reduced dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah Smith

Active Member
Mornin!

Cooters AMPS was 186 this morning,
+20 - 175 +40 - 185
I'll be home all day, whats a good dose to give him? Started testing him at 6am, which is a half hour later then our normal time... crazy cat!!!
 
Last edited:
He just has to keep me guessing, hes doing it on purpose lol! He sat WAY to patiently on the counter during the whole thing this morning purring away for an hour while everyone else stared at us waiting to eat..... Couldnt feed them because he would have got fussy and tried to eat everyones food since I was starving him :banghead:
 
I've had that problem when Colin was low at PS. But he's impatient along with everyone else! Now that he's on Lev, I can just go ahead and shoot the low numbers- makes life a bit easier.
 
Just when we had a plan. :p Nice to see an amps that isn't black or red! It will be interesting to see how the day goes.
He threw a wrench in the plan, but I wont complain about a blue preshot :) He's been surfing along in the low 100's, am kind of kicking myself for doing .2, think if I would have gone between the half unit marks it would have been .3 and he may have surfed along in the upper greens instead :) Lets see what he decides to throw at me tonight lol
 
Greens on a nice slow decline and surfing along I think I can do :) Greens at +4 after a 200 point in 2 hour drop, not so much lol... Am I being too picky? :p
 
So much for pulling his shot time back to normal... hes at 178, cant shoot any later then 630 in the morning since i have to be at work at 7...will wait a few and try again... wonder whats spurring these numbers?!? Not that I'm upset, just confused lol

Edit: If he doesnt come back up, any reason ya'll can think of not to shoot the .2 again? This is about where he was this morning
 
Last edited:
Just got the 191 and got him eating, havent prepped the dose yet... dont want to do .6, but .2 prolly wont be enough... .4 maybe?
 
I don't know, it's been awhile since I used ProZinc and Colin was never a normal diabetic, so I don't even try to give dosing advice. The .2 did pretty good today. Do you have plenty test strips, and high carb food, just in case?
 
I'm sure it will be fine. He may bounce from the nice blue run, or not.:confused: When will you take his first + test?
 
I'm sure it will be fine. He may bounce from the nice blue run, or not.:confused: When will you take his first + test?
There you go jinxin my poor boy like that :p Probably will run a +2 just to see what it looks like...they've been a little higher then preshot the last few days though oddly enough...guessing food spikes? So should be testing in about an hour and a half
 
Checked on you last night and saw you got your green, but he went to blue by next test. Will be interesting to see thia AMPS
 
Sorry, hectic morning, will update the spreadsheet shortly, but PS wasnt too good this morning 421... dont know why i didnt just stick with the .2, somehow my brain said hes almost at a yellow = higher dose, instead of hes just about where he was this morning, stay the course. I swear I'm his biggest hinderance on getting better
 
Just keep muttering to yourself - "I'm only collecting data...I'm only collecting data". It will become second nature to look back over the past few cycles to figure out a dose - after awhile. Be patient with yourself.

I would guess he dipped into the blue/green pond overnight and bounced. Or this cycle may be a bounce from yesterday's lower cycle. Some cats bounce right away; some bounce the next day.

Our patron saint needs to be Scarlett from Gone with the Wind - "tomorrow will be another day......" Though the kitties probably prefer "I'll never be hungry again."
 
At least I hope I taught myself if it aint broke dont fix it, stay with what worked. He's getting there, still wondering where the blue streak came from yesterday, was pretty while it lasted!
 
More data will tell, but I think -maybe- 0.4 is a good dose for a number in the 250s. 0.2 may be okay for 180-250. And 0.6 could be good for a higher pre shot. Not written in stone - and it could change. Unfortunately this is a moving target.... The good news is that he is trending downward!
 
I agree that he is probably bouncing from last night's cycle. It is a learning curve for sure. As Sue said, all the data you collect helps you with future dosing. You are doing just fine, Sarah! :bighug:
 
Didnt bounce much compared to normal... PMPS was 169, now 170 10 min later... if hes below 180 in 10 more minutes may skip or try to get a .1 dose... was trying to get him back to 530 shoot time, was going to have him back by morning until he threw this number :D Couldnt be happier though lol
 
Had to shoot, its my cutoff time. put the plunger between the 1/2 and zero mark, which is what I would consider .1 since the half mark is .2...when i tried it with water it was literally a drop of insulin.... guess I'll see if it does anything?
 
:cat: He was pouting a little bit ago, had to stall and he was hungry lol.. wouldnt look at me! 20160517_173748.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20160517_173748.jpg
    20160517_173748.jpg
    35.4 KB · Views: 83
More data will tell, but I think -maybe- 0.4 is a good dose for a number in the 250s. 0.2 may be okay for 180-250. And 0.6 could be good for a higher pre shot. Not written in stone - and it could change. Unfortunately this is a moving target.... The good news is that he is trending downward!

Hes been doing good on the above dosing advice, but just decided to throw me a curveball..... 220 PS so I dosed him .2, hes at 78 at +3.... just gave him a little LC so that should slow him down hopefully.... guess I may need some advice in the AM on dosing, but not much further down we can go from here!
 
I freak out when hes this low... he was 62 half hour after the 78.... :banghead: reacted to quick since my phone died and i couldnt get my tablet right away to see if anyone posted so grabbed the HC....
 
Doing good, Sarah. Keep the food small bites so he will eat when you want him to. Do you have gravy food? Just a teaspoon of gravy is sometimes enough to bring him up, but it won't fill him up. Do you have some honey?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top