Hello, this forum has been a wealth of knowledge but I'd like a little more advice to my situation, as I am not convinced my vet is doing the right thing.
Background: Cat (7 years, very big Siamese mix who is overweight) was drinking large amounts of water and peeing an abnormal amount. Took to vet who weighed him and found he lost two pounds. Initial blood sugar measured there was 400, no ketones found in urine. Doc said he was diabetic and prescribed ProZinc at 2 U morning and night. We were supposed to come back the next day to learn about how to do the injections. In the meantime I read nonstop about this disease and switched him off his dry kibble to the low carb classic pates. The next day I express my concern to the vet about switching diet and starting insulin at same time and she said don't worry this is an underdose. She measured glucose again and this time it was 500 so we figured ok no problem.
Fast forward three days later our new home blood glucose meter comes and we try it out in middle of day and it's reading mid 60s. PMPS that night was 120, we decide no shot. AMPS next day 80's, no shot, PMPS 190 we figure give a shot because it went up. Long story short after that shot we've never seen an AMPS or PMPS above 120. This is only a week after diagnoses at the vet. I think switching food helped immensely, but our vet thinks we should keep doing the insulin twice a day until we do a curve in her office in another week.
Is this bad advice? I feel like the food switch has almost immediately caused remission. I am extremely hesitant to administer more medication when I don't think he needs it. What should I do? Continue to monitor AMPS and PMPS and show the vet in a week? She doesn't seem to think that elevated numbers at the office were due to stress and the poor diet.
Background: Cat (7 years, very big Siamese mix who is overweight) was drinking large amounts of water and peeing an abnormal amount. Took to vet who weighed him and found he lost two pounds. Initial blood sugar measured there was 400, no ketones found in urine. Doc said he was diabetic and prescribed ProZinc at 2 U morning and night. We were supposed to come back the next day to learn about how to do the injections. In the meantime I read nonstop about this disease and switched him off his dry kibble to the low carb classic pates. The next day I express my concern to the vet about switching diet and starting insulin at same time and she said don't worry this is an underdose. She measured glucose again and this time it was 500 so we figured ok no problem.
Fast forward three days later our new home blood glucose meter comes and we try it out in middle of day and it's reading mid 60s. PMPS that night was 120, we decide no shot. AMPS next day 80's, no shot, PMPS 190 we figure give a shot because it went up. Long story short after that shot we've never seen an AMPS or PMPS above 120. This is only a week after diagnoses at the vet. I think switching food helped immensely, but our vet thinks we should keep doing the insulin twice a day until we do a curve in her office in another week.
Is this bad advice? I feel like the food switch has almost immediately caused remission. I am extremely hesitant to administer more medication when I don't think he needs it. What should I do? Continue to monitor AMPS and PMPS and show the vet in a week? She doesn't seem to think that elevated numbers at the office were due to stress and the poor diet.