Parteecia
Member Since 2016
A week ago today I finally got a glucometer. After practicing on myself and my boyfriend I tested my cat Raquel ("Raqi") 3 hours after breakfast and 2.5 units of Prozinc and she was at 55. That was her last dose. Since then she has tested between 62 and and 95. I did a curve the next day and a daily pre-breakfast test since then.
How often should I test her from here on? Is there a best time? She gets a can of FF Classic Chicken Feast at 7 a.m. and 7 p.m., and a half can for lunch. Her only treat is Halo freeze dried chicken.
Longer version: she is 14 and overweight (13 lbs.) and was diagnosed on May 29th with a BG of 461 and put on 2 units of Prozinc twice a day, to be gradually raised to 3 units each time. I did some reading and switched from her lifelong dry Science Diet to FF. She improved instantly and I thought I could control it by monitoring her symptoms and behavior.
She went "drunk" hypo on her first 3 unit dose so she stayed on 2. Gradually the thirst and hind leg weakness returned so I increased her dose 0.25 units per week. When she didn't improve I finally went to Walmart for the ReliOn Prime and accessories. That may have been the best $24 I've ever spent. Her water intake has returned to normal and I've never been so happy to see her up on her haunches shredding the bedsheets.
How often should I test her from here on? Is there a best time? She gets a can of FF Classic Chicken Feast at 7 a.m. and 7 p.m., and a half can for lunch. Her only treat is Halo freeze dried chicken.
Longer version: she is 14 and overweight (13 lbs.) and was diagnosed on May 29th with a BG of 461 and put on 2 units of Prozinc twice a day, to be gradually raised to 3 units each time. I did some reading and switched from her lifelong dry Science Diet to FF. She improved instantly and I thought I could control it by monitoring her symptoms and behavior.
She went "drunk" hypo on her first 3 unit dose so she stayed on 2. Gradually the thirst and hind leg weakness returned so I increased her dose 0.25 units per week. When she didn't improve I finally went to Walmart for the ReliOn Prime and accessories. That may have been the best $24 I've ever spent. Her water intake has returned to normal and I've never been so happy to see her up on her haunches shredding the bedsheets.