Re: Misho 11/25- AMPS- 355

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Misho 11/08 - PMPS -421 @+4 -378- AMPS -144 !

We are fine Sarah. Thank you and have a happy day :YMHUG:
 
Re: Misho 11/08 - PMPS -421 @+4 -378- AMPS -144 !

Good morning everyone. Something strange happened this morning and I just wanted to share it. Since we went back to 2U on the 6th I haven't seen low pre-shot or even nice blue numbers except on two tests @AM+8 .Last night I was surprised to see a red pre shot of 421 and this morning like a bold from the blue AMPS - 144 :o
I have often been told that usually with Levemir kitties the nadir is their pre shot number while for us it has always been @+8 but for the 4th time since we joined the FDMB I see his nadir as pre shot number. I have no idea how it happened I even re tested to be sure it is not a mistake second number 151-normal to see difference in two consecutive tests. I shot the usual 2U fed Misho half of his AM food and will be back @+2 to be sure his number is rising. Any idea for his PMPS and AMPS ?
 
Re: Misho 11/05 AMPS -329 @+8- 211 PMPS- 333

If you get 2 consecutive tests and they are within 20% or each other, you may consider then the same, i.e. if 1.2 * low number is > 0.8 * high number.

He might be OK shooting the 2 units, given Lev's smooth action. The high number you mentioned, though, could be a bouce from going lower than his normal. If you think that he might have gone too low, skinnying the dose might be prudent.
 
Re: Misho 11/08- PMPS-421/AMPS 144 @+2-149 @+4-74

Misho's BG at +2 was 149 @-) I fed him about 30grams (50 @AMPS) I came back for +4 test - 74 @-) I fed him the last 20grams from his AM meal anзd will stay here for +5 test.We have never had such a day like this and I have no idea how all of a sudden after 3 days with high pre shots and mid high numbers most of the day he now surfs as you say and his range is pretty good. I so much hope he will keep these numbers for the rest of the day .

EDIT- BĢ dropping !!! @+5- 54 fed 20grams extra , some honey and dry food added.
@+5:30- 54 ca 20grams regular food @+6- 59 @+6:45-56 If BG continues to surf in this range I will definitely need advice for Misho's PM shot and I hope someone will be online then
Finally @+7:30- 77
 
Re: Misho 11/09 AMPS-144 @+2-149 @+4-74 @+5-54

Hello Di,

How are things going with Misho? Are you doing OK?
 
Re: Misho 11/09 AMPS-144 @+2-149 @+4-74 @+5-54

My battery is low and I hope to be able to post this. Misho is fine no problem. I think BG started to rise we will see what the PMPS will be. Can't recharge here ...
 
Re: Misho 11/09 AMPS-144 @+2-149 @+4-74 @+5-54

Glad to hear you're both OK, Di.

I will keep an eye on this thread for when you post again once you get a chance to recharge the battery.

:YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Misho 11/09 AMPS-144 @+2-149 @+4-74 @+5-54

Back at home as I think Misho is in safe range and BG is definitely rising.
Here are our today's numbers

AMPS - 144 50grams of AM meal
+2 - 149 30 grams
+4 - 74 20 grams
+5 - 54 20 grams+honey+some dry food
+5.30 - 54 ca.20grams regular food
+6 - 59
+6.45 - 56
+7.30 - 77
+9 - 133

For the first time since Misho is diabetic we have such a nice cycle and I absolutely have no clue how it happened after yesterdays pre shot of 421. I don't know what will happen next and how high will the PMPS be but today is the best day Misho had since April . His PM shot is at 6:30 PM my local time, I think with most of you it will be around 10:30 a.m. excluding UK -I am 2 hours ahead. Actually I guess Misho's PS number will be above 180 and I won't have worries to shoot but I am afraid we might have the same situation as 1st and 2nd Nov :roll: We will see .now a short nap for Diana after this absolutely unexpected extra testing today.
 
Re: Misho 11/09 AMPS-144 @+2-149 @+4-74 @+5-54

Wow! Misho's hanging 10 with a textbook Lantus curve!

images




Great job steering his numbers today, Di. I'm very glad that you're going to get some sleep. All that nailbite_smile really takes it out of a person. ;-)

Step away from the tutu, Misho, and no digging up that lovely green lawn either! :-D
 
Re: Misho 11/09 AMPS-144 @+2-149 @+4-74 @+5-54 PMPS-416

Step away from the tutu, Misho, and no digging up that lovely green lawn either! :-D
Well... here we are with PMPS -416 yesterday's was 421 ...Shooting the usual 2u and no need of testing tonight I think ...
 
