Relion Prime Meter

Status
Not open for further replies.

SophiasMom

Member Since 2019
So we started testing Sophia's bg today. I got a reading within the first 30 minutes of trying. We're using the Relion Prime meter. Her first reading was at 155. I downloaded the spreadsheet for human meters and logged the reading. My question is what range are we aiming for? The test was done 10.5 hours after the AMPS. I plan to test again +2 after PMPS.

Also, I don't normally give her treats, but I gave some turkey today for holding still and to bribe her into submission. I see that a lot of people use chicken or freeze dried chicken. Is turkey lunch meat ok? It's the fancy no nitrate, no added sugar, basically turkey, turkey. It says 2% carbs and there was no seasoning on the label. No preservatives either. I think it will due for today or a few days if needed. I didn't have anything else handy.

Thanks!
 
Congratulations on your first test! 155 is a really good number to get at +10.5. I believe something like 50 to 120 is considered the 'normal' range when using a human meter. 5 units is a pretty high dose. I don't know any history on Sophia, but if her glucose is anywhere close to that at PMPS, I would not give that large dose. It could be dangerous. You mentioned that you are going to test +2 after PMPS, but are you planning to test at PMPS? It is important to test before feeding and giving the shot so that you know if it is even safe to give the shot.

Good job on setting up the spreadsheet. Could you please add a link to it in your signature so we will be able to see it as you accumulate test data?
 
Hi Heather, congratulations on your first test..and a successful one at that! Please link the spreadsheet to your signature so that we can see it all too. Just refer back to the instructions and they will tell you how.

Normal (non diabetic cat) BG with a human meter is 50-120. The ultimate goal is to attain remission, in which kitty's BG is diet controlled without insulin therapy. The next best is regulation, keeping the BG into the lower numbers successfully with insulin therapy. As FurBabiesMama told you, it would be wise to test again before shooting that high a dose of insulin. Please do that and get some input on where to go from there. It may be that Sophia's dose needs to be re-evaluated and reduced.

Yes, we do give treats for testing, whether it's a successful test or not. It's positive reinforcement and not at all harmful to kitty. That turkey lunchmeat sounds fine, and it's great that you checked before giving it to Sophia. Idjit gets pieces of cooked unseasoned chicken meat, and even though he's not a fan of testing, you better believe he sticks around for the reward treat!
 
I think the dose is way too high. My vet has had me administering insulin for over a year without testing. I put my foot down on Saturday when we went in and told her we need to reevaluate and a fructosamine test wasn't going to convince me. We go back in two weeks for blood work and vaccines. The vet wants to see the numbers and asked me to do a curve one of the days. I plan to do that this Sunday. She said it will give her a better picture of what the insulin is doing so she can adjust the dose. We will be working after that to get her off the Royal Canin food and onto a wet food diet. We are moving slow due to her UTI issues and rapid weight loss in the past. I'll link the spreadsheet when I have more info. It's just the one reading right now :).
 
Oh dear, sorry to hear that you were shooting blind all that time. I am so glad you are educating yourself, taking charge and advocating for Sophia. You can link the SS at any time, that way it's there and we can see it, even with only one reading. And that prevents others from asking you to do so too.

That 5 units is really high. Some cats are high dose cats, but that is diagnoses with special tests.

I do know that the more experienced members that would comment on dosing would want as much testing data as possible before making suggestions.

I wish you and Sophia the best as you learn, work on this and protect her. :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top