Info RECENT REMISSIONS?

Not sure what timeframe you mean by recently, or if it's only the newer cats you're interested in. In case you want my info, here it is:

1. Buzz was dx on July 27, 2009.
2. She was exclusively on Idexx PZI.
3. We switched to wet food on August 3, 2009. We went cold turkey from dry to wet with no problems.
4. No other insulins were used between time of dx and remission.
5. Buzz went OTJ on 12/10/09. Her last insulin shot was on 11/26/09. Her average BG from that time until she came back from the falls (1/5/09) was 87.
 
How long was Colby on insulin for and what was his dose? I have Bubba on a diet of 1 gram of carbs and I am so hoping for a remission. How often will you test Colby to know that he is still okay?
 
Bobbie, this isn't a thread that people respond on often. It's used by people who have had cats go into remission and is just a way to celebrate that.

I'd suggest you start a new thread on the regular section with questions and we can help you get Bubba going. (Just refresh the ProZinc forum and then choose Post New Thread)

We put together a protocol for ProZinc. It is in my signature in blue.
 
Thanks so much Sue. This is my first experience with a message board and I don't know how to navigate yet. I appreciate everyone's help. Thanks for the prozinc protocol link.
 
Somogyi effect, hypo, hyper, rebound, etc. then said I was
Can you explain to me what they all are? I just want to make sure I know myself.
The way things are going, I might be posting here. I don't want to jinx myself but you are more then welcome to look at our SS
 
1. Date of Diagnosis
9/5/2015
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
ProZinc
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
9/5/2015
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
None
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then
11/18/2015 Approx 90

Woohoo!
 
Beau:
1. Diagnosis Date: 1/7/16 (he was still a shelter resident until 1/10, so I had no control of his food)
2. Insulin Type: Prozinc
3. Date of food switch : switch to all wet food 1/10/16 , low carb wet 3% on 1/11/16, zero carb wet 1/22/16
4. Beau has not received any other insulin type
5. Last shot date 1/30/16
Range of BG since : 73
BG range 59-93
 
How long was Colby on insulin for and what was his dose? I have Bubba on a diet of 1 gram of carbs and I am so hoping for a remission. How often will you test Colby to know that he is still okay?
Hi! Just saw that you asked a question here--sorry for the late reply. Colby was on insulin for 6 weeks and was in remission for 7 months. He recently became diabetic again and we are treating him w/Prozinc in hopes that he will get better and into remission soon!
 
1. 4/11/16 (insulin started 4/18/16)
2. ProZinc
3. 5/8/16
4. No other insulin
5. 5/14/16, average BG since around 50-55

I suspect Rain's diabetes was steroid induced - she received a steroid injection 3 weeks prior to her diagnosis (only the 2nd shot she'd ever had). I was home testing her from the beginning as I have another sugar cat that went into remission thanks to guidance on this board back in 2010. Rain was free fed Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein dry food up until 5/8 due to food allergies and inability to get her to eat any wet food (had never voluntarily eaten any wet food; she historically had had a lot of issues with food pickiness, vomiting etc.). On 5/6 she stopped eating after a new bag was opened and vomited. She was diagnosed with pancreatitis on 5/7 and was treated (had Cerenia and Mirtazapine on 5/6, received extended release Buprenorphrine on 5/7). She all of a sudden started eating my other cat's low carb Fancy Feast meal on 5/8 and has continue to eat it since. Her BG dropped 100-200+ points just from the diet change, and her insulin requirements dropped dramatically as well (from 0.5 unit BID, to 0.1, then to just a drop), until she went off insulin completely a week later. I believe that diagnosing and treating her underlying chronic pancreatitis (first with the Cerenia and Bupe, now with maintenance Cerenia), diet change to LC wet food (enabled by treating the pancreatitis), and the short course of insulin were all factors in her being able to go into remission (and home testing got us there safely!).
 
Percy

1. 6/9/16 (diagnosed at shelter before that, this was b/w on rescue intake)
2. Prozinc
3. 6/9 (unsure what shelter was feeding from time of diagnosis to release)
4. No (Percy is the only cat I have not used Lantus with)
5. 7/1/16 Unsure of average, range is 72 to 180 (couple high numbers on stressful days) usually in the low 100s

Percy was probably taken off a little more abruptly than I would normally, but he was going back to clinic for surgery and ended up staying there for a month where a shot schedule is not easily kept.

