Relion premier meter

motherofjasper

Member Since 2025
Hello all,

I would like to know how to set up the Relion premier meter for my cat. I've been testing for a couple weeks now and had no idea there was a special set up involved, I've just been using it. This is in regard to a post I commented on in the Facebook group, but wanted to make my own thread and would rather do so here. Sorry I haven't added anything to the spreadsheet yet, it's very overwhelming to me. The spreadsheet that is. It is set up though just no readings on it.

Thank you
 
Last edited:
Hello all,

I would like to know how to set up the Relion premier meter for my cat. I've been testing for a couple weeks now and had no idea there was a special set up involved, I've just been using it. This is in regard to a post I commented on in the Facebook group, but wanted to make my own thread and would rather do so here. Sorry I don't have the spreadsheet set up yet it's very overwhelming to me. The spreadsheet that is .

Thank you
Hi You don't have to set up the Relion Meter at all. If you look at the manual you can set up the date and time if you want to.
Jus put the test strip in and that's it.
The only meter you would have to code is if you were using a pet meter. 😊

If you want someone to set up the spreadsheet for you just ask and I will tag one of our members for you
 
Oh ok well that's what I thought. There is someone who said it must be specifically set up for use with a cat, something about a conversion rate
 
Last edited:
Hi You don't have to set up the Relion Meter at all. If you look at the manual you can set up the date and time if you want to.
Jus put the test strip in and that's it.
The only meter you would have to code is if you were using a pet meter. 😊

If you want someone to set up the spreadsheet for you just ask and I will tag one of our members for you
Spreadsheet has been set up mostly just no readings on it atm.
 
Have you read all the yellow stickys about Lantus
Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars
Do you feed Jasper a little bit of food like a tablespoon of the wet food during each cycle and not just in the AM and PM after you test him.
Most feed about a tablespoon around +3 and +5

Just curious I see on your spreadsheet under AMPS you have 1AM is that when you test his glucose and then at PM?
 
Last edited:
Hi You don't have to set up the Relion Meter at all. If you look at the manual you can set up the date and time if you want to.
Jus put the test strip in and that's it.
The only meter you would have to code is if you were using a pet meter. 😊

If you want someone to set up the spreadsheet for you just ask and I will tag one of our members for you

Have you read all the yellow stickys about Lantus
Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars
Do you feed Jasper a little bit of food like a tablespoon of the wet food during each cycle and not just in the AM and PM after you test him.
Most feed about a tablespoon around +3 and +5

Just curious I see on your spreadsheet under AMPS you have 1AM is that when you test his glucose and then at PM?
He receives his shots at 1 am and pm. He gets 2 cans per day, half at regular feeding time and half can at shot time. His weight is good. I work second shift so this is the way I need to do it. My daughters are at home to feed while I'm at work. I try to test before each shot but not always able to. His number have historically been very high but I switched his food last weekend from hills wd to what is in my signature. Numbers have improved some. I'll write more when I get home, still at work
 
Sorry I haven't added anything to the spreadsheet yet, it's very overwhelming to me. The spreadsheet that is. It is set up though just no readings on it.
You probably know this already
There is a link understanding the spreadsheet but I'm going to explain it anyway
About the spreadsheet
AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced

Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave
+1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his _BG number
+2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto
+3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing

+1 same as you do for AM cycle

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers. 😊
 
Just want to be sure you are using the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings since we increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time smile ☺️
Yes the syringes are for u 100. Single unit markings but it's pretty easy to distinguish the half mark. Next time I order them I'll get ones with half unit marks.
 
Last edited:
You probably know this already
There is a link understanding the spreadsheet but I'm going to explain it anyway
About the spreadsheet
AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced

Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave
+1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his _BG number
+2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto
+3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing

+1 same as you do for AM cycle

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers. 😊
I think it's finally clicked in my head, thank you😛
 
His AMPS was 457 just now. Lowest pre shot BG over the past few days has been 293. He tends to be extremely sneaky and he is often caught licking something he shouldn't have or stealing a piece of food etc we've been much more diligent but it still happens. He will eat absolutely anything. That high of a number is not unusual for him. It's obviously not great either, but his BG was almost off the charts when they first tested him. Absurdly high. He is only fed at shot and halfway through, so basically he gets half can every 6 hrs, unless he steals something. Now that I understand better I'll post consistently. Thank you all for being patient and helpful.
 
