Cynthia & Merlin (GA)
Member Since 2018
Hi. This is my first post. I’m attaching Merlin’s spreadsheet here and hoping it is viewable. The reason for this long post is because I am freaking out that his bg number went up by 100 in 3 hours today. If someone (anyone) with experience in dropping a dose can take a look at this and offer their informed opinion, I’d be much appreciated.
I will note that Merlin’s reaction to his insulin dose is abnormal, to say the least. Within 10 minutes, sometimes less, he looks drugged. He lays down on his side with his eyes open and stares into space. He’s not low and I can get his attention (head up) if I go to him, but I could step over him and he won’t move (and he was always a scamperer before). I’ve taken a video of his condition and sent it to his Internist. She’s watched it several times and wants a full video from injection to reaction and a wider view so she can see his whole body. This started with his very first dose of ProZinc back in May to his last
shot this morning. He sleeps off his shot, sometimes for hours. I’ve asked high and low and did research to no avail.
Here is the note I wrote to my little guy’s Internist this morning:
Merlin’s blood glucose numbers are still really high. Nothing is changing and I’ve been giving him 3.5U Lantus for 9.5 cycles. His disposition is perpetually in a state of exhaustion. I took a good look at his spreadsheet for guidance and came up with a theory/some sort of explanation as to why his numbers are not changing.
His last hopeful run (if you can call it that), was on 6.24.18. He hit his first yellow and actually a blue in the same day. He was on 3U ProZinc. That evening we had him in ER and even without a shot that night and a continuation of the 3U Prozinc the next morning, he had another yellow. Unfortunately I was not testing as much between shots as I am now so I don’t have too much more data points to speak of.
Strength wise, 1.5U Lantus is close to 3U ProZinc (A U100 is 2.5x the strength of a U40 insulin).
At that same time, I was feeding him beef (and fish) and he was getting intermittent bouts of stomach distress which could have been a cause of his numbers being in the red at shot times. Since I changed his food to rabbit, it’s been 17 days since he’s had an ‘episode’. It took one day to clear out the beef and he’s been fine ever since. His poop is foul (sometimes more, sometimes less), but as we discussed last week it is possibly malabsorption.
Am I giving him too much insulin? I wanted to get your agreement on dropping him back to 1.5U Lantus to see if I missed his ‘perfect dose’. When I looked at him this morning, I knew I could not give him 3.5U Lantus. Even before his shot, he was lying on the bathroom floor, on his side, with his eyes open - staring into space. This is absolutely killing me.
I dropped him back to 1.5U Lantus this morning and am going to monitor closely. I’ll give him a few cycles to ‘dump the excess insulin’ and see how he reacts. If he is not reacting well (numbers too high), I can walk him back up using the Tight Regulation since he’s been at the increased Lantus numbers before.
Am I making any sense? I’m not at all educated in this, but I know my cat and my gut is telling me I need to step back. I have been peppering the support groups as well.
If Merlin continues to be at these high numbers, I’d like to get him tested for acromegaly and IAA sooner rather than later. These higher doses of Lantus do not seem common. This will give me more peace of mind going forward knowing what I may be up against. If he does have IAA, my research is showing it’s like a tug of war. If I slack on upping the dose, I’ll be at a really high unit in no time.
We can discuss his (hopefully) progress on our phone consultation Wednesday at 1:00 p.m.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/13SHgmorU6TCfWWff20i9NtMCHhexw-tJeGFkhdJb6Yg
I will note that Merlin’s reaction to his insulin dose is abnormal, to say the least. Within 10 minutes, sometimes less, he looks drugged. He lays down on his side with his eyes open and stares into space. He’s not low and I can get his attention (head up) if I go to him, but I could step over him and he won’t move (and he was always a scamperer before). I’ve taken a video of his condition and sent it to his Internist. She’s watched it several times and wants a full video from injection to reaction and a wider view so she can see his whole body. This started with his very first dose of ProZinc back in May to his last
shot this morning. He sleeps off his shot, sometimes for hours. I’ve asked high and low and did research to no avail.
Here is the note I wrote to my little guy’s Internist this morning:
Merlin’s blood glucose numbers are still really high. Nothing is changing and I’ve been giving him 3.5U Lantus for 9.5 cycles. His disposition is perpetually in a state of exhaustion. I took a good look at his spreadsheet for guidance and came up with a theory/some sort of explanation as to why his numbers are not changing.
His last hopeful run (if you can call it that), was on 6.24.18. He hit his first yellow and actually a blue in the same day. He was on 3U ProZinc. That evening we had him in ER and even without a shot that night and a continuation of the 3U Prozinc the next morning, he had another yellow. Unfortunately I was not testing as much between shots as I am now so I don’t have too much more data points to speak of.
Strength wise, 1.5U Lantus is close to 3U ProZinc (A U100 is 2.5x the strength of a U40 insulin).
At that same time, I was feeding him beef (and fish) and he was getting intermittent bouts of stomach distress which could have been a cause of his numbers being in the red at shot times. Since I changed his food to rabbit, it’s been 17 days since he’s had an ‘episode’. It took one day to clear out the beef and he’s been fine ever since. His poop is foul (sometimes more, sometimes less), but as we discussed last week it is possibly malabsorption.
Am I giving him too much insulin? I wanted to get your agreement on dropping him back to 1.5U Lantus to see if I missed his ‘perfect dose’. When I looked at him this morning, I knew I could not give him 3.5U Lantus. Even before his shot, he was lying on the bathroom floor, on his side, with his eyes open - staring into space. This is absolutely killing me.
I dropped him back to 1.5U Lantus this morning and am going to monitor closely. I’ll give him a few cycles to ‘dump the excess insulin’ and see how he reacts. If he is not reacting well (numbers too high), I can walk him back up using the Tight Regulation since he’s been at the increased Lantus numbers before.
Am I making any sense? I’m not at all educated in this, but I know my cat and my gut is telling me I need to step back. I have been peppering the support groups as well.
If Merlin continues to be at these high numbers, I’d like to get him tested for acromegaly and IAA sooner rather than later. These higher doses of Lantus do not seem common. This will give me more peace of mind going forward knowing what I may be up against. If he does have IAA, my research is showing it’s like a tug of war. If I slack on upping the dose, I’ll be at a really high unit in no time.
We can discuss his (hopefully) progress on our phone consultation Wednesday at 1:00 p.m.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/13SHgmorU6TCfWWff20i9NtMCHhexw-tJeGFkhdJb6Yg