Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106, +8 121 ATrak gbtb

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148 ATrk

tysm Ann
thank you Sienne, You better believe it! +1 and +2 fer shers. My sanity is on the rocks!!

omg that's a great idea. I deserve a half a shot of something myself.


Thank you everyone who gave me a thought or an encouraging note - Sienne, Ronnie, Libby, Ann, Julie, Marjorie, binks, you're all going in my will. Sienne already has dibs on a kidney but the rest of you can split my collection of odd-fitting clothes and historical fantsy novels.

Srsly.

Sarah.
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148, +1 157 ATrk, +2 137.. question (sig

Think it's OK to wait 2 hrs for testing again?
I'm breathing a little now. Even have dinner on the stove.

EDIT: Whoops. forgot to edit the first msg subject line. heh
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148, +1 157 ATrk, +2 137 question? (sigh

how about splitting the difference and testing at +3.5? That's one of my favorite tests. :lol: Simba is already dropping at +2, so +3 will probably be lower and +3.5 might be green.
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148, +1 157 ATrk, +2 137

Sounds like a plan :) dinnertime

EDIT: Dinner was Sooo good. Taking better care of myself today. Have a feeling I'll sleep well too, if Simba and his numbers let me.

I couldn't get a sample. The alpha track is supposed to take .3 microlitre, but it's really not. I guess I'm doing it wrong. alsdkfjasldalsdkfjflapjacks. being impatient, I guess.

I think his protests are a good sign though. He's bein feisty

22 strips left.

I keep editing my posts. lol. Is that frowned upon?
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148, +1 157 ATrk, +2 137

if there's a rule about not editing posts, i'm in trouble. i think it's a GO AHEAD! everybody gets one a day, so you pretty much have to edit and repost.

glad you're getting settled in. you sound a lot better now - i think you found home! doesn't this feel safer? these people are pros - not me, but a lot of the rest. you're in good hands now. simba too!

btw, you probably need to get more strips tomorrow.

i'm so sad the historical novels are gone. have any science fiction or fantasy? ;-)
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148, +1 157 ATrk, +2 137, won't bleed fo

Simba won't bleed for +4

Why does he want to make me cry?

He wasn't this angry about being pricked before. The ears are oh so very warm, I'm doing everything I always did... but no blood. Or not enough. I even read over the instructions again for the damn thing, and the .3microlitre I WAS able to pull, didn't read.

Someone tell me it's ok to wait for +5... or +6? I can't believe how upset he got.

He won't even let me touch his paws. The vet uses his paws, I never have.

And thanks Julie :D you can have my Douglas Adams and assorted fantasy :D

Hi Celi :D Dinner was chicken over grains with mushroom sauce (made of mushroop soup!)... grains was a neat mix from costco: Basmati, wild rice and quinoa!
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148, +1 157 ATrk, +2 137,won't bleed for

you just described my favorite dinner! nom nom nom

i don't know about the skipping or not, but maybe someone else will pop on and answer. you can edit your subject line with a big "question" or "help" to get more attention.

but for the ear prick, did you try both ears? they're warm, can you shine a flashlight through from the backside and see the vein better? also, a couple of times i've had that experience and i've just tossed the lancet and pulled out a new one. maybe some of them are bad. ::sh:: don't tell, but a few times i've gotten so frustrated i've just hit the vein on purpose to get done with it. just be prepared for it to bleed more than you expect and make sure you hold it to stop the flow afterwards so it doesn't bruise.
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148, +1 157 ATrk, +2 137, QUESTION

Thanks Julie.. *gives Julie a generous helping of dindins!*

I hate using caps, it makes me sound rude!! lol. It's a canadian thing. We'd rather bleed out then disturb someone if our polite requests have gone unnoticed.

I did try both ears, and didn't prick vein. I've done it before, but I don't really understand the reprocussions, so I haven't done it much. Thanks for the reassurance that, though not optimal, it's ok now and then.

His ears aren't the furriest, so it's pretty easy to see all his cute lil veins. I really need to get some vaseline though, sometimes the blood escapes through that scant fur.

I was so relaxed all day, now I'm a pack of knots.


Repeat of the question in question:

I couldn't get a +4...

