Request for help - bg dropping fast. EDIT resolved

Status
Not open for further replies.
For reference, these are the ones you want for Lantus:

upload_2023-4-2_15-39-46.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-4-2_15-39-46.jpeg
    upload_2023-4-2_15-39-46.jpeg
    98.8 KB · Views: 158
Thank you! I will make sure to pick these up at the same time.

Worried about direction blood sugar is headed (worrying about blood sugar has apparently become my new hobby) but not surprised that it's higher at this point.
@Christie & Maverick , it looks like it's going to head high her by preshot (last reading 243 at +9). As the 1.25-1.5U (I tried to hit 1.25 but the syringe is imprecise) caused it to drop so quickly, is dropping back to .5u still your thought on this?
 
You could try 1u if you are able to test a little tonight and see how that is working. I suspect in the am cycle today with a human meter would have earned a reduction anyway to 1u. If you have been tapering down the pred as you should before going off it completely, that may be influencing her BG levels. This is only based on my knowledge gained here on the forum, but no direct experience with Vetsulin. I wouldn’t shoot more than 1u if it were my cat.
 
Thank you Christi.

At this point and because it's overnight, I'm inclined go between .5-.75 (because the syringes I got are ridiculous - why not have smaller marks?) to start back lower and then work our way up. I think your thought that the tapering pre could be influencing things makes sense.

I've been reading about the Alpha Trak and differences between a pet meter and a human meter. Another member is this thread said this:

We were at an appointment and he tested Cleo on his alphatrak 2-(AT2) -bg 352, then my freestyle lite human meter - BG 272.

So my understanding is that the numbers between the two types of meters separate more as the numbers get higher, with the pet meters reading higher.

About to pre-test. I just realized that because I'm allowing 30 minutes for a meal and I want to keep the timing of the shots 12 hours a part, I my pre-shot test is really at the +11.5 mark.

This whole weekend has been a learning curve.
 
The difference between the high numbers don’t matter so much because high is high. It’s the low numbers that are important so I’m glad we intervened with the food on the 97 because it may likely have been lower than 90 on a human meter. It sounds like the .5-.75 is what you’re comfortable with and that’s okay. Is still try to get a +2 if you can before going to bed to see how this dose is working for her. You got this!
 
But yes, bigger difference as numbers get higher than on the low numbers. Just so you know even between human meters there’s always a variance of about 20%. Even if you test twice with the same meter, you can still see a difference of about 15-20%
 
Thank you all.


I stalled while we sorted the syringe thing out in the other thread, so the does will be 45 minutes late. 350 pre shot, which isn't awful considering (and from what I've learned now about the AT - thank you).

I'm considering aiming at just below 1, although I will note that her evening does of predisolone is less than the morning one (will put that in the notes to help track).
 
I know this thread is far longer that it needs to be but I'm going to carry on with it for a couple of other posts before starting another.

+2 at 272. Higher but less scary than this morning's drop. I think I'm safe to let us both sleep and wake up for a +5.

She's being so good about the constant ear pricking, but she clearly doesn't like it. My sweet girl.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top