Replacement for a/d?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joanj

Member Since 2018
I got 2 cans of a/d from the Vet Hospital to syringe feed Lucy but I'm now giving her the last of it. Is there a better than average pate I could make my own syringe food with? How much should I be aiming for in cc's?

I've been adding a little of the pates I'm trying with chicken broth to stretch the a/d. Is this a good idea? She can't have any Lantus right now as her BG is too low.

I'm told until she starts eating, I won't see good, consistent numbers but, even tho on anti-nausea and appetites stimulant, she just won't eat on her own.

Also, does 100% pumpkin help cats with upset tummies like it does for dogs?
 
Last edited:
Hi,
I am sorry Lucy is still not eating ...
Is there a better than average pate I could make my own syringe food with?
HERE is the Dr. Lisa Pierson's Chart - anything below 10% carbs is OK for diabetics.
My cat was fed Friskies Classic Pates but I cannot call it "better than average "quality wise. (eta:I'd try it for Lucy anyway - poultry variety).

Take a look at Soulistic brand in the Chart - they make Chicken and Turkey Pate and Shreds canned food @Petco - acceptable cal. composition and the texture mostly like pate with a little shreds of white chicken meat.
Also, does 100% pumpkin help cats with upset tummies like it does for dogs?
Pumpkin helps with both - diarrhea and constipation.
pates I'm trying with chicken broth
It is good idea IF the broth does not contain onions or garlic - these are toxic for cats.
 
She can't have any Lantus right now as her BG is too low.
It is good to see her in good numbers without a dose.
Could you test her BG 3 hours after her eating - it would be interesting to see if she lowers without the dose by that time.

I believe you were testing for ketones at home, is that right?
It is not unheard of that cats in good numbers throw ketones - please keep checking it. Better to stay on top of things due to recent DKA and dose skipping.

Hopefully someone will weigh in with good idea for food.
If you do not have responses - reply to your own post periodically to bump it up to the top of the Board to catch more eyes.

Sending good appy wishes to Lucy!
 
It is good to see her in good numbers without a dose.
Could you test her BG 3 hours after her eating - it would be interesting to see if she lowers without the dose by that time.
!

So you think 106 and 102 are good numbers. I'll test again 3 hours after eating and see which direction we're going.
 
Excellent. Always between 50 - 120 on human meter is the goal.

just to mention: no dose=no Hypo so not to worry if she lowers.


ETA: I do not see 102 in the SS, just 106 as AMPS

I added it out in remarks. I wasn't sure where to put the BG if I didn't give a shot. Just put 0 in insulin place and then put on the sheet in the hour it would have been if shot was given?
 
Just put 0 in insulin place and then put on the sheet in the hour it would have been if shot was given?
That's right - 0 or NS (No Shot) in the dose column and the reading goes in to the cell for the hour it was taken in just as if gave the shot.
Right now the +3 shows 102. If it was 3 hours after what would have being her shot time then you placed it correctly.

The one thing that needs to be changed is that: her last shot was 24 hours ago this AMPS.
Can you add "@+24" to the cell for today's AMPS so it looks like " 106 @+24 "?
The same for the +3 - it currently shows 102. make it 102 @+3 - if you did get that 102 3 hours after the shot time.
Does it make sense? (I am not very good at explaining. )It'll be easier to note for how long she goes w/o dose.

The background color of the cell will disappear because it formatted to hold only digits but you can restore it manually (paint bucket icon on the tool bar ).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top