Re: Misho 11/09 AMPS-144 @+2-149 @+4-74 @+5-54 PMPS-416

Sometimes it's nice to see a slightly high number so you can get some rest. As long as Misho doesn't stay up there too long
 
Re: Misho 11/09 AMPS-144 @+2-149 @+4-74 @+5-54 PMPS-416

He's just bouncing off that pretty cycle yesterday, he'll more than likely be in high numbers for a couple of days but should at least get lower and lower as he clears that bounce. Bounces can take about 72 hours to clear.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 11/09 AMPS-144 @+2-149 @+4-74 @+5-54 PMPS-416

From this point of view, yes Sarah ;-) I was wondering if I can feed Misho only a very small meal now and come back later for the rest. His pre shot is very high and it might go even higher before the insulin kicks in. Any thoughts?
P.S Mel these pretty numbers were today it is 18:46p.m here :smile:
 
Re: Misho 11/10 AMPS-427 @+8 -72 PMPS- 259

Charlotte & Prop said:
Big bounce today, but really nice numbers all day :)

They were indeed and I hope to see them more often ;-)

MommaOfMuse said:
He's just bouncing off that pretty cycle yesterday, he'll more than likely be in high numbers for a couple of days but should at least get lower and lower as he clears that bounce. Bounces can take about 72 hours to clear.
Mel and The Fur Gang
It cleared quickly I think as today @+4 he was 342 and @+8 - 72 :shock: I was so much surprised to see it and I don't know if it is normal to drop like this. I have the feeling we are really getting lower and lower but I am afraid even to say it. The PM preshot was nice number but I don't know if he will bounce again because of this big drop today. We will see.
 
Re: Misho 11/11 AMPS-464

Good morning everyone! This morning again a very high pre-shot . Can you please take a look at Misho's ss and tell me why he bounces that high? We have seen numbers much lower than those of last two days and his pre shots were only pink and now he rises to levels we haven't had lately.

And my yesterday"s question - is this quick drop for only 4 hours normal ?
Di&Misho said:
It cleared quickly I think as today @+4 he was 342 and @+8 - 72
Thank you for your thoughts cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Misho 11/11 AMPS-464

Bounces are from rapid drops and/or drops to unfamiliar levels. Some cats are more easily triggered than others.
 
Re: Misho 11/11 AMPS-464

Hi Di
How are you and MIsho doing? I have been off the board for a few days . just trying to catch up on everyone
 
Re: Misho 11/115 AMPS-392

tibbs5 said:
Hi Di
How are you and MIsho doing? I have been off the board for a few days . just trying to catch up on everyone

We are fine Nadine ,thank you for asking :YMHUG: I myself can't post and read here regularly lately. But I need to hear some thoughts as I am not sure how to proceed with Misho. I will be grateful if any of you take a look at Misho's ss and tell me is it time to go up with at least f2U . Misho has been on 2U 10 days now and I am not sure the result is satisfactory. The thing is that I cannot test much after PM shot and I know it doesn't help to make a decision but it is not possible for me right now.
Thank you for your help. Have a nice weekend everyone.
 
Re: Misho 11/15 AMPS-392

He has gone pretty low on the 2 units.

I don't think I'd increase it, just wait out the bouncing and if possible, monitor for ketones.
 
Re: Misho 11/15 AMPS-392

hi Di
i was thinking the same thing. i myself would not increase because of all those low numbers. tibbs bounced for a long time and i wonder if Misho is also just bouncing as BJM said. i am not sure, but if he were mine, i would not increase. just my opinion but BJM is more experienced.
 
Re: Misho 11/15 AMPS-392

Di,

I agree with the other two ladies. I just posted this to someone over on the Lev ISG.

What I've experienced with my cats on Lev is when I get close to their ideal dose they get bouncy. But the more they clear the bounce and come back to green nadir the longer they stay down. Until the curve is very flat.

