Reduce Dosage or start Micro Dosing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

runscottie

Member Since 2013
Hello everyone!

Well the good news is that insulin + the switch to low carb diet has done wonders on my Krispies, who was just diagnosed earlier this month! The bad news is I'm not sure what to do here. As you can see from his SS, I'm starting to fall in to a pattern where in the AM his BG is too low so I do a no shoot. I'm a beginner so my No-Shoot number is 200. But then his evening PMPS is around 300-350. I started reducing his dosage but now I'm down to .25 units using U-40 needles.

Should I buy some U100 needles and try reducing dosage further? Or start "micro-dosing"? ...which based on what I've read around this site I think means that I would start shooting off of the 12/12 schedule and more based on when his BG starts creeping up.

Overall I think this is good news for my Rice Krispies. I'm just not sure what my next step is...
 
Either option is possible, Diana. You can buy U100 needles and use the conversion chart to dose .1 or .2. Or mini dose, which is more difficult because you are often shooting off the 12/12 schedule.

Here's some info on mini dosing:


When your cat is consistently in numbers too low to shoot at shot time and in numbers in the 100 range and below during the cycle, you can consider micro dosing. This process should be guided on the forum by experienced members and will require more frequent testing.

You may be shooting at times other than the 12/12 schedule, when the blood glucose levels rise enough to require a small dose of insulin. You will need to pick a number somewhere near the 150 range at which you will plan to shoot, being sure that the number is indeed rising. The dose at these low numbers will vary with each cat and its patterns, so advice should be solicited. But you may be considering doses below .25 and even considering a “drop” of insulin. At this point, U100 needles and the conversion chart will be necessary.

It is important during this period to offer small frequent meals. You may want to experiment with the lowest carb foods to help bring down the numbers, staying away from seafood more than once or twice a week.
 
Please try to get some midcycle tests, even if you need to set an alarm to get up in the middle of the night.

She could be going low enough to earn a reduction, then bouncing up high because she got too low.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top