KaitandMK
Member Since 2019
Hi everyone!
This is my first post here. Although, I read all of your posts quite often. I first want to say thank you for providing such wonderful advice and support!
My 15 year old cat, Miss Kitty, is diabetic. The last few weeks have been quite the emotional rollercoaster for everyone. Miss Kitty’s diabetic journey began two years ago. She was drinking excessively and we took her to the vet. Her BG was over 600. We started her on vetsulin and changed her food to FF Pates. Within about 6 months, her sugar was consistently staying 90-150. She was OTJ.
About two months ago.. We noticed her appetite increased tremendously. This is where I think we dropped the ball. Miss Kitty is very picky and we were thrilled that she was eating! She wanted food and we did not have to constantly chase her around during feeding times. Little did we know, she was hungry because she was (and had been) out of remission. We have another cat, who is also diabetic. She is on vetsulin and for the most part, doing well. I test at home and I would test Miss Kitty as well – but obviously not as often as I should have been. For this, I feel awful and sad. Her physical state was great though. I had no reason to think that internally she was a disaster.
Anyways.. Back on track.
Miss Kitty got an ear infection. Her ear was oozing and had a lot of wax inside. We took her to the vet. She is an aggressive kitty (not to us.. She’s the sweetest!) – but to anyone else.. She is fiesty. The vet recommended putting in the claro drops that last for a month. We did that and went home. Two weeks passed, Miss Kitty is not getting better. She can’t hear and she is stumbling. We take her back.. They send us home with tresaderm.. 4 drops/2x day and a wash. I am doing this for another two weeks. Knowing what I know now, I wonder if any of this played a part in what was to follow.. although, most of you here will know more about that than me.
The ear looks better but she is getting worse. She’s hiding in places that I don’t even know how she got into. She’s lethargic. Her walk is very off. She’s losing weight. For the first time, I’m thinking it’s her diabetes. It’s back. I test at home and it’s 228. I was expecting it to be high.. 500, 600. I’m stumped at this point.
Late Saturday evening.. She’s looking very bad. We rush her to the animal hospital. Finally, they tell us.. We are in a bad situation – DKA. Her BG is 490 and her ketones are up. I can’t remember exactly how high.. I’m not near the paperwork.. But they tell us she needs immediate hospitalization.
So, over the next week.. My poor little Miss Kitty is put through it all. She is on a constant insulin, feeding tube, antibiotics.. Around day 3, she gets a blood transfusion. Her ketones are back to 0. We visit her every day and she looks tired. She looks tired and she looks bad. She’s not eating but at the time that was the least of their worries, since the feeding tube is in. Her sugar is still 300-450.. With being on the constant insulin. No one can give an explanation.. They simply don’t know why this is. They do an ultrasound and it is consistent with a bright liver and possibly some pancreatitis. They don’t find any lumps or tumors during the ultrasound. During examination, they don’t feel she is in pain. On Day 4, they call and tell us to expect the worse. This is not looking good.. BG still high, not eating, very lethargic.. Please think about putting her down.
I am heartbroken.. This is my best friend. I can’t do that!! I tell them - Please, do everything that you can!! But deep down, I know that she cannot live forever.. Maybe this is her time. I hope not, but I will not let her suffer. We go to visit her that day and the entire hospital has no words. Miss Kitty is walking around.. She’s growling again.. When they leave the room, we offer her some food and she dives right in! The entire hospital cheers!! They tell us continue the treatment.
The ER vet that was there when MK checked in is back. She is the best vet I have personally ever interacted with. She tells us please don’t give up on MK. She tells us how everyone is asking.. What is going on with this cat? Have you talked to the owners about putting her down? What are they going to do? She said.. Just wait. I’m not giving up on her and neither are they. I am so thankful for her.
Day 6.. MK comes home. She’s skinny. She’s tired but she is the best I have seen her in past 2 months. She’s playing.. She’s not hiding. She wants to be around us, like usual. She’s eating well and drinking well.
She’s sent home with 1.5 units of Lantus. The vet said she did not want to send her with such a high dose but she’s not responding well. They put on one of the freestyle libres. It has been such a great help. I wonder sometimes if it is accurate but when I test at home, the numbers are very close – so I am inclined to think that it is.
My problems..
