reducie (f)1.0u 4/27 Rocky PMPS 415 +1 409 +3 492 +11 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Hello there again, all of you wonderful people!! Those who have been guiding me with Rocky, as well as you lurkers. :lol:

All I really want to do right now is write 'Goodmorning' and then 'Goodnight' at the start of this condo but I feel as though I should explain a little...

Rocky's BG dipped to 39 early in his PMPS cycle last night.
It happened sometime between PMPS +1 and +2. I tested him at PMPS +.5 and his BG had gone up to 98 so I thought it was going to be a "safe" cycle with his BG continuing to rise. It didn't turn out that way.

I haven't slept for about 5 days. Last night Wendy suggested to me that I either skip his morning shot today, or, give him a greatly reduced BCS. I choose to skip it. I need to go to sleep this afternoon and wake-up when my body tells me it has had some rest. Either at that time, or when my DH gets home from cycling and starts making a lot of noise in the house.

Rocky is not ready to go OTJ, although I am ready for him to go OTJ. :-D His body still needs the juice. He just has a full depot, for now. I think he will bounce from not receiving any insulin this morning but I am not capable of forcing myself to stay awake to monitor him, and, I feel like I'm starting to come down with a cold.
:thumbup Rocky surfed nearly all green numbers yesterday, all but for perhaps one or two hours. :thumbup

Rocky's Recap from yesterday:

AMPS 91 +1 98 +3 65 +5 73 +8 100 +11 83
PMPS 81 +.5 98 +2 37 +2.5 47 +3 52 +3.5 52 +4 58

I'm going to get an AMBG +13 because I need to give 3 cats their pills right now. Then it's back to bed for me for some sleep. I-)

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117867
 
Re: Skipped Shot. 4/27 Rocky AMBG +12 73 +13 83

have a good sleep!

you should feel good about all the hours you've invested and he's spent in green - that's all time for his pancreas to begin to heal. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Skipped Shot. 4/27 Rocky AMBG +12 73 +13 83

What wonderful numbers and even no juice this morning. I am hoping he still has good numbers all day and you get a surprise when you wake up.
 
Re: Skipped Shot. 4/27 Rocky AMBG +12 73 +13 83

Good decision. You must take care of yourself and he will be fine. Great numbers, too! Now you can see how long it takes his depot to drain at this dose.

Sweet dreams.
 
Re: Skipped Shot. 4/27 Rocky AMBG +12 73 +13 83 +18 223

Good Afternoon! ~O)

Seriously, it is amazing how good I feel for having slept nearly 3 hours without an alarm clock going off. I even tried to go back to sleep, but I couldn't fall back asleep. My DH left around 6am this morning for a long bike ride to who-knows-where and hasn't been home all day. It's a little after 4pm. He'll be home soon but the house has been so quiet.. just peaceful and lovely.

Now onto important things, like Rocky! :lol:

I just tested him at AMBG +18 because I could not resist. He's in yellow, so his liver is likely setting up for a bounce. His ears actually look almost their normal color again. They were getting pretty red from all of the poking he's had to endure from the past 5 days. I was beginning to wonder if he was going to form scar tissue on his ears. Poor guy... I always use the Neosporin after every poke and I slathered it on really good this morning after that poke 6 hours ago and they honestly look already healed.

He was a very playful guy this morning, which was good to see. He made me laugh. And he could hardly wait to eat. :lol:

About his insulin dose for tonight... Am I suppose to shot 1.0u? confused_cat


I am thinking of giving him a (f)1.0u.

I know I haven't said it before but I just want to thank all of you, especially Marje, Julie, Wendy, Sandy, Chris, and Sienna for your wisdom and kind advice to me. You've all remained so sweet to me even when I have not been the same in return to you. I can blame my behavior on lack of sleep but really I think I'm just not as nice as you are. I'll keep working on that. I'm sorry if I've hurt any of you.

Elise, Shelly, and others who's names are escaping me now (still not enough sleep), thank you for visiting Rocky's condo and being here to cheer us on.

FYI-- Rocky doesn't like this shoot time of 10am-10pm. (and neither do I!) He is ALWAYS ready to eat at 9pm.. I guess because I did not give him a shot this morning I can start the shooting cycle at 9pm tonight?

