Reduce dose or stay the same?

Status
Not open for further replies.

alexi456

Member Since 2018
Currently on 2u and his pmps tonight was 4.4 does this mean we should go down a dose to 1.5u? We skipped his dose tonight so I fully expect him to be in the 20s at his Amps or should we continue with the 2u as he seems to be bouncing a bit his pmps last night was 21.1. He was also a bit of his food today and had a bit of a spew on the floor which could have something to do with him going low?
 
He could have gone lower towards the end of the AM cycle today than the 4.4 (79) at PMPS. He is obviously liking less insulin.
Fred is probably bouncing because he is dropping low during the cycle but because you are not testing much you are not seeing this.
Fred has earned a reduction with the SLGS protocol as he dropped under 90 (5) which gives you a reduction of 0.25 units. That will take the new dose to 1.75 units.
Are you able to draw up 1.75 units do you think? If you don’t think you can, you will have to go with the 1.5 units.
Have you looked into getting the 1/2 unit marked syringes from overseas?
Also what did you decide about the meter which is attached to Fred and gives you automatic readings?
Keep trying to get BSLs during the cycle to make sure Fred is safe.
 
We have decided to go with the permanent monitor when we return from a trip we are going on it seemed silly to do it beforehand as it only last s a few weeks. The lower doses definitely seem to be working all of sudden which is odd as originally 2u kept him so high he got ketones and was throwing up! We will drop to 1.5u and try and get some more tests the healthier he is the more he seems to not mind the ear test and the more his ears seem to bleed.
 
With a history of ketones you need to be testing his urine for the ketones while he is still in the higher numbers. Do you have a bottle of the ketostix which you can buy at chemists for about $12. Collect a urine sample from Fred and follow directions on the bottle. It is important you do this several times a week. If you would put the results of the urine test in the remarks column of Fred’s SS that can then be kept as a record and is helpful to us when we are looking at the SS to help you.

Who is looking after Fred while you are on holiday?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top