grateful to you and everyone who has helped me here! II would wait to see what his numbers are tonight. If blue again, you might want to look at giving him a drop dose for a few days to see if you can reduce the blues.
They are indeed! You are feeding DM or DM Selects? Will he not eat any other canned food?His numbers so far tonight have been lovely!
I'd like to try fancy feast or friskies, I don't think he likes the tikicat so much. What flavor do you recommend in them? I was doing normal DM not selectsThey are indeed! You are feeding DM or DM Selects? Will he not eat any other canned food?
DM is 6%, DM Selects is 10%. I'm curious about whether he will do better on a lower carb food - Fancy Feast / Friskies / Tiki Cat lower carb versions.
I'm going to tag @PerfumedCatMom who is the food expertI'd like to try fancy feast or friskies, I don't think he likes the tikicat so much. What flavor do you recommend in them?
Thank you!!I'm going to tag @PerfumedCatMom who is the food expert![]()


He's feeling great! He even went crazy with a toy, like more so then I've seen in months! He even had a beautiful poop! Like A++ perfect poop LMAOHow is he feeling today?
Hi Katrina! Lovely numbers from Tuna! I agree with @Bandit's Mom that Tuna still needs insulin. Please look at Ruby's spreadsheet and her numbers from the past few days (ignore the yellows and blues, those are from her tummy flares that make her BGs spike). What you see are all greens, numbers between 50 and 80./QUOTE]