This is where all you can do is hold the dose and ride out the bounces.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 11/16 AMPS-472 last night dropped to 27

Thank you to all of you for your comments. Last night Misho dropped to 27 at +6 and then bounced pretty high. I have to say I panicked a lot this time and add more honey to his Animonda kibbles plus some Animonda wet . I don't know if his BG raised very quickly due to this or it was the Liver who did his job :roll:
As our reductions usually fail if he drops only once I shot 2U this morning and he dropped to 130 @+8 which is usually his nadir . In case Misho drops again below 50 tonight I will have to reduce the dose for his morning shot. And as we are quite ahead with time I ask my question now - can I reduce to f1.75 first instead of 1.75 ? Thank you in advance for your help
:thumbup :YMHUG:
 
Re: Misho 11/16 AMPS-472 last night dropped to 27

Yes you can reduce to a fat 1.75u if you want.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 11/20- PMPS 387- advice needed

Good evening everyone !
Mel, thank you for your comment and I am sorry I haven't answered but I am not online lately because of failing health . This is the reason why I cannot stay overnight with Misho regularly and monitor him. I am trying to do the best I can within the limit of my state of health .

We are still at 2U and there are some pretty nice blue and green numbers on his ss but what bothers me is that he bounces at his pre shots and this rise is usually within 3 hours only - from numbers below 100 to over 350 sometimes. I don't know if it is normal and I want to ask your advice, any thoughts are welcome !
Can you please take a look at our ss and tell me is there anything I can change or what we have as numbers is normal and with the time these high pre shots will drop slowly.
Thank you for your help :YMHUG:
 
Re: Misho 11/20- PMPS 387- advice needed

Sorry you aren't feeling well. {{{{{hugs}}}}}}

Yep his numbers look pretty normal and he is just a bouncy little boy right now. He does tend to use Levemir like most cats use Lantus in that he has a very early onset and a very early nadir. My Cassanova does the same thing, he uses Levemir like Lantus with an early onset and an early nadir.

The problem with bouncy kitties and when they are likely to stop bouncing is much like how do you tell the difference between an elephant charging for real or doing a mock charge to scare you..They stop when they stop. Some cats just are bouncy and their livers are slow learners. Other's get with the program fairly early and just waltz down nice and easy.

Misho is just one of those cats that is going to bounce until he stops, there isn't really anything we can do about it, since as far as I know, no one has ever figured out how to talk directly to a cat's liver and tell it not to panic. :lol:

Otherwise his numbers look great, and I wouldn't increase the dose anymore because his nadirs are right where they should be. It looks like this is a perfect dose for him, once his liver catches on and stops throwing him back up at the end of each cycle.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 11/20- PMPS 387- advice needed

((((Di))))
i'm so sorry you don't feel well. i hope you get better fast.
sending healing & hugs to you.
 
Re: Misho 11/22- AMPS- 418

tibbs5 said:
((((Di))))
i'm so sorry you don't feel well. i hope you get better fast.
sending healing & hugs to you.
Thank you Nadine, you are always very thoughtful :YMHUG:

Otherwise his numbers look great, and I wouldn't increase the dose anymore because his nadirs are right where they should be. It looks like this is a perfect dose for him, once his liver catches on and stops throwing him back up at the end of each cycle.

Mel and The Fur Gang

The problem is I don't really know what happens between shots as I can't monitor him closely enough lately. May be he drops pretty low and I cannot catch these numbers- this is my concern .The last days his pre shots went from pink to red :sad: I am worried but going to his place to test is really a pressure for me right now and I don't know what to do.
 
Re: Misho 11/22- AMPS- 418

Are there any upper level schools where there might be a student interested in veterinary science who would like to learn about feline diabetes? Maybe see about recruiting a volunteer?
 
Re: Misho 11/22- AMPS- 418

BJM said:
Are there any upper level schools where there might be a student interested in veterinary science who would like to learn about feline diabetes? Maybe see about recruiting a volunteer?

Absolutely impossible BJM :sad: My world differes quite a lot from yours. If I could find such person believe me I should have done it long time ago .Thank you for trying to help !
 
Re: Misho 11/22- AMPS- 418

I can get creative.

Are you a church person? Someone from church to help doing God's work?

Someone who works as a nurse or in human patient care.?
 
