Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
Member Since 2011
My husband and I have four very spoiled indoor cats. We do not have five because one of our kitties is violently opposed to having any more housemates. Last October I noticed that an orange tabby that had been around the neighborhood for years was spending a lot of time in our yard. In fact, he was there all the time. After about a week I finally offered him food and water. He inhaled both. This became a routine. As the weather cooled and rains started, we set up a shelter in the back yard (Cinco picked the location). My husband kept referring to him as "number five", so I named him Cinco. By January, he was letting me pet and brush him, so I started using Advantage Multi on him - although he didn't like it, he never took a swipe at me or tried to bite me. I noticed that he had a very good appetite and drank a lot of water. In June I decided it was time to get him checked out and vaccinated. My plan was, if he was healthy, to contact a rescue organization and try to find him a forever home. He deserved more than I could offer him. I took him to the vet on June 22nd. He tested negative for FIV and Feline Leukemia, but they called that night to say he had a lot of sugar in his urine and wanted me to bring him back for more blood tests. Everyone at the office commented on how mellow and cooperative he was. On the evening of the 23rd, the vet called and said he was diabetic, and his mellowness was probably due to severe dehydration. We took him in on the 25th to learn how to give him insulin, and he received subq fluids. We started him on 1.0 unit of Lantus, once a day. We moved him into the garage and began feeding him moist DM twice a day and dry DM, available all day. He was peeing all over the garage - sometimes in the litter box, sometimes not. Drank a LOT of water. On June 28 we took him back for a BG test, and it was still over 500. His dose was increased to 1.0 twice a day. He was still lethargic and his back legs were weak. Sometimes he would just lie where he was and pee all over himself. On July 1st he was tested again, and still over 500. Dose was increased to 1.5 units, twice a day. There were a couple of bare areas on his hind legs, which the vet said was due to urine scald. On the morning of the 6th I took him in again, and his BG was still immeasurable. He was hospitalized and put on IV fluids and insulin. They were also giving him 2 units, twice a day. When they bathed him, fur just came off his back legs in clumps. They sent him home on the 10th, with instruction to give him 3 units, twice a day. They had also started him on Chinese tea pills to help his bladder control. We were instructed to bathe him every day. The next day, the 11th, I took him in for another BG check, and he was still off the charts. He seemed no better at all. The vet suggested it might be time to consider euthanization. I took him home and fed him and gave him his insulin, and cried over him. Then we went out for five hours. When we came home, he was standing up in his cage and meowing! We decided to give him more time. Over the next couple of days, he continued to be more alert and seemed stronger. He stopped peeing on himself, although he didn't always use the litter box. I started feeding him smaller meals of the moist DM, and no dry food at all. On the 14th we went back for another check and he was still over 500. Vet was encouraged by his improved behavior and upped the dose to 3.3 units, twice a day. I got a home meter and on the 15th took my first reading - 365 five hours after his evening shot. The vet adjusted his dose to 3.5 (too hard to do 3.3). On the 16th we left him at the vet all day so they could do a curve. I don't have the numbers yet, will get them in the next day or two. On the 17th his BG ranged from 90 to 235. I noticed he wasn't drinking as much water, nor urinating as much. Still good appetite! The vet said we could reduce dose if we wanted. Decided to drop it to 3.0. On the 18th his levels ranged from 120 to 524 (First time over 500 since the 14th). Today (the 19th) his AMPS was 417, and he was at 259 +4, 426 + 9 and at 64 four hours after his evening shot! I feed him every time I do a BG test, as that's the only way he'll stay still. He's never shown symptoms of hypo since I started testing him at home. He's still moving fine, although his back legs are a little wobbly at times, and he's more alert than he's been since before he was diagnosed. I don't know what to do now - do we increase the dose, leave it alone for a while longer, or decrease it? Please, Help!