Someone tell me it's ok to wait for +5... or +6? I can't believe how upset he got.
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148, +1 157 ATrk, +2 137, QUESTION

Sarah, you should be fine waiting to take a +5 or +6. You're doing great and really getting a FDB trial by fire early on. What a great cat mama! With these numbers and the reduction, I think it's okay to give him and you a little rest. I don't consider myself an expert, but as long as Simba eats a little during this wait, I think you're fine.
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148, +1 157 ATrk, +2 137, QUESTION

i'm gonna tell you it's ok, because what are your options here?

is there a reason you're trying to do it every hour? it's not like you have a low number, but i really am not qualified to say much. i don't know what the difference is between the A-Track and the human monitors.

ah yes, i have a good friend who is canadian and she's very polite too. americans tend towards rude, i guess, at least to other nationalities.

but i'm crowning you queen of the evening, so stand on your chair, delete your other stuff and say "Need Quick Advice Please"

see the please outweighs the initial caps, and initial caps isn't as yelling as all caps. Go for it. and i'm bumping you up.

maybe what your real question is, is how often do you need to test tonight?
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148, +1 157 ATrk, +2 137, QUESTION

Thank you so much Janice. It's so hard to do this with no one to hold him .. or me. Without you guys I wouldn't be able to do it at all.

I did have him eat - he doesn't eat much at a time, generally speaking, but he did eat some.

How do people do this solo?? this is so hard. Every time I think I have a bit of a grasp on it, the rug is whipped out from under me.

What does FDB stand for?
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148, +1 157 ATrk, +2 137, QUESTION

oh yeah,

OH, I see you got one answer! woot for Janice.

and go ahead and poke the vein. i've done it about 100 times - it's just that they bruise more than otherwise. make sure you pinch it til it stops bleeding to prevent that.
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148, +1 157 ATrk, +2 137, QUESTION

FDB is Feline Diabetes. You're doing great. Julie's suggestion is good... change your subject (on the original post) to something more like a name, BG number and "Okay to go to bed?" Did someone advise you to do the hourly checks?
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148, +1 157 ATrk, +2 137, QUESTION

FD = feline diabetes - not sure about the B.

it's because you're being faced with a ton of new stuff all at once. once you get the basics down there's still stuff to learn, but it's not so overwhelming. I remember thinking "hey, it's only been 4 days and i already have a little bit down." it really does get easier.

just looked at your spreadsheet, you've had a decrease in dose and simba's numbers are fine. i think you can relax while you wait for someone to come by and tell you how frequently you need to keep testing.
 
Re: 3/15 Simba PMPS 148, +1 157 ATrk, +2 137, QUESTION

i just sent a PM to marjorie and asked her to come by. she's helped me a ton and is more of an expert! hopefully she'll see the message!

go ahead and change your subject line! it's ok - everybody does.
 
Re: Simba +2 137, NO +3, NO +4, ok to gtb till +6? HELP PLS?

trial by fire indeed.

he had a drop in numbers.. I'm using an alphatrak so my values are 30 higher.. so even though they look safe...

he was acting weird, and numbers were weird, so Sienne advised me to decrease dose and check +1 +2 but I know onset is like +4 so I'm concerned that I'll miss a tell-tale number.

I have a headache and keep crying. f'n hell. Thank you all so much for kind words, advice and support!!

I really need to sleep, but I don't want to f anything up.

Will there be someone around later for my +6 and +9... and yes, how often SHOULD I be testing tonight? my +6 is due in 45 mins..

I found vaseline!!!!!!

also have a towel nearby in case of burritoville. The real problem are his teeth though. He bites super hard.
 
Re: Simba +2 137, NO +3, NO +4, ok to gtb till +6? HELP PLS?

Sarah, what "+" test would it be for you now? If you can get another test in, that would be great....otherwise I think I'd feed a little snack and head to bed. I'm not an expert, but if you look at Johnny's spreadsheet, you'll see that we had a fast ride down the dosing ladder at first. It's scary, but nice to know that Simba is responding so well. He's not in any danger with his numbers now. When will you be awake to test again, if you went to bed? (what + number)
 
Re: Simba +2 137, NO +3, NO +4, NEED ADVICE PLEASE?

it would be +5.5 right now. I'll get one in. he's rested for about an hour or so. I certainly haven't.
 
Re: Simba +2 137, NO +3, NO +4, NEED ADVICE PLEASE?

sarah, most of the people seem to be on the east coast. i think that's why you're not getting an answer.

