Request Dosing Guidance Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

G & I

Active Member
It is 10:50 pm Japan Standard Time. As noted in the ss, pmps is 234 (I double checked as initial reading was 224 which was identical to the +8.50 reading 2 hours ago). Today we have finally nudged Goma into movement, and, being the newbie that I am, would appreciate guidance on correct way to proceed with pm injection. I fed her small amount at +8.50 and I have fed her just now as I always do at night between the pre-shot bg test and insulin injection.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Thank you in advance.
 
It is 10:50 pm Japan Standard Time. As noted in the ss, pmps is 234 (I double checked as initial reading was 224 which was identical to the +8.50 reading 2 hours ago). Today we have finally nudged Goma into movement, and, being the newbie that I am, would appreciate guidance on correct way to proceed with pm injection. I fed her small amount at +8.50 and I have fed her just now as I always do at night between the pre-shot bg test and insulin injection.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Thank you in advance.
Great progress! If you're feeling brave and ready to intervene with snacks if necessary I suggest you keep the 2.75 u dose. You need to get her into lower numbers more consistently and that requires some (stressful) experimentation. We need to know if this is an early exaggerated response to the new dose or if she truly is moving down into a lower BG range.
 
Yes, I agree with Kris. If you can, I would recommend holding the dose. However, i understand that it's nighttime and it doesn't look like you've slept well the past two nights. If you need to drop back to 2.5u so you can sleep, it's okay. You'll still need to get a test around +2 or +3 regardless since this is the lowest PS you've had so far. So glad to see her moving again!
 
Great progress! If you're feeling brave and ready to intervene with snacks if necessary I suggest you keep the 2.75 u dose. You need to get her into lower numbers more consistently and that requires some (stressful) experimentation. We need to know if this is an early exaggerated response to the new dose or if she truly is moving down into a lower BG range.
How often should I be checking during the night? I have no problem with the suggestion and agreement of @Djamila. There is no where to take her but if you feel that I have the ability to keep her safe with things (food items) I have around the house I mentioned in other posts then another sleepless night is okay. The last yellow (amps on the 11th) went okay as long as I fed her every couple hours to keep her at an even keel.
 
Last edited:
How often should I be checking during the night? I have no problem with the suggestion and agreement of @Djamila. There is no where to take her but if you feel that I have the ability to keep her safe with things (food items) I have around the house I mentioned in other posts then another sleepless night is okay. The last yellow (amps on the 11th) went okay as long as I fed her every couple hours to keep her at an even keel.
We usually suggest a +2 or +3 test because those can show you whether she might go quite low at nadir. If the +2 especially is similar or slightly higher than the PS the cycle ahead is likely to be uneventful - ie. flat or only small dip to nadir. If it's significantly lower than PS (50+ points) that can be a sign that she might dip fairly low at nadir and you'll want to be ready to monitor more and intervene with snacks. You can try giving a small (1-2 tsp) snack after the +2 test if it's quite a bit lower. That can prevent a more drastic drop. These are all general recommendations and descriptions of what we usually see. Cats sometimes have their own ideas about all this though!

As time goes on and you see more of these situations and get through them using what you've learned I think you'll be less worried about having vet backup. You'll have the confidence to negotiate these lower BG ranges and keep her from a symptomatic hypo even if you do have to white knuckle your way past a lime green number or two. We all had to learn this and monitoring the way we do and using food when needed to control BG means that few of us ever have to cart kitty off to the vet with a dangerous hypo. That tends to happen more often when the cat isn't being monitored at home. Of course, nothing is carved in stone but learning to deal with a tiny bit of risk and extra stress is the key to getting Goma into more regulated BG. You're well on your way I think! :)
 
We usually suggest a +2 or +3 test because those can show you whether she might go quite low at nadir. If the +2 especially is similar or slightly higher than the PS the cycle ahead is likely to be uneventful - ie. flat or only small dip to nadir. If it's significantly lower than PS (50+ points) that can be a sign that she might dip fairly low at nadir and you'll want to be ready to monitor more and intervene with snacks. You can try giving a small (1-2 tsp) snack after the +2 test if it's quite a bit lower. That can prevent a more drastic drop. These are all general recommendations and descriptions of what we usually see. Cats sometimes have their own ideas about all this though!

As time goes on and you see more of these situations and get through them using what you've learned I think you'll be less worried about having vet backup. You'll have the confidence to negotiate these lower BG ranges and keep her from a symptomatic hypo even if you do have to white knuckle your way past a lime green number or two. We all had to learn this and monitoring the way we do and using food when needed to control BG means that few of us ever have to cart kitty off to the vet with a dangerous hypo. That tends to happen more often when the cat isn't being monitored at home. Of course, nothing is carved in stone but learning to deal with a tiny bit of risk and extra stress is the key to getting Goma into more regulated BG. You're well on your way I think! :)
Okay I appreciate all this - And I was getting ready to give her the 2.75u (which I will now). I took a moment and ran two more tests - pmps will now be 409 and not 234. Readings were 409 and 434.

My sincere apologies for starting this thread this evening. I hope you and @Djamila have a good day.
 
Okay I appreciate all this - And I was getting ready to give her the 2.75u (which I will now). I took a moment and ran two more tests - pmps will now be 409 and not 234. Readings were 409 and 434.

My sincere apologies for starting this thread this evening. I hope you and @Djamila have a good day.
No apologies need! We're here to help. :) She might well be on her way up into a bounce but that shouldn't change the plan for tonight.
 
No apologies need! We're here to help. :) She might well be on her way up into a bounce but that shouldn't change the plan for tonight.
As always - you have been extremely helpful. I was testing to be sure she hadn't gone lower. I sincerely hope this is not the beginning of a bounce at these high numbers. Thank you again.
 
It's not unusual for cats to climb BG levels quite rapidly in that last hour, as you just saw. It may be some sort of bouncing, but more likely the previous dose just petered out right there at the end. Testing again like that is really helpful when you're nervous about a dose. It will show you if the BG is still dropping, or has started to rise, and that can help be more comfortable with a dose.

Regardless, it is still nice to see some movement on her spreadsheet from today! I hope you can Goma both sleep well tonight!
 
It's not unusual for cats to climb BG levels quite rapidly in that last hour, as you just saw. It may be some sort of bouncing, but more likely the previous dose just petered out right there at the end. Testing again like that is really helpful when you're nervous about a dose. It will show you if the BG is still dropping, or has started to rise, and that can help be more comfortable with a dose.

Regardless, it is still nice to see some movement on her spreadsheet from today! I hope you can Goma both sleep well tonight!
I hope you don't grow tired of hearing this - Thank you for being there for us...
 
I hope you don't grow tired of hearing this - Thank you for being there for us...

I feel the same way! I continue to be so thankful for this community and for all of the help and support. Even though this is my second round of FD, I still check in with folks when I'm making decisions and feel uncertain. And often just for moral support when things aren't going well, or celebration when they are. In no time at all you'll be giving help and support for new folks as they join and begin learning all of the ins and outs of this dance!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top