On the first night home, MK went from 400 at the vet, slowly down to 94 overnight. I am testing every 2 hours with the libre. Excessively, at this point.. As I don’t want her to go too low. She gets back up to 200. In the morning at insulin time, she is 390. We feed and give the insulin.
The next few days.. We follow the same schedule and her BG is increasing! It stays within 400-500+. The libre reads “HI” after a reading of 500+ and we were getting that quite often throughout the day. She is acting MUCH better, though. She is acting very close to herself, which does make me feel better. I have ketone strips arriving today and I will start monitoring those now as well.
I know that the high readings are no good for her.. I’m so worried. What if we don’t get her regulated? What am I doing wrong? She had a recheck yesterday and they increased her to 2u/2x a day.
She eats Purina DM (which, I wonder is this any good? There is a small amount of gravy in this blend.) I swap this with FF Pates. She likes the Purina DM, so she often gets this because I need her to eat.
Another question I have is.. The vet tells us feed her 2x a day and that is it. I don’t know if this is ideal. When I got her regulated 2 years ago.. She was eating 2x a day with insulin and a small meal around 12-1pm to keep her happy.
She’s hungry. She sits and waits for her food for hours. I don’t know what to do. Do I feed her more often? Am I hurting her if I do that? Do I stick to the 2x a day only? Ugh! I am a mess. She looks so thin. Her weight at the vet yesterday was 8.5lbs. She’s a tiny little thing but I feel like this is too thin. The vet (same hospital/different vet) tells us that he feels okay about this weight. But I don’t, her sides seem “sunk in”. Is she dehydrated? I don’t know
Will it just take time for her to build up more strength and put some weight on? She’s been through so much last week!
Any advice, please! I appreciate anything you can tell me.. Any tips.. Anything I am doing wrong.. Anything I should change. I wish I could be of more help here - but I can be a listening ear if anyone needs to talk!!
So sorry for the long post.. I just wanted to get everything out there, maybe I just need to talk
Overview -
Thank you so much!!
This is my first post here. Although, I read all of your posts quite often. I first want to say thank you for providing such wonderful advice and support!
My 15 year old cat, Miss Kitty, is diabetic. The last few weeks have been quite the emotional rollercoaster for everyone. Miss Kitty’s diabetic journey began two years ago. She was drinking excessively and we took her to the vet. Her BG was over 600. We started her on vetsulin and changed her food to FF Pates. Within about 6 months, her sugar was consistently staying 90-150. She was OTJ.
About two months ago.. We noticed her appetite increased tremendously. This is where I think we dropped the ball. Miss Kitty is very picky and we were thrilled that she was eating! She wanted food and we did not have to constantly chase her around during feeding times. Little did we know, she was hungry because she was (and had been) out of remission. We have another cat, who is also diabetic. She is on vetsulin and for the most part, doing well. I test at home and I would test Miss Kitty as well – but obviously not as often as I should have been. For this, I feel awful and sad. Her physical state was great though. I had no reason to think that internally she was a disaster.
Anyways.. Back on track.
Miss Kitty got an ear infection. Her ear was oozing and had a lot of wax inside. We took her to the vet. She is an aggressive kitty (not to us.. She’s the sweetest!) – but to anyone else.. She is fiesty. The vet recommended putting in the claro drops that last for a month. We did that and went home. Two weeks passed, Miss Kitty is not getting better. She can’t hear and she is stumbling. We take her back.. They send us home with tresaderm.. 4 drops/2x day and a wash. I am doing this for another two weeks. Knowing what I know now, I wonder if any of this played a part in what was to follow.. although, most of you here will know more about that than me.
The ear looks better but she is getting worse. She’s hiding in places that I don’t even know how she got into. She’s lethargic. Her walk is very off. She’s losing weight. For the first time, I’m thinking it’s her diabetes. It’s back. I test at home and it’s 228. I was expecting it to be high.. 500, 600. I’m stumped at this point.
Late Saturday evening.. She’s looking very bad. We rush her to the animal hospital. Finally, they tell us.. We are in a bad situation – DKA. Her BG is 490 and her ketones are up. I can’t remember exactly how high.. I’m not near the paperwork.. But they tell us she needs immediate hospitalization.