Last edited:
Yes the syringes are for u 100. Single unit markings but it's pretty easy to distinguish the half mark. Next time I order them I'll get ones with half unit marks.
You can get them from Amazon without a vets script for U-100 syringes for Lantus
half unit markings without a vets script
Amazon.com: UltiCare VetRx U-100 Pet Insulin Syringes, Comfortable & Accurate Dosing of Insulin for Pets, Compatible w/Any U-100 Strength Insulin, Size: 3/10cc, 31G x 5/16’’, w/Half Unit Markings, 60 ct Box : Health & Household


If you tap on this link you get also get the Relion syringes
Also
See this post about the Relion Syringes also
New. Need help with insulin does


Here's a pic,
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:
49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg
 
Last edited:
His AMPS was 457 just now. Lowest pre shot BG over the past few days has been 293. He tends to be extremely sneaky and he is often caught licking something he shouldn't have or stealing a piece of food etc we've been much more diligent but it still happens. He will eat absolutely anything. That high of a number is not unusual for him. It's obviously not great either, but his BG was almost off the charts when they first tested him. Absurdly high. He is only fed at shot and halfway through, so basically he gets half can every 6 hrs, unless he steals something. Now that I understand better I'll post consistently. Thank you all for being patient and helpful.
You're welcome, one thing though ,I know you have to keep your shot times at 1AM and 1PM but you need to at least get one more test in during each cycle , preferably at +6 . You need to try and see how low the insulin is taking Jasper . You want to try and find the nadir, so you know when to decrease the dose.

Nadir is just a word that means the lowest point in the cycle. Some cats will nadir early at maybe +4 — four hours after the shot. Some cats around +6. With some cats it moves around.




I would definitely read about the dosing methods, I see you are following SLGS

You can read about it here
I would definitely read all the yellow stickys about Lantus
Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars

One of the yellow stickys will explain how to do a curve

Just keep asking questions

I also used to feed the Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health to Tyler.

Is there anyway you can add SLGS to your signature, that's the first thing members will look for .
Just tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add it , then tap save
If you can't fit it you can just get rid of the word meter and add SLGS
 
Last edited:
For your hypo kit in case Jasper ever drops too low, also have some karo or honey on hand
Just wanted you to know on Dr Pierson's food chart

the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast In Roasted Beef Flavor Gravy (which. Dr Pierson’s list says is 20%
It's actually 14% carbs

These are correct for med carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

You can even look at the Friskies for high carbs and med carbs, or any other food
So buy a few cans of each
Good idea to mark the cans with a marker



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
 
There is no way to calibrate or convert a Human meter for pet use. Whoever on FB told you that is wrong. As Diane said, the only thing you need to do is set the date and time on the meter and just stick a test strip in to use. Whatever the number you get on the meter is what you enter onto your spreadsheet.
 
You're welcome, one thing though ,I know you have to keep your shot times at 1AM and 1PM but you need to at least get one more test in during each cycle , preferably at +6 . You need to try and see how low the insulin is taking Jasper . You want to try and find the nadir, so you know when to decrease the dose.

Nadir is just a word that means the lowest point in the cycle. Some cats will nadir early at maybe +4 — four hours after the shot. Some cats around +6. With some cats it moves around.




I would definitely read about the dosing methods, I see you are following SLGS

You can read about it here
I would definitely read all the yellow stickys about Lantus
Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars

One of the yellow stickys will explain how to do a curve

Just keep asking questions

I also used to feed the Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health to Tyler.

Is there anyway you can add SLGS to your signature, that's the first thing members will look for .
Just tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add it , then tap save
If you can't fit it you can just get rid of the word meter and add SLGS
I will see about training one on my daughters to test, possibly. The only time I can test +6 would be on a day off, or wake up early maybe. I typically work 4 days but I'm off next 5 days so I'll have some solid BG numbers to post starting tomorrow. Have honey Karo and some hi carb food. I did a curve weekend of 15th and submitted to vet but that's when I learned she wasn't really willing to help me out with home testing unless it's with a pet meter. That was another post but looking for a new vet also. Thank you guys!
 
Before pet meters were made, vets just used Human meters and many published articles and studies on pet diabetes and home testing were done with Human meters. Why are Human meters suddenly not accurate or useful for pets?? Ask your vet that.

Hope you are able to find a new vet :bighug:
 
I will see about training one on my daughters to test, possibly. The only time I can test +6 would be on a day off, or wake up early maybe. I typically work 4 days but I'm off next 5 days so I'll have some solid BG numbers to post starting tomorrow. Have honey Karo and some hi carb food. I did a curve weekend of 15th and submitted to vet but that's when I learned she wasn't really willing to help me out with home testing unless it's with a pet meter. That was another post but looking for a new vet also. Thank you guys!
Sounds great 😃
 
Back
Top