Repost from PZI Group: CRAZY HIGH NUMBERS!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harper'sHuman

Member Since 2012
Hello, all. I just posted this in the PZI group, but I'd like to repost here, as well. I hope that's okay:
Hello, I am Pamela and my DC is Harper. He was just diagnosed 6 weeks ago and is on ProZinc. I'm getting scary high numbers the last couple of days and think it may be rebound, but I'm not sure. I know I'm about to write WAY too much, but I'm afraid I'll unknowingly leave out something important, so y'all please bear with me! At diagnosis, Harp spent almost two weeks at the vet trying to get regulated, with between 2-3 units ProZinc twice a day most days, sometimes none if he was too low. His numbers were all over the place - anywhere from high 400's down to 40! When I brought him home, I was testing twice and day and calling the vet for dosage, ranging from around 0 to 1.5 units depending on the BG readings. At first, morning readings were in the 300's, evenings in the 40's. After about a week, they started creeping into 400's, AM and PM. The vet consulted a specialist here in Atlanta who recommended 1 unit twice a day, with once weekly testing, and try it for a month. Well, I couldn't bear not knowing, so tested a few times that week - between mid 300's - mid 400's. A week ago, the vet recommended starting him on 2 units twice a day since his numbers were creeping up, with pre-shot tests. Now he's up to over 500! Yesterday when I tested him after work it was 674! I gave him the 2 units, tested at +3 (i think that means 3 hours later, still figuring out the lingo) and got 399, then again at +6 and got 179. This morning he was 386, I gave him 2 units, and he was 608 when I got home. This is much higher than when the day he was diagnosed! He's eating little over one large can of wet food most days, 8% carbs. He desperately needs to gain some weight, but some days he doesn't want to eat very much. Also, since I went to 2 units, he's vomited several times, which he did not do at all on the lower doses. So basically, the higher the insulin, the higher the BG, the worse he feels. He is 8 years old and has no other health problems, never sick a day in his life until this. Does this sound like somogyi rebound? Has anyone had a similar experience? I'm thinking I'm not going to give him any insulin this evening and test again about midnight. Based on what's going on it seems like going lower (much lower, like .5 twice a day) would be the next logical step. I've faxed his weekly report to the vet and expect to speak with her tomorrow, but I was hoping to get some advice in the meantime.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top