Percy's SS
 
1. Date of Diagnosis 4th August 2016
Started insulin on the 8th

2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
ProZinc

3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
4th August 2016 - she was getting wet food prior to the switch so removed the dry and bought low carb wet

4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
No

5. Date of last shot and average BG since then
28th August 2016 average bg is around 7.0 & 5.0 but coming down still.
 
1. Diagnosed 7/16/16
2. ProZinc
3. Immediately. Started with Fancy Feast Classic Poultry Variety, switched to Dave's 95% Premium beginning of September.
4. No other insulin.
5. Last shot on 10/3, readings in mid-100's since.

Received fructosamine level results yesterday, vet said she is no longer diabetic. :) :otj:
 
Thanks to the great advice and support from people on this site, Bunny is OTJ!

1. Date of Diagnosis: 8/12/16
2. Started ProZinc on 8/13/16
3. Switched to wet food immediately. He eats Fancy Feast pates and chunky chicken. I tried some more expensive brands but he didn't like them as much.
4. No other insulin
5. Date of last shot: 10/1/16; averaging 70 since then
 
1. Date if diagnosis- 8/1/2016
2. Started prozinc-8/12/2016
3. Never switched to wet food. Manny eats 100% dry. He will not transition to wet. 75% solid gold indigo moon (17% carb) and 25% young again mature 0 carb.
4. used Novilin N for 2 weeks. no success on it.
5. last shot was on 10/30/16. That was approx .3 of a unit. He had been taking portions of a unit approx every 7 days for the past month. averaging about 115 for the last 6 days. prior 2 weeks average was around 135. Hoping we can stay off the juice!
 
1. Date of Diagnosis Came out of remission 5 Nov 2016
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.) Prozinc (UK)
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food already on low carb wet
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it not this time
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then
12/12/16. Tested him today and he was 92 (on alphatrak)

If I had not know about this board he would probably never have gone into remission the first time, thank you so much from Angel and me x
 
Splunk and I just wanted to pass along our thanks to all the wonderful, wonderful people here, without whom we would certainly not be OTJ as we are now!!! We really, really appreciate all the help and support from everyone. We got a lot of really terrific advice, and my boy is SO much healthier and happier than he was when we first visited this site.

1. Date of Diagnosis: 28 March 2017, first shot 30 March 2017
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.): ProZinc
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food: weaning off dry from day one, fully off on 27 April, note the BIG difference on the SS as soon as this happened
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it: ProZinc only
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then: 07 May 2017, avg BGL since is approx. 6.8 (122)

Although we've had some trouble with herpes in the last week or so, Splunk is generally much better. His body tremors have resolved, he's not nauseated all the time, he's eating well, peeing normally, and, with some exceptional days, is back to his usual energetic self.

THANK YOU EVERYONE!!
 
❤❤
First time skittles went into remission he was DX in October and in for remission by the end of December using PZI
 
Hi! Just saw that you asked a question here--sorry for the late reply. Colby was on insulin for 6 weeks and was in remission for 7 months. He recently became diabetic again and we are treating him w/Prozinc in hopes that he will get better and into remission soon!
Any idea of why he fell out of remission, mine is also out of remission right now because he has an infected tooth. Right now I cannot afford to get the tooth pulled but while he was on the Antibiotic in the infection is under control he didn't need any insulin but now the medicine is gone and he needs his insulin again. It is very common for anything dealing with teeth issues for the glucose levels to be high.
 
Last edited:
Dx 6/9/2017 BG 400
ProZinc: 2 units, every 12 hours
6/21/2017 am BG was 54
Hasn't has any insulin since.
BG is averaging 107.
Testing BG daily am and pm.
Vet said if he has a reading above 150 to give 1 unit then call her for next steps.
Changed diet cold turkey from dry blue buffalo wilderness weight control to friskies pate and FF classic evening of 6/9. Midnight took to the canned food immediately. We also changed his treats to freeze dried chicken. We're hopeful we may be in the beginning stages of remission. He's playful again and back to fully grooming himself. It's like he's 10 years younger. His appetite, water intake and urine output has leveled off too. He still drinks a lot but he's not urinating as much or as often.
 
I can't believe I'm actually typing this! Hermione has been so bouncy I never thought I'd get her regulated - I never dreamed she might go OTJ :cat: Even if it may not last I'm excited for her! We couldn't have done it without the help & support from everyone here :D

1. Date of Diagnosis: 08/23/2016
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.): ProZinc
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food: She still gets Young Again Zero Carb to graze on, but she started wet food 2x daily with her shots right after diagnosis. Changed from Nature's Variety Instinct dry to YA 09/01/2016, changed from canned (FF & Sheba) to Primal Freeze Dried Raw 12/26/2016
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it: Only ProZinc
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then: 6/16/2017 Average BG 119, but had a few spikes in the 150s. She's typically been 100-110. I use an AlphaTrak 2 meter, so numbers are a touch higher.
 