Re: Misho 11/22- AMPS- 418

What about friends or family, coworkers that are human diabetics?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Misho 11/23- AMPS- 392

Mel,BJM - I really appreciate your suggestions but none of this is possible . May be I was not enough precise telling you we live in different worlds , different Universes would be more correct. It is a long discussion and I am not sure you can understand me .
Misho is a rescued cat like those you have in USA but the mentality of people here in general doesn't allow them to see an inch before their noses. Not all diabetic humans receive the care they need not to speak of animals. You have no idea how many problems do the diabetic people have here, mainly financial and many of them don’t ever have the chance to receive a proper treatment or follow diet required ect. Anyway Misho has only me and as I rescue many animals and re home them abroad -Austria and Germany , my initial idea was to find him a forever home. Unfortunately to this very moment all my efforts to find such person failed. I will never ever send Misho to someone who is not familiar to the ideas of Tight Regulation Protocol or who doesn't follow any of its varieties. In other words someone that has already taken care of diabetic cat or does at the moment is the person I would trust. My friends in Austria contacted a very experienced vet in Germany who follows this protocol but has already adopted 5 diabetic cats and cannot be helpful.
I wish I could take him home but it is not possible too . I live in small apartment with 2 dogs and 3 cats and I have no spare room for Misho to feel safe and not be stressed by my pets as one of my cats is quite jealous and most likely will have issues with him.
All of this I wrote you to give you a clear idea that I have no option and this worries me very much. The premise where he lives is quite big, no electricity ,no heating and is not close to the place where I live. Testing Misho and feeding him means visiting him at 6:30 a.m. 10:30a.m. 2:30 pm 6:30 p.m. 10:30 p.m. 2:30 a.m . I am trying to visit him regularly though it is quite tough schedule for me lately but almost impossible to go at 2:30 a.m. which is his +8 it is really not possible for me. I won’t give up of course ,trying to find solution of the situation and I do believe we will make it.
But I have one good news that makes my heart sing. My Tara 6 months old now whom I rescued when she was a tiny pup of about 40 days flew to her forever home in Vienna and my darling now has her own doggy bed. I miss her lots but I am happy for her .Will just share one picture of my naughty girl who finally found a place to call home of her own :thumbup
Sorry for being quite wordy this morning :oops:
 

Attachments

  • 10403473_10204589653255508_4276082601705969188_n.jpg
    10403473_10204589653255508_4276082601705969188_n.jpg
    20.8 KB · Views: 406
Re: Misho 11/23- AMPS- 392

Di
that's fantastic. She looks so happy there . wonderful news. I'm so sorry that it is so hard where you live. Misho is really lucky to have you to look after him. I will keep praying that you find him a forever home. How are you feeling Di? are you getting any better?
 
Re: Misho 11/23- AMPS- 392

Wow. You are extremely committed to do all that.

And you write very well. If there were a local newspaper that would accept articles, you could write short ones educating them about human diabetes facts, and occasional notes about feline diabetes. Sometimes, the first step in community change is education, just getting the information out there.

Would you feel OK adding your city to your info in Control Panel?
 
Nadine and BJM- I could talk a lot about the situation in my country and our mentality but I am afraid it will be quite boring for most of the members besides people post here to get help for their cats and not read educational notes about life in Bulgaria :smile: BJM just in one sentence - people are aware but don't care, stray animals are burden the society don't give a sh...about them ,sorry for my French :oops: and I have become a laughing stock for what I do, because being devoted to this cause in my country is considered as pure madness.
Anyway, thank you , I do appreciate your concern and I am happy to communicate with people who understand how important it is to have a heart beating at its right place.
Misho had green numbers last night and when I saw the blue one at +4 I knew I have to come back. He didn't drop dangerously but bounced this morning again. What is most important now to find a solution soon as it is getting colder every day and I am afraid Misho will have problems with the low teperatures, not to speak for me they are absolutely counter-indicative .
Nadine , I will be fine, don’t worry about me. It is a chronic health problem so it needs proper treatment and good care. I hope everything gonna be alright real soon . Thank you for asking :YMHUG:
 
hi Di
i found these mats for the outdoor feral cats that i take care of that could be good for Misho. they have a special material inside that reflects the cat's body heat back to them. i have a lot of them. if you want i could send you one to try for Misho. just let me know & i will mail it to you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top