That hour earlier shot time would also mean that I have the luxury of staling a shot time if I need to do so in the future when his BG is too low at pre-shot time. Those four hourly mini-meals get to be pretty late at night if you're shooting at 11pm! (So far have never done that, whew..)
 
Re: 4/27 Rocky AMBG +12 73 +13 83 +18 223

G'day Tina! Doesn't the day seem much better and brighter with a little sleep. :-D :-D

You can absolutely shoot at 9PM tonight if you wish - the rule is at least 12 hours apart for shooting so pick whatever works best for you tonight.

The dose tonight is a more interesting question. The depot can take 4-6 cycles to completely deplete. Rocky should have the 1.75U depot out of his system by now but 3 cycles ago he was still getting (f)1.5U. although today's skip will have helped get rid of that. He only had two cycles on 1.25U. Here's the part of the protocol with relevant bits bolded.
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
The way I read it, you could either shave the 1.25 down to a 1.0f or go down to 1.0U. Or if you think it's the f1.5U dose still impacting his cycles last night, you could go back to 1.25 - there likely is some of that in play. With the BCS, the skip and the quickly changing doses over the last few days, it's hard to say how big the depot thinks it is. What do you feel like doing? Part of the question is how you are feeling and whether you got enough rest. If you start out at too low a dose, you can always take him back up again within a few days as per the protocol.
 
Re: 4/27 Rocky AMBG +12 73 +13 83 +18 223

I think I would like to shave the 1.25u down. However, I think the dose may have already been shaved down and it was even less than a 1.25u? I'm just not quiet sure.. :roll:

The dose looked like this, if you want to get our your syringe and try it: :-D

The top of the plunger was just barely touching on the bottom of the 1.0u marker line with my Relion syringes. There was no space showing in-between the 1.50u and the 1.0u. This might be an odd batch of syringes with a wider (thicker?) plunger. What confused me was that the 1.50u line was ENVELOPED at the BOTTOM of the plunger. But I wasn't seeing any space between.. I'm not really sure what to call this dose, or where to push the plunger next.

I'm going to get a syringe and just barely push that plunger p so that the 1.50u marker isn't anywhere in the plunger, and then see where the top of the plunger rests. I think it's going to show ABOVE the 1.0u marker. :?

It's one hour and a half until shot time. Ready, set.. :cool: :lol:
 
Re: 4/27 Rocky AMBG +12 73 +13 83 +18 223 +23 460

And we have BLAST OFF, Major Tom, into hyper-outer space.. drawing nearer and nearer to the magnetic black hole, perhaps by PMPS.. But we already knew this would be the course, and so it goes.. :lol:
 
Re: 4/27 Rocky AMBG +12 73 +13 83 +18 223

These advice givers have the patience of saints! :-D :-D They are totally awesome. You're doing a super job, Tina.
Liz
 
Re: reducie (f)1.0u 4/27 Rocky PMPS 415 +1 409

major tom to ground control . . . . hehehe you set my brain back a few years.

looks like Rocky will get back on track before too long. as i recall, i think the Relion syringe barrels are somewhat larger in diameter than the Terumos that I used. i think the difference in barrel diameter means the lines are closer together in the Relions than in the Terumos.

the most important thing is that you be able to replicate whatever dose you gave tonight.

thanks for the kind words. glad you got some sleep! it does make the world look better, doesn't it?!
 
Re: reducie (f)1.0u 4/27 Rocky PMPS 415 +1 409 +3 492

Hi there :cool:

Glad to hear you got some sleep.
You must try and avoid getting strung out - you don't want to crash & burn.
 
Re: reducie (f)1.0u 4/27 Rocky PMPS 415 +1 409 +3 492

Well I was hoping Rocky could hold on and not decide to be an astronaut kitty. I hope he's come down.

I just wanted to thank you for your sweet post. We all know how very stressful the early days are and how your body has to get used to lack of sleep. It's all very difficult and very emotional. The greens the highs....it's a roller coaster when all we want is smooth sailing. And it takes some time to learn how the insulin works ....and to learn to trust us :-D :-D We all remember how hard it is. I think you are as kind as the rest of us. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top