Hi everyone! I am super excited to announce that we have reached remission (obviously)!!!!

1. DX on February 13, 2017
2. Always been on ProZinc
3. Was always fed 1 can of wet food at night, but began an all-wet food diet on 2/13/2017
4. No other insulin than ProZinc
5. I waited an extra week to announce because Pita was given .1 units on 2 consecutive mornings only, 2 weeks ago. When I do NOT count those two mornings, he's been off insulin for 3 weeks now. But, I wanted to make 100% and started over after that second .1 unit was given. Last shot at .1 was on 8/2/2017, otherwise if you don't count that, it was on 7/26/2017!

I am beyond grateful to so many members I can't even count. It's been a long journey and I still actually feel like a newbie. I kept my head up, tested like crazy, fed only wet food, added YA Zero (testing treats) and just followed his lead. There were lots of frustrating and hopeless feeing moments when testing wasn't going well or he kept going higher again, but I honestly can't believe it's been 6 months! It flew by.
I do need to say that while ecstatic, I am also TERRIFIED of what happens when I move across the country in 27 days. I know he will obviously go higher but I am hoping, wishing, praying that he can settle back down and stick with this remission for as long as possible. I will post more before the move because I already have a million questions about what to do next!
However, for the next 27 days here, we will party and be grateful for finding this amazing site. SO MUCH LOVE!

~Caitlin & Pita (and civvie Brat)
 
So happy to finally be able to post on here!

1. Date of Diagnosis
- February 2017
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
- ProZinc
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
- Fed free choice Hill's WD/MD + 2 tbps canned before shots. Switched to Fancy Feast pate 5/2/17, and Dr. Elsey's dry on 5/10/17. Finally YoungAgain dry on 6/28 and saw the biggest difference, even without canned.
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
- No other insulins.
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then
- 9/8/2017. Readings have progressively gotten lower, usually ~60.
 
So happy to finally be able to post on here!

1. Date of Diagnosis
- February 2017
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
- ProZinc
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
- Fed free choice Hill's WD/MD + 2 tbps canned before shots. Switched to Fancy Feast pate 5/2/17, and Dr. Elsey's dry on 5/10/17. Finally YoungAgain dry on 6/28 and saw the biggest difference, even without canned.
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
- No other insulins.
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then
- 9/8/2017. Readings have progressively gotten lower, usually ~60.
Congratulations!! :smuggrin:
 
So happy to finally be able to post on here!

1. Date of Diagnosis
- February 2017
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
- ProZinc
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
- Fed free choice Hill's WD/MD + 2 tbps canned before shots. Switched to Fancy Feast pate 5/2/17, and Dr. Elsey's dry on 5/10/17. Finally YoungAgain dry on 6/28 and saw the biggest difference, even without canned.
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
- No other insulins.
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then
- 9/8/2017. Readings have progressively gotten lower, usually ~60.
latest
:otj::otj::otj:
 
1. 9/11/2017
2. ProZinc. Started at 2u twice per day; decreased to 1u, then to .5u, finally to .25u.
3. We switched to Fancy Feast Classic Pate immediately based on information I learned from this site.
4. None.
5. Last shot was .25u on 10/22/2017. Average AM BG 94.64; average PM BG 97.21.

We will continue to monitor maybe once a week for a bit, but we are pretty happy for JD! Off the juice!
 
1. 9/11/2017
2. ProZinc. Started at 2u twice per day; decreased to 1u, then to .5u, finally to .25u.
3. We switched to Fancy Feast Classic Pate immediately based on information I learned from this site.
4. None.
5. Last shot was .25u on 10/22/2017. Average AM BG 94.64; average PM BG 97.21.

We will continue to monitor maybe once a week for a bit, but we are pretty happy for JD! Off the juice!

Woohoo!!! Congratulations, JD (and Bryan & Sarah)!
 
1. Date of Diagnosis: August 30, 2017
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.): ProZinc
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food: September 27, 2017
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it: N/A
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then: October 29, 2017, ~122 (hoping for a little lower after his dental but I can live with that)
 
1. Date of Diagnosis: August 30, 2017
2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.): ProZinc
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food: September 27, 2017
4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it: N/A
5. Date of last shot and average BG since then: October 29, 2017, ~122 (hoping for a little lower after his dental but I can live with that)

Congratulations! Great news! It is amazing what a change in diet can do.
 
Hi I am new and posted this in another forum where I then read that thread doesn't get much traffic. Hopefully this is the right place. Here is the post:

Can someone offer any advice?

