Really need advice on dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Murphy (GA)

Member Since 2015
So, I was trying to get Murphy as regulated as possible in preparation for my having to go out of town very early Thursday morning until Saturday evening (going across the country) My petsitter can not test and I was going to ask for help in setting a vacation dose
I had been giving him between skinny 3 and 2.5 units (had 2.5 this am) - his pmps (I stalled twice and tested three times) is below 200 - so no insulin tonight
please look at his spreadsheet and tell me what is going on with him -
now I am going to be too terrified to have the sitter give him any insulin (beginning Thursday morning) without testing him, but also terrified to have him go without insulin for three days
help please!!!
 
Hey Carol, you could always test him two hours after you fed him and if his number is higher that 200 go ahead and give insulin. It will mess up your schedule but you can give 15 mins earlier with every cycle until you are back to your normal times. I will let the others help you with the dosing as I am not comfortable with that.
 
well, both but tonight is more immediate - I just tested him and it's (238) but he ate about 45 minutes ago - I think I will give him a token 0.5 unit?
 
Hey Carol, you could always test him two hours after you fed him and if his number is higher that 200 go ahead and give insulin. It will mess up your schedule but you can give 15 mins earlier with every cycle until you are back to your normal times. I will let the others help you with the dosing as I am not comfortable with that.
I am going to tag @Robin&BB and @Rachel to see if they have any ideas about the vacation dose for Murphy.
 
@Robin&BB -- did I screw up?
No, dear - you didn't screw up; that token dose should be fine. Please get in a mid-cycle test tonight, if possible - and make sure you add in that additional 25 minute delay when you decide on what time to test.

As for vacation dose when your pet sitter can't test; that's a tough call, Carol, because there are so many variables to consider. I would like to see how he does on the token dose you just gave him tonight before we ponder that further.
 
Looking at his SS: I'd say you probably want to test in the time frame around +5.5 to +6-ish.
 
okay I guess I should not have give him the dose but I've also read on the forum unless it's really low it's best to give them something - could his pancreas have spurted out some insulin today
 
Well, as he was up to 177 after you'd been stalling, I really don't think that 0.5 will cause you a problem tonight; I think you were ok to give him that token 0.5 because you do keep an eye on Murphy. (Would have been another matter had it been the full dose. What you gave him was just a fraction of that.):)
 
These darn cats...they really know how to throw a monkey wrench. If you exclude tonight, it appears that a 2.5u may get you into the yellows and not dipping too low. You will not know this but I am assuming that your pre-shots will be pretty high so you may have not gotten a mid 300 number otherwise. Just throwing that out there to start the conversation regarding the vacation dose.
 
The fact that he went down 100 points after the +7 is a bit worrisome (NOT bad...just worrisome since you're leaving tomorrow). I'm thinking maybe reduce to 2...keeps the numbers high probably but should be safe.

Any way you could run a curve today? Get numbers every 2 hours? You do great at testing, and a curve might help us get an idea of what happens in the later hours of the day.
 
Good advice, Rachel My hay fever turned into a rip roaring sinusitis yesterday and my face and teeth are going to explode. I am going to cancel my trip -partly because of Murphy but mostly because I feel too awful to travel to California. Since his amps was 597 this morning (bounce plus low dose last night?) I will do a curve once he settles down thanks for all the input
 
Good advice, Rachel My hay fever turned into a rip roaring sinusitis yesterday and my face and teeth are going to explode. I am going to cancel my trip -partly because of Murphy but mostly because I feel too awful to travel to California. Since his amps was 597 this morning (bounce plus low dose last night?) I will do a curve once he settles down thanks for all the input
Feel better Carol and sorry about you having to cancel your trip. Maybe for the best for you and Murphy. :bighug:
 
Sorry about your trip, Carol. But take good care of yourself - chicken soup/ ginger tea maybe? - and your boy Murphy. (I know you always do a great job of taking care of him.:)) Feel better soon!:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top