Michelle and Schatzie
Member
Hi Everyone! This is my first time posting here. Some quick info about my cat, Schatzie. Schatzie has asthma which is treated with a Flovent inhaler. However, Fall 2016 her asthma got worse and we had to start her on prednisolone in addition to the Flovent. She had been on it in the past and her BG numbers were always fine so we hoped that would be the case again, but unfortunately not. After raising her prednisolone dose to 7.5 mg a day for 12 days in late December/early January Schatzie became diabetic. I didn't notice until February, when I realized she had dropped from about 11.2 lbs to 10.6. Her initial blood work showed her BG at 380. The vet was hopeful that tapering her off of the pred would land her in remission and so we held off on starting insulin for a few weeks. After getting her off the pred her BG was at 280 and so we started her on Prozinc on 3/25.
We started at 1 unit twice a day. I didn't start home testing right away (was waiting to receive my Alphatrak from Amazon), but I tested her urine with the ketostix and it consistently showed glucose (between 250-500), but no ketones. After a week the vet suggested raising Schatzie's dose to 2 units twice a day. I didn't want to raise her a full unit right away and so went with 1.5 instead. I received my Alphatrak a few days later and my first check at +3.5 showed a BG level of 55! So we reduced the dose right away and have been playing with it since.
My question--I'm uncertain what I should do with her evening dose. I currently have her on .5 unit, but I can't tell if this is too much or too little based on her morning numbers. Some mornings she is in the mid-to-high 200s, but every now and then she pops up to the 300s (this morning was 365). I can't tell if she is bouncing and needs a reduction or if she needs more insulin. Also, it seems like she has an early nadir--normally around +4.
I'd love if someone would check out her SS and let me know your thoughts!
We started at 1 unit twice a day. I didn't start home testing right away (was waiting to receive my Alphatrak from Amazon), but I tested her urine with the ketostix and it consistently showed glucose (between 250-500), but no ketones. After a week the vet suggested raising Schatzie's dose to 2 units twice a day. I didn't want to raise her a full unit right away and so went with 1.5 instead. I received my Alphatrak a few days later and my first check at +3.5 showed a BG level of 55! So we reduced the dose right away and have been playing with it since.
My question--I'm uncertain what I should do with her evening dose. I currently have her on .5 unit, but I can't tell if this is too much or too little based on her morning numbers. Some mornings she is in the mid-to-high 200s, but every now and then she pops up to the 300s (this morning was 365). I can't tell if she is bouncing and needs a reduction or if she needs more insulin. Also, it seems like she has an early nadir--normally around +4.
I'd love if someone would check out her SS and let me know your thoughts!