Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)
Member Since 2010
Thanks to everyone who replied to my post about Stu's Lantus dose and scary BG numbers. Tomorrow I shall attempt to set up a spreadsheet and will also post the requested information about Stu, his diabetes history, health, etc. In the meantime, I have read all of the stickies again. This morning, even before I was able to get to reading the replies to my post of last night, I lowered Stu's dose to 4 units (down from the 4.5 units of the last three days). Today AMPS was 385. +6 was 248! I wonder what PMPS will be?! I intend to hold this 4-unit dose for a few days and see what happens. A question: the Lantus protocol for a cat who had previously been on a different insulin seems to suggest that the dosage of the other insulin should be taken into account when determining the Lantus dose. What factors does one take into account here? Stu had been on PZI Vet for 3 and 1/2 years before being switched to Lantus. His PZI dose when switched had been 5 units bid. Since I was not home-testing during those years, I only know what his BG numbers were at +5 (approximately) at the vet's: they were in the 120s to 130s (insulin was Idexx PZI Vet).
I am ready to get a handle on all of this and greatly appreciate your generous offers of help.
Ella (who is trying not to mangle Stu's ears!)
I am ready to get a handle on all of this and greatly appreciate your generous offers of help.
Ella (who is trying not to mangle Stu's ears!)