My cat was diagnosed with diabetes in June. She is 10 and 1/2 years old. She I recently changed her diet (about 2 weeks) to an all low carb diet. Initially, the first 4 days was was gradual change. I just started using the Alphtrack
glucometer to get readings for cat. I was adjusting the dose from 2 units to about 1 1/4 for about a week or two depending on my reading. I was able to at least get a reading for 6- 8 hours after shot. The readings ranged from 178 to 101 for 5 different times. I then gave her 1 3/4 units for 4 administrations when I ran out of test strips and did not test. The cat's preshot BG was 133 when I started testing again. I gave 1 1/4 insulin anyway and the BG went down to 53. My cat never showed hypoglemic signs but I called emergency and gave food and treats. The preshot BG was 294 the next morning. My vet said to keep a constant dose of 1 1/2 for 5 days and only test 2 times per week. I gave 1 1/2 units for 3 doses, but was nervous so tested 45 minutes before next shot and got a BG of 139. I wasn't sure what to do. I gave food and tested again about half hour later and BG was 244. My Cat gets upset when I test sometimes so she was nervous especiallly when I don't get enough blood first prick, I gave a token dose of insulin of 1/2 unit. About a week and a half ago I gave a 1 1/2 unit dose of insulin with a preshot Bg of 185 and then took a reading after 7 hours and the BG was 200. Next preshot was 346. On another occasion I had a preshot of 242 and 7 hours later BG was 127.
I never did a glucose curve at the vet. My vet did not suggest it until recently. I am trying to do some readings at home.
What does it mean when the preshot is in the low hundreds? Any advice?
glucometer to get readings for cat. I was adjusting the dose from 2 units to about 1 1/4 for about a week or two depending on my reading. I was able to at least get a reading for 6- 8 hours after shot. The readings ranged from 178 to 101 for 5 different times. I then gave her 1 3/4 units for 4 administrations when I ran out of test strips and did not test. The cat's preshot BG was 133 when I started testing again. I gave 1 1/4 insulin anyway and the BG went down to 53. My cat never showed hypoglemic signs but I called emergency and gave food and treats. The preshot BG was 294 the next morning. My vet said to keep a constant dose of 1 1/2 for 5 days and only test 2 times per week. I gave 1 1/2 units for 3 doses, but was nervous so tested 45 minutes before next shot and got a BG of 139. I wasn't sure what to do. I gave food and tested again about half hour later and BG was 244. My Cat gets upset when I test sometimes so she was nervous especiallly when I don't get enough blood first prick, I gave a token dose of insulin of 1/2 unit. About a week and a half ago I gave a 1 1/2 unit dose of insulin with a preshot Bg of 185 and then took a reading after 7 hours and the BG was 200. Next preshot was 346. On another occasion I had a preshot of 242 and 7 hours later BG was 127.
I never did a glucose curve at the vet. My vet did not suggest it until recently. I am trying to do some readings at home.
What does it mean when the preshot is in the low hundreds? Any advice?