So give me a comparable on the Alpha Trak - are you saying that your numbers are about 30 more than the human meters? so your +2 of 137 is a 107?
 
Re: Simba +2 137, NO +3, NO +4, NEED ADVICE PLEASE?

i see you also are on the east coast. i feel really unqualified, but i also am feeling for you. i can tell you what i would do, but i've only been doing this for less than 1 month. Janice, are you more experienced?

edit - janice i see you're at least nearly a year into this. i can stay up with Sarah, but can you answer about how much she should test tonight?
 
Re: Simba +2 137, NO +3, NO +4, NEED ADVICE PLEASE?

you doing ok, sarah? If you can't get it, don't worry!!!! What Janice was saying is that if you give him some food, it will pull up his numbers.

i'm just having this image of you scrambling, exhausted, trying to get this and feeling overwhelmed. ((((((sarah))))))
 
Re: Simba +2 137, NO +3, NO +4, +5.5 106 AlphaTrak

I snuck up on him and I got a vein. even then, it didn't bleed much.

so yeah, my numbers read like this if it was a human meter and followed the assumption that your human meter is 30 mg/dl lower than alphatrak:

03/15/11
AMPS 143
+4 150
+8 65
+9 53
+9.5 56
+10 47
+10.25 40
Gave him food with syrup in it.. he wouldn't eat without it, and I was freaking out.
+10.5 100
+11 110
PMPS 118
+1 127
+2 107
+5.5 76

My vet wanted to keep him between 90 - 180 Alphatrak, or 60 - 150 hooman meter

When he went below that I freaked. She said it wouldn't happen at all. Her advice when I called her right before 'closing time' was 'don't dose PM'. I got advice here and did a reduced dose.

I'm glad I did cuz I want him on track, I'm just scared. I didn't really understand the effects of karo, I thought the numbers would spike up and come back down, and every time I read the meter I though I was reading 'karo' instead of 'real number'... but they seem to have stayed up.

Imma see if he'll eat. If someone could tell me if I can go to bed safely, that'd be nice. If you want to crawl in bed with me and spoon that'd be tops.

Sarah.
 
Re: Simba +2 137, NO +3, NO +4, NEED ADVICE PLEASE?

Julie - Every cat is different, but I do have experience with mine and he is a *dropper* (insulin-sensitive more than most). I think Sarah/Simba are okay to head to bed. I've just never been in the position of saying so to someone, lol. I'll stay up until I hear a new number from Sarah.
 
Re: Simba +2 137, NO +3, NO +4, NEED ADVICE PLEASE?

Julie you hit the nail on the head. You're first in line for giving me spoon-cuddles, k??
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

Hi Janice, I think we posted at the same time.. do you see my new number in post above? I worked out what the numbers would be with a hooman meter
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

i know what you're saying, janice! it feels like a lot of responsibility!

but sarah, you're doing great. So have you fed him since his PM shot?

heehee, you'll have to settle for a virtual hug!
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

Sarah, I don't have experience with AlphaTrak and just realized that you're subtracting 30 points for the difference in your chart. Have you done this all along? I'm sorry I missed that. Given Simba's numbers, I would say you are free to head to bed. Give him a few licks of food if you can, but don't stress. Get some rest. :) Can you post in the a.m. before the shot, maybe 1/2 hour or so? Just for some fresh, keen eyes to see where you are?
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

sarah, your feeding schedule matters - sienne had told me earlier to make sure and get most of the food in the first few hours after the insulin shot. So i feed punkin 1 can of FF with the shot and then usually test him at +3 and give him another 1/2 can then.

(reminds me i need to weigh the moose and make sure he's not gaining weight)

other than that, i don't feed him unless giving him gravy to pull up a low blood sugar. I'm just bringing up the issue because i can't tell about your feeding times. initially i was feeding punkin 4 times a day evenly spaced out and i don't think it worked for him to do that.
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

p.s. You're doing great! I didn't mean to sound negative about the Alpha Trak. You are doing everything right for Simba. Sleep well, both of you! Oh- and make sure to leave some food out! :)
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

i think that's great advice. i saw you started posting really early my time this morning - and i'm on the west coast. you must be exhausted.

are you ok with feeding him a little and heading for bed? then posting his AMPS about 1/2 hour before he needs his insulin? Start a new condo post tomorrow, but you might include a link to this one.

thanks janice! i'm glad you knew what you were doing!
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak PETRIFIED. ne1 be here in 2

I'm petrified that I'll test for +9, get a super low number and no one will be here.

