Regulation after UTI?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elena & Tango

New Member
How long does it take a cat to get back to their typical curve following an illness like a UTI? Tango was all over the place all week, suspected pancreatitis at first (due to vomiting) but bloodwork did not indicate that was the case. Got a urine sample and she had a "hefty" UTI. Results attached. She got a Covenia injection on Friday. On Saturday her BG was in the 500s all day. We had been doing a lower dose per the vet's advice all week, but with it being so high all day I went back to the 1.5u that had been working well before the UTI. This morning BG is an 86 so I skipped dosing.

When will she stop yo-yoing like this?
 

Attachments

When a cat has an infection or inflammation, blood glucose numbers are higher than usual. It's often why we suggest that if you see an unexpected rise in levels, that you talk to your vet and get blood work done. Once an antibiotic starts to work, the blood glucose levels can drop, sometimes quite unexpectedly. It can almost be like a light switch being turned off. That's likely what. you're seeing today.

If I may, I want to make a couple of observations. You really need to get at least one test every night during the PM cycle. We typically suggest that you get a test before you go to bed. Last night is a good example. You have no idea how low Tango's numbers dropped last night and if the 86 at AMPS was a number that was rising or dropping. You are not shooting numbers that are under or around the 150 range. I would encourage you to give that some thought. As you get comfortable with lower numbers, you also want to eventually be able to shoot anything that is over 90.

I am concerned about your vet's advice to give a reduced dose if Tango's pre-shot was under 200. If a cat has an infection, there's a greater risk for diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) developing. DKA is the result of an infection/inflammation + not enough calories + not enough insulin. As you saw, Tango's numbers were higher than usual with the infection.

I'm also concerned about your vet's choice of antibiotic. Convenia is indicated only for skin infections. Vets tend to like to prescribe it because it lasts 2 - 3 weeks and you don't have to pill your cat. However, aside from it not being appropriate for a UTI, if your cat has an allergic reaction to Convenia, there's not a lot you can do to rescue your cat if there's an allergy to a medication that lasts several weeks. I will not allow my vet to prescribe Convenia. This is information from a vet on the use of Convenia. The only way to know what antibiotic is needed to treat a UTI is to have a sterile urine draw (this is a cystocentesis and involves the vet inserting a needle into your cat's bladder) and then getting a culture and sensitivity (C & S) which identifies the bacteria and dictates the choice of antibiotic.

And lastly, I'm linking information on dosing methods with glargine. If you opt to follow the Start Low Go Slow method, you would reduce Tango's dose by 0.25u if numbers drop below 90. If you're following Tight Regulation, with an AlphaTrack meter, you would reduce the dose if numbers are less than 68.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top