Relion Premier Classic Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Naya1

Member Since 2022
Ive been using this meter for bit now that I've started doing home testing and I've heard people say it gives Higher numbers than what they are. should I be worried about using this meter or is it still good to use? I know human meter's tend to run higher just wanted to know if there's like a percentage to this Meter.
 
Last edited:
Ive been using this meter for bit now that I've started doing home testing and I've heard people say it gives Higher numbers than what they are.
Humn meters read a little higher than pet meters and vet lab results because of the different distribution of glucose in the blood constituents. The difference is proportional to the BG value meaning that the difference is large the higher the BG value. In any event, the difference between human and pet meter really does not a difference on how you dose your cat.
 
Ive been using this meter for bit now that I've started doing home testing and I've heard people say it gives Higher numbers than what they are. should I be worried about using this meter or is it still good to use? I know human meter's tend to run higher just wanted to know if there's like a percentage to this Meter.
@Naya1
Human meters ( Relion )read lower than pet meters. I use a Relion meter and never had a problem with it. Tyler's in remission since 1-24-21

@tiffmaxee

@FrostD

@Suzanne & Darcy

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Hi ladies
am I correct in telling @Naya1 this , I see Larry said the opposite above. Naya was asking about this in her post
Thanks

Edit I was looking at her SS and on 8-30 during the PM cycle her kitty dropped to 52 @+2 shouldn't she have reduced the dose since her cat dropped under 90?
Her cat dropped below 90 also on 8-11 PM cycle

Reminder she is using U-100 syringes ,using vetsulin , she's using the conversion chart


Previous posts
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-06-amps-341-4-62-pmps-204-4-62.266821/

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/sammy-almost-always-in-500s.266635/#post-2985197

I'm going by what the sticky says about reducing
Changing the Dose

Hold the starting dose for at least a week UNLESS

  • your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12-hour curve (i.e., testing every 2 hours) OR perform an 18 hour curve (i.e., testing every 3 hours). Note: Random spot checks are essential in order to "fill in the blanks" on your kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.

The general guidelines for making dose changes are:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
  • HOWEVER, there are some situations which signal that a larger than usual dose reduction is needed. If you are unsure, please post on this forum or in the Health forum and ask for input about your dose.

@tiffmaxee

@FrostD

@Suzanne & Darcy

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

Thanks ladies
 
Last edited:
Humn meters read a little higher than pet meters and vet lab results because of the different distribution of glucose in the blood constituents. The difference is proportional to the BG value meaning that the difference is large the higher the BG value. In any event, the difference between human and pet meter really does not a difference on how you dose your cat.
Hi Larry I did a search on our site and found that every members said human meter read lower than pet meters?
@Larry and Kitties
 
Last edited:
Yes. Pet meters like the Alpha Trak do read higher than the human meters. As to the ReliOn Premier, I used one - it was my main meter - and compared it with my ReliOn Prime meter. The Premier read just a little bit higher than the Prime, but it was not enough to affect the dose.​
 
@Naya1 your new dose should have been 1.25 since your kitty dropped below 90 last night @+3 was 67 not 1 unit
Maybe you should get the U-40 syringes with the half unit markings it would be easier
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/16363/carepoint-vet-u-40-syringe-29g-haleasier when adjusting doses by 0.25 units

Or these
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/18553/ulticare-u40-pet-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-half-unit
Yeah.. I'm not in charge of the supplies in which my mom gets for Sammy I'm just the one who takes care of him and tries to inform my family on what to get him :(
The ones my mom keeps buying are the ones from Walmart and they did not have U40 so she ended up getting one that goes by one unit's so I really only know that in between each unit is 0.50 ( if I'm correct) and you are right it would be so much easier buying the U40 and it is what Vetsulin is supposed to have.
Ill try and talk to my mom about buying the syringes you gave in the links, there surprisingly a pretty good price. For now what should i do on dosing? I know my mom is probably going to wait off till we are almost halfway done with the box we have now before ordering new syringes.
(This is the current syringe)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-9-2_14-29-1.jpeg
    upload_2022-9-2_14-29-1.jpeg
    96.3 KB · Views: 166
Last edited:
Yeah.. I'm not in charge of the supplies in which my mom gets for Sammy I'm just the one who takes care of him and tries to inform my family on what to get him :(
The ones my mom keeps buying are the ones from Walmart and they did not have U40 so she ended up getting one that goes by one unit's so I really only know that in between each unit is 0.50 ( if I'm correct) and you are right it would be so much easier buying the U40 and it is what Vetsulin is supposed to have.
Ill try and talk to my mom about buying the syringes you gave in the links, there surprisingly a pretty good price. For now what should i do on dosing? I know my mom is probably going to wait off till we are almost halfway done with the box we have now before ordering new syringes.
(This is the current syringe)
Are those still the U-100 syringes you are using using the conversion chart?
Anytime Sammy's BG drops under 90 you reduce by 0.25 units.Suzanne mentioned that in her post #8 above
Looking at that pic of the your syringe I don't know what it is

I'm going to tag Melissa for you
@FrostD since she knows you are using U-100 syringes and the conversion chart

Melissa here is a pic of the syringe she is using now
This is the current syringe)

Attached Files:
@FrostD
Can you please look at her SS Sammy earned a reduction , but I don't know how she will figure out how to shoot 0.75 units using the conversion chart
Thanks Melissa
 
I just want to verify one thing first - you are giving the same dose AM and PM, correct? There isn't a U40 column for PM like you have for AM, so just want to check.

Technically it's a reduction from 0.4U of U40 down to 0.2U of U40, since that's his actual dose. So the equivalent on your U100 syringes is 0.5U. since you have such large syringes it will be difficult, just do your best to be consistent.
 
I just want to verify one thing first - you are giving the same dose AM and PM, correct? There isn't a U40 column for PM like you have for AM, so just want to check.

Technically it's a reduction from 0.4U of U40 down to 0.2U of U40, since that's his actual dose. So the equivalent on your U100 syringes is 0.5U. since you have such large syringes it will be difficult, just do your best to be consistent.
Yes I am giving the same dose am pm and ye Ik there isn't a U40 column for the pm shot I need to make one but i give the same dose pm and am. I'll try my best on what I have when it comes to the syringe rn. Should I stay with one unit? I don't really know how I'm going to do 0.75 unit's with the syring I have. He dropped yesterday cause he didn't eat alot that night, just gave his nightly food right now actually and ate almost all of it unlike yesterday.
Edit: I did end up doing the one unit again just to see how he would do sense he ate better tonight and it was at 90 @+3 127 @+5
 
Last edited:
Ive been using this meter for bit now that I've started doing home testing and I've heard people say it gives Higher numbers than what they are. should I be worried about using this meter or is it still good to use? I know human meter's tend to run higher just wanted to know if there's like a percentage to this Meter.

FYI - I recently had a thread where I was questioning the readings on the Premier Classic against a OneTouch meter. Turns out the OneTouch had gone sideways and the Premier Classic was right. I even took both to the vet, had them use both meters from their blood sample, and the Premier Classic was within a few points of the in office lab test reading.

Hope that helps for accuracy concerns.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top