I think my little Nonny who was only diagnosed a month ago is going into remission. Her clinical signs are amazing (she has gained weight and looks great, she had neuropathy on both feet and that has disappeared, she is eating, peeing, drinking normally and has her catitude back. She and she fell within what would be considered tight regulation in the past week. I home test and she is on Prozinc- started on 2 units x 2 and recently went down to 1 unit x 2. Here's what they look like: The numbers you see posted are pre-meal numbers except where indicated - paying particular attention to tonight's number. She is 10 and was raised on kibble until 2 years ago but I put her back on kibble because of the mess and my lifestyle. A year later, she was diabetic. She is now being fed Purina Veterinary DM but will be transitioned to Fancy Feast at some point. --- I am a bit concerned about how low her numbers are tonight with no insulin and after a meal. Any advice? --- by the way this is my first time posting. Hi everyone!

Nov 14 9:15 am 9.3
2:30 pm 3.1 (gave 1/5 can to prevent hypo)
9:00 pm 9.9

Nov 15 9:00 am 8.1
2:30 pm 3.5 (gave 1/5 can to prevent hypo)
9:18 pm 10.1

Nov 16 9:25 am 7.6 insulin witheld
10:41 am 7 I unit given (a reduction from 2 units on advice of the vet)
1:30 pm 3.6
9:30 pm 8.6

Nov 17 9:20 am 7.3
9:45 on 7.7

Nov 18 today 9:15 am 9.7
2:30 am 3.3
9:20 pm 5.8 ......... Insulin Withheld - meal given
10:50 pm 4.1 ........ she had a meal an hour before, received no inulin and her number is lower than before she ate.

I am using an Alphatrak 2 monitor. Has anyone ever seen this happen? I am thinking she may be going into remission but that is an awfully low post meal reading for a newly diagnosed cat and has me a bit nervous.
 
Rocky was diagnosed on June 1, 2018. His BG at the vets was 467. Started on Pro-zinc 2 units twice a day. Changed food to Fresh Pet around July 5. Numbers were not coming down and we increased insulin to 3 units twice daily. Started on Fancy Feast Classic Chicken 7/11 and numbers started to drop immediately. Had one set back when we took him to the vet to update his injections and it took 4 days to get his BG levels to respond again. Increased insulin to 3.5 twice daily on July 16. His BG started dropping steadily. We are now on day two with no insulin and his numbers are in the 100 - 130 range. I hope this means he is going into remission. Thank you forum members for all your advice and thank you Fancy Feast. If you do not have a spreadsheet started and are not testing your kitties blood at home I urge you to do so.
 
1. Date of Diagnosis - 2/28/2018

2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc)
ProZinc
3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
Had been feeding wet food for a year prior was a special food for UTI,’s prescriptive Royal Canin UTO

4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it - NOT APPLICABLE

5. Date of last shot and average BG since then - 3/18/2018
AVERAGE BG depends on the food AND what monitor you are using - I’m using AlphaTrak - I’m gauging only from the last 12 tests = 100
 
My fat cat was diagnosed June 20, 2018 and was on ProZinc. On Aug. 25, I changed his diet to all canned food - Fancy Feast chicken feast pate. He hasn't had BG above 10.5, or 190, since Sept. 9, 2018. The last time he had insulin was Sept. 8. I just tested him an hour after he ate, and he was at 5. So two weeks after going on all wet food, he no longer needed insulin. I want to thank people on this forum for helping me when I started doing home testing. You helped calm me down and answer my questions. I am so pleased my boy doesn't need insulin anymore. He is playing more -- he even caught a couple of mice -- one outside and one inside our travel trailer. His coat is shiny and soft, he pees WAY less, he is putting weight on and sleeps less. I hope he continues this way. I will never again feed him dry food. I wish all of you the best, and thanks again.
 
@fatcat Congratulations! Nice job getting Tige into remission. Keep checking his BG periodically just to make sure he stays in remission! May his remission be long and strong! :otj::joyful:
 
My fat cat was diagnosed June 20, 2018 and was on ProZinc. On Aug. 25, I changed his diet to all canned food - Fancy Feast chicken feast pate. He hasn't had BG above 10.5, or 190, since Sept. 9, 2018. The last time he had insulin was Sept. 8. I just tested him an hour after he ate, and he was at 5. So two weeks after going on all wet food, he no longer needed insulin. I want to thank people on this forum for helping me when I started doing home testing. You helped calm me down and answer my questions. I am so pleased my boy doesn't need insulin anymore. He is playing more -- he even caught a couple of mice -- one outside and one inside our travel trailer. His coat is shiny and soft, he pees WAY less, he is putting weight on and sleeps less. I hope he continues this way. I will never again feed him dry food. I wish all of you the best, and thanks again.
Congratulations!!! :)
 
Back
Top