I'll do my best. he ate well at around PM +2, and just had a couple licks of high protein/low carbs.

my +9 is 3:45am EST
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

Julie, you were great, too. Sometimes just knowing others are watching is better than coffee! I think Sarah was maybe safe to head to bed earlier than now, I just had never been the one to say "light's out!"
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

sarah, janice was saying to leave out some food. if he's eating, he's not going to plummet suddenly. that's your safety net for tonight and someone can advise you tomorrow who knows more than me.

+9 isn't usually when lantus peaks - it's usually somewhere around the middle (+4-+7), although of course, disclaimer that cats can react differently.

the thing is you gotta sleep at some point! i'd take janice's advice and set your alarm to test him 30 minutes before you need to give him his morning shot.

there are people who test their cats during the night, so someone might be on at 4am. if i were you, i'd go to bed.

you've done great today! Simba is doing just fine.
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

Hi Sarah, you have had a very busy day today but have handled it well.

I will keep checking on you if you like. I understand your concern about the 106 AlphaTrak (76 human meter) and it would make me a little nervous too if I was just beginning the diabetes sugar dance with my kitty.

Those first scary numbers made me shake in my boots... had I been wearing boots. :lol:

If you do want to go to bed, please make sure and leave food available for Simba. Does Simba eat when he gets low or do you have to kind of 'encourage' him? I'm sorry I'm not up to speed on your history... I'm on vacation. hee hee.

Anyway I will keep you company as needed since my time is 6 hours behind you. It's only a little after 8pm for me.
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

I am exhausted. I cry when I'm tired+stressed. alot.

as for his eating patterns, he's new to wet food and won't eat much of it. Sorry for the confusing chart.. He's actually eaten more today then he did yesterday. I usually feed after shot and after each reading.

but he doesn't eat much at a time, I can't even estimate, that's been one of the most trying parts of this excercise - he doesn't like treats and he doesn't eat much wet food. he hasn't looked at the dry.

he likes petromalt. I should have thought of that while I was panicking today. I'll test him at +9 and if he's low, give him petromalt.

I'll try to sleep but I suspect I'll be listening for seizures all night.

icandothisicandothisicandothisicandothistellmeicandothis
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

Yes! You can do this.

He is getting further along in this cycle and isn't too low. That 106 (76) is actually very pretty. Eating some food will help him stay level and surf. Soon it will be close to the average nadir point and you will be able to breathe easier.

This does get easier as the days go along... I promise. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

Hi CD thank you for dropping in!!

He needs heavy encouragement. (to eat well, I mean)

Thank you Janice and Julie for sitting up with me and for all your much needed help.

ok. getting some sleep now. or at least rest.

edit: I would love treat him to a brand new shiny surfboard!!
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

you can do this! I had to stop and test punkin! almost forgot about my little guy.

someone (i wish i knew who because i keep quoting them) said to remember that this is a marathon, not a sprint. he's not in a crisis. you wanna take care of yourself too! Simba needs you!

have a good night - i'm headed for bed myself!

heehee, thanks janice. i'm good for moral support, but sure don't feel comfy giving technical advice! and nice to meet you!

and sarah, if i were you, i'd leave out a little food and go to bed - and sleep knowing you're doing everything possible to take care of your buddy!
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

You ARE doing this, Sarah! And very well. It's so hard at first, so much to learn! You are doing it all so well for Simba. He's lucky you're his mama. You're in great hands with CD...I'll check on you in the a.m.
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

Thank you ladies, sleep well.

CD, I"ll see you in a while - tysm

<3 you all
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

btw, the first 2 weeks with testing punkin at home i woke up every morning thinking he'd probably died during the night.

it really does get better. i don't think that anymore.

yay, i'm glad CD is here for ya. you might want to update your subject line - you probably need to be consistent in either using the A-trak numbers or the human meter translation, just to get the best advice.
 
Re: Simba +2 137 +5.5 106 ATrak When should I test next?

What? No I posted subject line in atrak values, within one of my posts is where I made the human meter conversions. His human meter +5.5 was 76.

I'm in bed now feel better already but will come back for +8... And then again for +9
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top