Red getting back to remission

Marie & Red

Member Since 2021
@Suzanne & Darcy
Hi Suzanne,
Red seems to be doing well after my short vacation, and his. I tried a new 9% carb food for him tonight. He tested 2 hours later at 81 PMPS. He also had some fresh cooked plain chicken breast - only about 1 tsp about 1 hour prior to PMPS. I gave him the .1 dose and I'll test him again in a few hours.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy .
Hi Suzanne,
I hope all is well. I just wanted to give you an update. I've had a hip injury so I haven't been on since last weekend. I'm still pretty much bed-ridden and probably will be for another week. My husband has been able to do AMPS and PMPS daily tests and injections. We just haven't been able to do any mid cycle tests. I just updated Red's spreadsheet and he's doing well. I am going to try to see if we can get some mid cycle tests this weekend. I'm really hoping he get get to his drop dose....and then OTJ!
 
Marie, I am really really sorry to hear that you have hurt your hip. I hope no surgery will be required and you will heal up. That must be so painful.

Red does look like he’s doing really really well. He seems to stay in normal numbers all the time. When a cat stays in normal numbers like this, we sometimes will reduce the dose and see how it goes. If you would like to try the drop dose and see if he stays in mostly green and not over 120, we can do that. It might be better to wait until you can get at least one mid-cycle test per cycle so we can make sure all is well.
 
Marie, I am really really sorry to hear that you have hurt your hip. I hope no surgery will be required and you will heal up. That must be so painful.

Red does look like he’s doing really really well. He seems to stay in normal numbers all the time. When a cat stays in normal numbers like this, we sometimes will reduce the dose and see how it goes. If you would like to try the drop dose and see if he stays in mostly green and not over 120, we can do that. It might be better to wait until you can get at least one mid-cycle test per cycle so we can make sure all is well.
Hi Darcy, thank you. Fortunately no fractures. I'm walking, but it's still very painful, and still can't bend or sit too well or long. So I'm still spending much of my time in bed. I'll be going to some specialists but with the holidays and office closures, the earliest appt I can get is Jan 5th!

I'll be filling in Red's spreadsheet in a few minutes. We've never missed the AM or PM testing, and I added a few mid cycle ones. I write his numbers down in a notebook then transfer to the spreadsheet as soon as I can. He has been in the normal range, except when I tried a new food for him - the fancy feast Gems. It seemed to raise his BG - just to low 100's, so I stopped giving it. I would like to try the drop dose. I can start tomorrow if you agree.
 
Hello Marie. Are you and Red okay. I am trying to follow up on emails I have missed over the Christmas holidays. Also, my husband fell and injured his knee and he is on crutches. We were able to be seen at an orthopedic urgent care on this past Monday, December 22. He has a follow up on January 5 too.

How are you? I hope you’re improving! You sounded in so much pain. What an awful time for you over the holidays. How is Red. I don’t see anything on his spreadsheet for a few days.
 
Hello Marie. Are you and Red okay. I am trying to follow up on emails I have missed over the Christmas holidays. Also, my husband fell and injured his knee and he is on crutches. We were able to be seen at an orthopedic urgent care on this past Monday, December 22. He has a follow up on January 5 too.

How are you? I hope you’re improving! You sounded in so much pain. What an awful time for you over the holidays. How is Red. I don’t see anything on his spreadsheet for a few days.
Oh gosh Suzanne, I'm sorry to hear about your husband. Hope his pain is being relieved. Crutches are not easy. I have good days and bad days. Still not sitting much at all....which means I haven't been back to work yet because I have a desk job. I'm very sad that I had to miss seeing my granddaughter for Christmas. She just turned 1 so a great age. I can't wait until my Jan 5th appt to get some relief!

I just added in the latest tests for Red. He's still doing very well, but we haven't changed to the drop dose yet. My husband is still giving the 0.1 dose. Within the next few days, I'm going to get up and make sure he knows how and draws up the drop dose for Red.
 
Oh Marie, my heart just goes out to you. If you are not even able to sit up very often…that is terrible. I hope you won’t mind me saying this, but I am going to pray for your healing and recovery. This has already been going on too long. You and your family just celebrated your granddaughter’s first birthday on the Disney cruise and then this happened!

But about Red. I would not even worry a bit about Red’s dose. He is in perfect glucose levels right now. So don’t stress about the dose. If it’s do-able and it’s important to you to get your husband drawing the drop dose, then go ahead. Or, if it is too much stress then don’t change anything until you are feeling better in January.
 
Oh Marie, my heart just goes out to you. If you are not even able to sit up very often…that is terrible. I hope you won’t mind me saying this, but I am going to pray for your healing and recovery. This has already been going on too long. You and your family just celebrated your granddaughter’s first birthday on the Disney cruise and then this happened!

But about Red. I would not even worry a bit about Red’s dose. He is in perfect glucose levels right now. So don’t stress about the dose. If it’s do-able and it’s important to you to get your husband drawing the drop dose, then go ahead. Or, if it is too much stress then don’t change anything until you are feeling better in January.
Suzanne, I don't mind the prayers at all! They are much welcomed and very much appreciated! Thank you ❤️

We started the drop dose for Red yesterday morning, 12/28. He did well all day. Today's AMPS was 105. How will I know if he's not ready for the DD? Would it be high nadirs? I was curious and checked his previous drop doses in 2022 and he did have some blue AMPS numbers. I will check some mid cycle numbers while he's on the DD.
 
I would just keep him on this drop dose for a two weeks at least to see if it’s all stable. As long as those morning AMPS are pretty low 100s (and definitely below 120) think everything is going to be fine. If we keep him on the drop dose for two weeks it will give his pancreas just that little bit more time to heal. Then we can give him an OTJ Trial 😊
 
I would just keep him on this drop dose for a two weeks at least to see if it’s all stable. As long as those morning AMPS are pretty low 100s (and definitely below 120) think everything is going to be fine. If we keep him on the drop dose for two weeks it will give his pancreas just that little bit more time to heal. Then we can give him an OTJ Trial 😊
Sounds good! Thank you for your continued guidance!

Enjoy your New Year's holiday. May we all have a year full of happiness, health, laughter and wonderful memories.
 
Back
Top