So, over the next week.. My poor little Miss Kitty is put through it all. She is on a constant insulin, feeding tube, antibiotics.. Around day 3, she gets a blood transfusion. Her ketones are back to 0. We visit her every day and she looks tired. She looks tired and she looks bad. She’s not eating but at the time that was the least of their worries, since the feeding tube is in. Her sugar is still 300-450.. With being on the constant insulin. No one can give an explanation.. They simply don’t know why this is. They do an ultrasound and it is consistent with a bright liver and possibly some pancreatitis. They don’t find any lumps or tumors during the ultrasound. During examination, they don’t feel she is in pain. On Day 4, they call and tell us to expect the worse. This is not looking good.. BG still high, not eating, very lethargic.. Please think about putting her down.
I am heartbroken.. This is my best friend. I can’t do that!! I tell them - Please, do everything that you can!! But deep down, I know that she cannot live forever.. Maybe this is her time. I hope not, but I will not let her suffer. We go to visit her that day and the entire hospital has no words. Miss Kitty is walking around.. She’s growling again.. When they leave the room, we offer her some food and she dives right in! The entire hospital cheers!! They tell us continue the treatment.
The ER vet that was there when MK checked in is back. She is the best vet I have personally ever interacted with. She tells us please don’t give up on MK. She tells us how everyone is asking.. What is going on with this cat? Have you talked to the owners about putting her down? What are they going to do? She said.. Just wait. I’m not giving up on her and neither are they. I am so thankful for her.
Day 6.. MK comes home. She’s skinny. She’s tired but she is the best I have seen her in past 2 months. She’s playing.. She’s not hiding. She wants to be around us, like usual. She’s eating well and drinking well.
She’s sent home with 1.5 units of Lantus. The vet said she did not want to send her with such a high dose but she’s not responding well. They put on one of the freestyle libres. It has been such a great help. I wonder sometimes if it is accurate but when I test at home, the numbers are very close – so I am inclined to think that it is.
My problems..
On the first night home, MK went from 400 at the vet, slowly down to 94 overnight. I am testing every 2 hours with the libre. Excessively, at this point.. As I don’t want her to go too low. She gets back up to 200. In the morning at insulin time, she is 390. We feed and give the insulin.
The next few days.. We follow the same schedule and her BG is increasing! It stays within 400-500+. The libre reads “HI” after a reading of 500+ and we were getting that quite often throughout the day. She is acting MUCH better, though. She is acting very close to herself, which does make me feel better. I have ketone strips arriving today and I will start monitoring those now as well.
I know that the high readings are no good for her.. I’m so worried. What if we don’t get her regulated? What am I doing wrong? She had a recheck yesterday and they increased her to 2u/2x a day.
She eats Purina DM (which, I wonder is this any good? There is a small amount of gravy in this blend.) I swap this with FF Pates. She likes the Purina DM, so she often gets this because I need her to eat.
Another question I have is.. The vet tells us feed her 2x a day and that is it. I don’t know if this is ideal. When I got her regulated 2 years ago.. She was eating 2x a day with insulin and a small meal around 12-1pm to keep her happy.
She’s hungry. She sits and waits for her food for hours. I don’t know what to do. Do I feed her more often? Am I hurting her if I do that? Do I stick to the 2x a day only? Ugh! I am a mess. She looks so thin. Her weight at the vet yesterday was 8.5lbs. She’s a tiny little thing but I feel like this is too thin. The vet (same hospital/different vet) tells us that he feels okay about this weight. But I don’t, her sides seem “sunk in”. Is she dehydrated? I don’t know
Any advice, please! I appreciate anything you can tell me.. Any tips.. Anything I am doing wrong.. Anything I should change. I wish I could be of more help here - but I can be a listening ear if anyone needs to talk!!
So sorry for the long post.. I just wanted to get everything out there, maybe I just need to talk
Overview -
- Miss Kitty diagnosed DKA last week. Spends 6 days in the hospital – constant insulin, feeding tube, blood transfusion.
- Sent home with 1.5u of lantus 2x a day. Increased to 2u 2x a day.
- BG not responding well. Staying 400-500 most of the day.
- Eating Purina DM with small amount of gravy and FF Pates twice a day.
- Testing with Freestyle libre and test strips at home.
Thank you so much!!

