? Requesting dose advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Airway

Member Since 2013
Orion was doing fantastic with blues but then gave me a 300 last night that was a bit discouraging. I'd appreciate some thoughts on the 2u dose and whether we should keep it or change it. He's been on Lantus one week now. Thanks!
 
Are you following SLGS or Tight Regulation? It will help us give dosing suggestions if we know which one, as the answer to your question will vary depending on which method you are using. If you put TR or SLGS in your signature, then we can stop asking that question.
 
I'm following TR. I will add to my signature.

Are you following SLGS or Tight Regulation? It will help us give dosing suggestions if we know which one, as the answer to your question will vary depending on which method you are using. If you put TR or SLGS in your signature, then we can stop asking that question.
 
Hi there and congrats for getting through your first week on Lantus ! With that nice green of 62 on March 17 PM cycle, you would hold this dose. The numbers since have reflected a bounce which can take up to 6 cycles to clear and today is cycle 5 So, le's t see if Orion can get back to a green on this dose.

From the Lantus Sticky for TR

INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
I'm not sure how to identify a bounce. Are you saying 3/18 was a bounce because he stayed blue all day?

The numbers since have reflected a bounce which can take up to 6 cycles to clear and today is cycle 5 So, le's t see if Orion can get back to a green on this dose
 
Are you saying 3/18 was a bounce because he stayed blue all day?
Orion went lower on the night of 3/17 (good catch by the way), then did a flat blue. I can see one of two possible scenarios that followed that. Sometimes flat blue cycles preceed a cycle where they go low, so he could have gone low again the night of the 18th, but we don't know as there were no tests. By the way, with TR, you should have gotten a second test that night. His response on 3/19 definitely looks like a bounce.

The other possibility is that Orion was just bouncing to that green on the 17th. Some kitties (including mine) don't bounce the cycle following, but rather wait a cycle to start bouncing. Neko's worst part of the bounce was always 3 cycles after the low number and she often did a flat blue cycle after a low number.

Regardless, I agree with Bobbie that you hold the dose for now and wait to see where he goes when the bounce clears.

BTW, the reason I was asking SLGS vs TR, is that for SLGS you would have lowered the dose.

And for continuity, here is your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/orion-is-feeling-blue.175011/ We add those links so people can follow back and see what was said previously.
 
No biggie!

Can I still follow TR if there are some nights I can't get a mid cycle number? I'm doing the best I can with sleeping 10-12 hours per night.



Sorry, I had already fixed the post to reflect Orion's name, not yours.
 
it counts even if you can get a +2 which is a good indicator as to whether it's going to be an active cycle and monitoring more often is necessary.

I had to think hard to adjust my shot time so that I got optimum tests....
so if shot time is at 6 pm.... you should be able to get a +2 or maybe even a +4 if you go to bed at 10pm.....

you will likely have some interrupted sleep treating a diabetic cat....
 
and test longer if necessary .
you will likely have some interrupted sleep treating a diabetic cat....
@Bobbie And Bubba
@rhiannon and shadow (GA)
Airway has listed in her profile that she caannot stay up for medical reasons. So in her case, the +2 would be a good indicator whether she had to leave high carb food out for the night. Same issue people have when they go to work for the day. In which case, an autofeeder may also be your friend.
 
OK, that's definitive, he wants a reduction to 1.75 units. Good catch! :D:eek:

I'd give him a couple tsps of high carb food, and test in 1/2 hour to make sure he's coming up.
 
It's easier for us to see what's happening if the data is in the cells for the hours. Cause if you put it in the remarks, some of us will miss it. Like me. :oops: Glad he's coming up for you.
 
Ok, I will do that in the future. His preshot is 102. I gave him 1.75u and will set him up with his new auto feeder before I go to sleep.

It's easier for us to see what's happening if the data is in the cells for the hours. Cause if you put it in the remarks, some of us will miss it. Like me. :oops: Glad he's coming up for you.
 
+2 tonight is 91. He's set up with 2 small meals in his auto feeder overnight. He also has eaten in the last hour.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top