Blackydaisy
Member Since 2013
Hi, I'm new and my blacky was recently diagnosed.
We were diagnosed little over a week ago. I've been using the alpha trak but I just started using the relion micro. Blacky was hospitalized for 3 days due to severe dehydration. While staying at the hospital he was given 2 units of lantus twice a day but after the third dose the vet decided to decrease to 1 unit, but then also after the third dose it was changed to 1.5. At the hospital they were feeding w/d wet. but after reading this wonderful site I changed the diet to FF. I took the new food to the hospital and told them to only feed FF. The new dose of 1.5 units was a little before the diet change. After one day on FF and when my blacky was discharged they changed the dose again to 1 unit lantus twice a day. So I started doing my own testing using the Alpha trak.
My question is how do I know when to decrease the dose because sometimes I skip a dose. His numbers are not high but they are not that low either. I haven't started the spread sheet yet but so far since last Wednesday (when he came home) the highest number has been 233 but only once most of the time he is between the 120's-190s AT numbers. one time he had a good nadir number of 86. is it ok to be skipping doses? The vet said to try and see how he does with 1 unit once a day. Also his feeding schedule is as follows: I usually give him 1can after insulin even if I skip the dose and give 1/2 a can around or try to give it at mid cycle. He's very hungry although he's not crying for food between meals as often anymore. But he also lost a lot of weight in a very short time he was just skin and bones. He's still skinny but I'm starting to feel a little bit of muscle on his legs.
Should I keep the same feeding schedule?
We were diagnosed little over a week ago. I've been using the alpha trak but I just started using the relion micro. Blacky was hospitalized for 3 days due to severe dehydration. While staying at the hospital he was given 2 units of lantus twice a day but after the third dose the vet decided to decrease to 1 unit, but then also after the third dose it was changed to 1.5. At the hospital they were feeding w/d wet. but after reading this wonderful site I changed the diet to FF. I took the new food to the hospital and told them to only feed FF. The new dose of 1.5 units was a little before the diet change. After one day on FF and when my blacky was discharged they changed the dose again to 1 unit lantus twice a day. So I started doing my own testing using the Alpha trak.
My question is how do I know when to decrease the dose because sometimes I skip a dose. His numbers are not high but they are not that low either. I haven't started the spread sheet yet but so far since last Wednesday (when he came home) the highest number has been 233 but only once most of the time he is between the 120's-190s AT numbers. one time he had a good nadir number of 86. is it ok to be skipping doses? The vet said to try and see how he does with 1 unit once a day. Also his feeding schedule is as follows: I usually give him 1can after insulin even if I skip the dose and give 1/2 a can around or try to give it at mid cycle. He's very hungry although he's not crying for food between meals as often anymore. But he also lost a lot of weight in a very short time he was just skin and bones. He's still skinny but I'm starting to feel a little bit of muscle on his legs.
Should I keep the same feeding schedule?